Tangerine Tango or Orange Amped Up?!

A few weeks ago, while talking about the Tribal Trend, I confessed my love of orange. Although I tried to ignore it for years, over the past 12 months I have let loose and learned to once again do the Tangerine Tango.

I think the love affair began in 7th grade. I had a pair of burnt orange, brushed denim pants that I loved with all my heart. And with those pants, I insisted on wearing a deep, rich purple ribbed top that had a zipper on the front with a huge O-ring dangling from the zip. For the record, my next favourite colour is purple, but we will save that for another day!

Anyhow, we are many, many years down the track, I still love orange Tangerine Tango and now it is the colour of the year for 2012, according to the Pantone Color Institute. Guess I was about 35 years ahead of the times! Everywhere you look right now there are splashes of orange, mango, tangerine. It’s like being in a fanta flavoured dream, where you are dancing your way to heaven if you are a fan. Over the past couple of years, orange, has grown in popularity and acceptance with both consumers and designers. It’s a bit exotic and yet a bit friendly in a non-threatening way.

If you aren’t the massive fan that I am, you can start small with this sunset imbued colour, by adding in a handbag, shoes, or nail polish into your wardrobe. I simply adore this Mulberry handbag. Or you can be big, brave and bold – dive right in and make sure your last tango isn’t Tangerine free.

The last pic will hpefully provide you with some inspiration on how you can add Tangerine Tango to wardrobe without worrying if you are looking too halloween. And if you are like me and can’t get enough of this juicy colour, there will be plenty more options over the next few posts.

Perhaps it’s a midlife crisis colour. Or I am slipping into dementia and going back to the 70s when I had that mad-love for those orange jeans. Whatever it is, I don’t really want to think too hard about it, I just want to revel in the complete joy I get from wearing this intense, bright, and warming colour. Thank you Pantone Color Institute for selecting Tangerine Tango as THE colour for 2012. I plan to make up for the last 35 years of secret love by finding every opportunity to wear this colour for the next 35 years!

P.S. The orange shoes in this photo are very similar to the pair I lusted after and bought from ShoeTread.com.au. They have a great selection of shoes at a very reasonable price.

 

Related Articles:

2012 Pantone Color of the Year

Pinterest – Tangerine Tango Inspiration

Sephora’s New Tangerine Tango Collection, by BellaSugar

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “Tangerine Tango or Orange Amped Up?!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

