Where is This Going?

We are about 30 days into this relationship and I’ve started to wonder…”where is this relationship going?”

I know I am an old, mature-aged chook (that is “old bird” for you in the British Isles and just “old girl” for you in North America), and I know I LOVE fashion. But is that all I am to you? I would hope it’s not. So I am going to go out on a limb with this post and share a little bit about me that has nothing to do with fashion, but still has everything to do with style. Or at least my style.

On our last trip to Hong Kong, the Fashion Mister and I had a number of missions. The one I want to tell you about is our anniversary present to each other. You see, as a challenge we like to give each other anniversary presents based around the year of our anniversary. Last year was leather…we won’t go into that one! Anyway, the traditional gift for the fourth wedding anniversary is silk, fruits and flowers. It turned out to not be as tough as we thought it would be.

Lee-Anne, also know as my “fashion sister from another mother”, who you met in my post about L’ Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival, makes quilts. I know, you’re thinking “she really has gone Nanna here if she is going to talk about quilts”, but stick with me cause it does get better! So, Lee-Anne inspired me to collect fabric from our trip to Hong Kong that she would then make into a quilt that would be our anniversary present to each other. Of course we were in Hong Kong so finding silk wasn’t going to be a problem!

Narrowing it down to one fabric/colour scheme that I could actually live with on a daily basis was going to be the tough bit. Plus, let’s face it, it needed to be something the Fashion Mister could live with too. Even though he isn’t as fussed as I am, it couldn’t be too girlie. I knew I wanted the fabric to be clearly oriental in their overall look but not so over the top that the whole bedroom would look like a theme park. And just to make it tricky, I had already painted the feature wall a very pale orange suede!

This piece of silk, with its white background and browns, golds and burnt orange floral print kick started the whole thing. I fell in love with it instantly because I truly was drawn to the colour scheme. The trouble was this fabric could have been purchased anywhere. I mean there was no trigger that this was inspired by our love of Hong Kong. So I didn’t buy any. Instead, I went on to purchase a lot of other prints throughout the week that fell into the colour scheme of that print.

However, I couldn’t get that beautiful piece of silk out of my mind.

So on our last night in Hong Kong, we found our way back to the little fabric shop packed into the tiniest of spaces between a street food vendor and shop that offered reflexology massages, and bought half a metre. It cost nearly double per metre what any of the other fabrics cost…a whopping $180 HK (about $13 or $6.50 for my half metre).

On the right you can see the finished quilt. It has the silk and flowers required to make it qualify as appropriate for the anniversary challenge with the Fashion Mister. Even though it is covered in flowers, the colours actually keep it from being too feminine for the Fashion Mister.

I used some of the scrap pieces of fabric to fill these frames. I liked how they kind of played off the quilt by having the mat border break them up. There are three of them that will hang above the padded headboard. Once I make the padded headboard that is!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

20 responses to “Where is This Going?

  • ivorywrieger

    Lovely! That must feel so good on your skin too, I have a big thing for silk. And I’m so envious, you are clearly a regular in Hong Kong? Have you been to Shanghai also? I really want to go and walk the streets of the Bund.
    Cheers!
    Ivory

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Ivory!
      We do get to Hong Kong fairly regularly. The Fashion Mister and I love it.
      Planning to go with a group of friends for the big Five-Oh next year!
      We haven’t actually been to Shanghai…The Fashion Mister has a cousin who owns a very well known eaterie “M on the Bund”. We always say we will get there but head to HK instead!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    What a magical, brilliant story! And what a beautiful quilt!

    My husband and I like to do the “anniversary year” gift thing too.

    Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks for your comment!
      I am so in love with the quilt. It’s probably one of the best gifts we have given each other.
      It has the added benefit that when we are old and gray we will have it to remember our trips to HK.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Ready Set Dresss!

    That quilt is absolutely beautiful! The framed scraps are the showstoppers!
    Congratulations to you and the fashion mister on your anniversary!

  • astimegoesbuy

    Lee-Anne did such a fantastic job on the quilt!
    Originally I was looking for three square frames that had large mats and was just going to showcase three pieces of fabric. But I had trouble finding frames I liked at a price that was right so thought the multi pic frames would be a good option. AND they were like $10 each! They turned out lovely, so I’m glad that is what the style fates dealt me! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

  • Jess

    The quilt is beautiful, thanks for sharing!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Jess!
      I am hoping that Lee-Anne (the maker of the quilt) is following all the great feedback.
      I’ll have to be sure she knows how many people have loved it.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Pierotucci

    Love the frame idea. You have choosen something very distinctive from that country that has a lot of emotion for you, I like the concept and the way it looks.

  • astimegoesbuy

    Thanks!
    We are pretty pleased with it too!
    Although I picked the fabrics, my friend Lee-Anne did all the hard work of sewing.
    So there is a little extra love in it from a very good friend having made it for us. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

  • Lee-Anne Sargeant

    MY first foray into replying to my sister’s blog. – I too feel sunny and smart when I wear an orange piece!!!
    One of the first links that drew Laura and I together! I loved the vintage tangerine entry Laura,

    Imagine including the silk anniversary quilt on your blog – I am very touched.
    time to get proud that together we create great original ways to celebrate your anniversary, your travels, your style and our friendship!!!!!

    Lookimg forward to more ……

  • gracefully50

    Wow! It’s gorgeous! I also love the framed fabric…what a great idea!!
    Happy and blessed weekend to you!!

  • Born To Organize

    I love the idea of a quilt from your travels. It’s beautiful. Great idea using scraps in a frame as well.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      The quilt is lovely. My Fashion Sister from Another Mother (dear friend) did an amazing job on it.
      And it triggered off the whole inspiration for redecorating the bedroom, which was great fun!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Vanity – Is It Dirty? « astimegoesbuy

    […] most of you know, I have redecorated (nearly finished) the master bedroom recently and it all was inspired by the beautiful quilt made by a dear friend. The whole process […]

  • Things I’m Loving – Our New Headboard | As Time Goes...Buy

    […] you have been following for a long time now, you will recall that last year I redecorated the master bedroom. Everything had been completed fairly quickly except the headboard, which I intended to make. It […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

