More Kate Moss – Less Stevie Nicks

My 20 year old - back in style - black suede dress

Just because I am a “woman of a certain age” does NOT mean I go all Stevie Nicks when I go with the Rock Chic, leather and lace trend. Although I have been called something very similar to “witch”, I do my best to actually avoid looking like one!!

Over the past 6 months I have added a few options to both the leather and lace side of this look. However, I bought the black suede dress 20 years ago to wear to my 10 year high school reunion! I remember finding it at the basement of Macy’s in San Francisco, it was marked down from $250 USD to $25! And there was another woman who wanted the size I had – but I remember there was NO WAY she was going to fit it and for the price that dress was mine! So here we are 20 years later, the style has come back and I’ll be able to get a second wear out of that bargain buy.

 After all, Kate Moss has been working the Rock chic look for 20 years so why can’t I??

Work look – This look is one I love for its simplicity. The black and white, high-waisted, vintage skirt was purchased for $5! And it came with the purple suede belt! I’ve matched it with a simple, inexpensive t-shirt, my favourite cowboy boots (from Sheplers.com), the BB Dakota, black leather bomber/varsity jacket purchased from Shopbop.com and simple accessories (2 purple jade bangles, a white watch and a black necklace given to me by a friend about 5 years ago).

Rest and Relax – Both these looks were worked from my first ever leather pants. Given to me 2 months ago by a cousin who said the price was too good to pass up! Look one has little mustard coloured lace shirt from Glassons, orange watch, cuff and clutch with black leather heels that are the tallest pair of shoes I have ever owned!

The second of the two plays off the leather pants with the addition of a charcoal gray Old Navy tank under a chunky style lace tank-top with fringe. I have used my well-loved Mulberry bag and added a splash of colour with the red, suede, cut-out ankle boots.

At Play – the final look is all about being a little fun and playful with the leather and lace combo. I have worked off one of my usual go-to styles (leggings and a short dress). Black textured leggings are under a chunky, kind of 60s looking, white lace dress from Glassons. Over top is the beloved leather jacket. The shoes are a little pair of ballet flats I picked up on sale, in Sydney, a couple of years ago.

So if an old chook like me can pull together this look, I’m thinking the rest of you should have no trouble with it!

On those days when you are tired of being sweet and nice…bring out a little edge and go Rock chic.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

8 responses to “More Kate Moss – Less Stevie Nicks

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

