Rock Chic – She Will Rock You

Rock chic, not to be confused with Rock Chick…

…trust me, two totally different looks!

Rock Chic is a little bit rock’n’roll and has a whole lot of fierce going on! One way to pull this look off is by mixing tough leather with not so sweet lace, another huge trend this season. A blending of both these trends will put a new twist on these two classics.

I’m not really a leather or a lace girl and if you don’t count leather accessories or lacey under-garments, I wouldn’t have had anything to say about this trend until this last 12 months. Because, these times they are a changing and apparently so am I, my current wardrobe, though expanding,  is pretty lean on both. However by working them together I can certainly pull the look off in a pinch. Which I did for the Lenny Kravitz concert this past weekend. For my look, I kept it simple with black and white adding the leather bomber jacket, purchased from Shopbop.com, and the patent Prada loafers. I knew we would be walking a fair distance to the concert venue and even though I have a F-I-E-R-C-E pair of black leather heels I needed something I could not only walk in but be prepared to stand for a couple of hours in.

I totally love this Rock Chic look taken of another Lenny fan because of the play on lace in the stockings and the fur vest. She looked way more “Rock-n-Roll” than I did…but then I’m probably twice her age!

It’s official: Leather isn’t just for jackets, bags, and boots anymore. Welcome to the season of the leather dress, all part of leather’s more feminine makeover. From motorcycle looks to sexier vamp styles, skins are all the rage this season when it is perfect for our upcoming grey months, not only is it stylish and luxurious, but it’s practical for keeping you warm and dry!

Thanks to the beautiful patchwork leather dress shown by Flannel at LMFF this month, I am desperately wanting to expand my options in this trend!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

4 responses to “Rock Chic – She Will Rock You

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

