Tribal Instinct – The Tribal Trend in regional Victoria

I rather like the current Tribal/Global Traveller Trend.

Not sure if it’s my current addiction to orange, that seems so predominate in the look, or that as a young”ish” girl growing up in North America I loved all things Native American. Whatever the cause, I knew I had to somehow embrace the look.

Tribal Trend / Global Traveller After all, look at how gorgeous this dress is!

    The real question, “How do I incorporate this ‘worldly and somewhat wild’ look into my life in regional Australia? And as amazing as the current Burberry Prorsum looks are, how to try to get a bit of the look on a regular girls’ budget? Global Traveller - Burberry Prorsum

My excuse came in the form of tickets to the 14 March 7:00 pm runway show at L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival. Not just any tickets mind you but second row! As thrilled as I was at having the tickets, my anxiety level shot straight through the roof! “What will I wear?”, was keeping me up at night!

Finally, I spotted a “Torn” by Ronny Kobo dress on Shopbop.com that gave me the perfect excuse to spend a couple of hundred dollars on a dress I would never have otherwise had the occaision to buy!

But then…

…I worried about would it even be too try hard for LMFF. I soooo did not want to be that girl/woman!

And, as I second guessed what I would wear to the runway shows, I decided, “what the heck”, I’d wear the dress to the International Women’s Day Luncheon. After all, I’m an international woman, and the dress was certainly well into the “global traveller trend”.

I opted to tone the look down a little…we are in regional (read conservative) Victoria and it is a luncheon not LMFF. So I ditched the insanely high black leather heels, and black leather jacket, as well as the gold hand pounded neck-cuff, for something a wee bit more “lady who lunches”.

* Please forgive the somewhat terrified look on my face. I hate having photos taken at the best of times and taking it myself, knowing it would be on the internet for the world to see didn’t help the nerves!*

As you can see, I toned it all down with the black shrug rather than the black leather bomber jacket, and changed from the super high black heels to the not-so-high orange ones!

My recommendation – give the Global Traveller Trend a try…show your Tribal side!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Tribal Instinct – The Tribal Trend in regional Victoria

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

