Free-Spirited – Gypsy Look

Seems like I am always confessing something here.

I have to admit, I’m completely surprised! I honestly thought this trend would be the early undoing of me. I’m really not much of a free-spirited gypsy type dresser, so pulling together outfits from what is already in my wardrobe was going to be a huge challenge…or so I thought!

Luckily, I have been into the retro 70s maxi skirt thing for about a year now and have managed to collect a few pieces that with a little help from their friends have come up looking a bit Gypsy.

Gypsy – The Free life – This look started with an old cotton maxi skirt with a ruffle at the bottom. I haven’t worn it in a while because it always felt a little like “Little House on the prairie”. My feelings on that have now changed! I added to it a watermelon coloured lace blouse from Glassons, my trusty faux fur vest, some bangles and the first handbag I ever purchased that cost over $200 – but that was 12 years ago now! You can’t see it in this picture but there is a purple leather braided belt. This is Australia so everyone owns at least one wide-brimmed hat of some description and to top it all off…or actually finish it off…my well-loved red cowboy boots from Sheplers.com. I really like this look but as it is cooling off here (we’re heading into winter), I’m going to have to try to find a long-sleeved alternative if I want to wear it anytime soon.

Casual Gypsy – This look is a bit of a stretch to be called Gypsy but I’m taking what I can get with this trend! The maxi dress has a floral print and was purchased from my trusted friends at Glassons at the start of spring (that’s the Southern Hemisphere spring, 6 months ago). On top is a crocheted cardigan, which looks pretty nanna but is sooooo comfortable and versatile. Finished the whole thing off with chunky jewelry, a skinny braided leather belt, mustard coloured cork wedges and a great leather slouch bag purchased at Salamanca Market in Hobart about 5 years ago.

Can you tell my fortune with this look? – I think this Gypsy inspired look could work for a number of occasions, work, weekend, lunch in the city. I have used my linen Ralph Lauren shorts and topped them off with a flowing mustard coloured, flowered print shirt that has a little tie detail at the front. The leather braided belt, felt hat and leather bag from previous looks and then added in a pair of long polka-dotted socks with a pair of fiercely heeled hiking boots! It’s another surprise from the wardrobe and one that I would wear again…and again…and again…

A Gypsies Work is Never Done – This last look is probably my favourite and in fact, I expect I’ll be wearing it to work in the very near future. Oh so my crystal ball has told me! The look started with a skirt I purchased from the US on my last trip while shopping in a discount outlet. It cost less than $20 but what I liked about it was that the pattern in the print reminded me of Missoni patterns. I matched the Missoni wannabe skirt with a ruffled front, white Ralph Lauren cotton shirt. Over that is layered a charcoal grey plaid (very fine), button-up vest, plus several beaded necklaces, long dangly earrings and big cuff bracelet. Finishing touches came with the silver leather bag on a chain the black cowboy boots, also from Sheplers.com, and a chiffon black scarf with a bit of bling along the edges. After all, this is the gypsy look so it needed a scarf! With all the bling of this look it could be worn out to dinner if you pumped up the jewels and added a great pair of heels.

Gypsy Graveyard?? – And just for fun – I have pulled together this look to wear out to lunch with a friend…

Yes, that is a graveyard behind me! It’s just across the street from this cute little restaurant where I met a friend for lunch. It is kind of appropriate for the look as the skirt is a piece I found at a vintage shop about 6 months ago. I instantly fell in love with the length and the colours were so current! Plus the fun kind of retro vibe made me think of Italian brand Marni, so when the price was $35, it became mine. I actually wear it all the time but to give it a gypsy spin, I have added the red boots and an old Guess handbag. And even though you can’t really see them in the photo, I have on the biggest pair of gold earrings! It’s not full on Gypsy but for those who just want to dabble in the look it’s a good dash of free-spirit.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

11 responses to “Free-Spirited – Gypsy Look

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

