Working 9 to 5: What a Way to Make a Living!

I get that not all work environments are the same. And I really get that not all work hours are 9 to 5. What I don’t get is why it can be so hard for some people to lighten up and enjoy a bit of fashion when they are at work.

Are you afraid you won’t be taken seriously if you wear that floral print dress? Or is everyone going to snicker behind your back if you have on a pair of leopard print shoes? Will the world stop spinning if you sink your teeth into the clashing prints trend? Will your colleagues think you got dressed in the dark if you colour block neon?

Honestly, who cares?! And if they do, does it really matter as long as you are enjoying the work you are doing and loving the clothing you are doing it in! Of course keeping all the important bits covered is a given. Finding joy in what you are wearing does not mean it is okay to “share the love” with the general populace or unsuspecting colleagues!

Okay, that all sounds very brave on my part. The least I can do to help you on this journey to unbutton the button-down is find you some great inspiration.

Let’s start with that floral print dress – I happen to love this dress and can see no reason why this couldn’t be worn to work. The length is perfect for the office, there is NO cleavage showing and with the addition of the tights and boots it’s a great option for those cooler days. One other nice thing about this look…if you don’t have time to change clothes before going out to dinner, all you need to do is take off the tights, change to a nice pair of heels and add a bit of bling and you are good to go!

The Summer Suit – This is a great suit”ish” option for the summer. It’s a little casual but still sharp enough to wear to work. Clashing prints – mixing the stripes in the vest, the floral of the shirt and the plaid of the pants works because everything is in the same tone. Soft neutrals keep this looking polished and sophisticated. Here are three pieces that are really suited for each other! (Sorry, couldn’t pass that one up!)

The Almost a Suit – While we are looking at three pieces that are suited…I adore this look with the plaid pants, bow silk top and the burnt orange cardigan! This outfit is screaming out my name and is the type of look that I completely gravitate to for work. Gorgeous tailored trousers, a lovely feminine top (the juxtaposition of masculine and feminine is divine), topped off by the cardigan. The simple cardigan has become one of my top 5 must have items for office attire. Not only does it help pull together an outfit but it can finish it off in a professional manner and keep you warm when you spend most of the day in an air-conditioned office building. Of course the big bag is a must for any working woman. It carries important papers you were working on at home, lunch and an umbrella should the weather let loose.

Another of my top 5 must haves – The DVF Wrap Dress – seriously, is there a woman this dress type doesn’t look good on? And we all know that Diane Von Furstenberg makes the best of its type. Simple, classic and elegant, yet a perfect way to add a bit of colour or a fantastic print. My recommendation – keep the shoes simple and neutral, jewelry classic (watch, fine gold bangle, simple earrings). Again this is a look that can make a quick change for having drinks with friends after work. All you need to do is amp up the jewelry, more bangles, statement necklace and change the neutral heels for something higher and bolder.

Neons and Brights that work hard – These two are definitely vibrant, youthful and so appropriate for work! Again keep accessories and jewelry simple and neutral, allows the statement colours to grab your attention without overpowering the room.

And about those leopard print shoes – I don’t think my colleagues were snickering behind my back. In fact whenever I wear these little lovelies to work I get tons of compliments!

You can see from my outfit that I have embraced colour (wearing the tangerine tango dress), pulled the look together with a cardigan (a dark brown with orange flecks that is worn because it can get pretty cool in the hospital), kept my jewelry simple (orange wrap watch, my favourite purple jade bangle, black pearl earrings), went neutral with the handbag (again a favourite), finished off with the leopard print Diana Ferrari kitten heels (appropriate for being on your feet all day).

I’d love to know what you all think about these looks and if they are appropriate for work. I like having the chance to express my individuality at work via my wardrobe. Hopefully, within the constraints of good taste and professionalism! Naturally!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Working 9 to 5: What a Way to Make a Living!

  • ethelthedean

    I am actually in love with that first dress.

    I totally agree with everything that you write about here. Having fun with your dress makes work so much more enjoyable! I really like to mix it up between feminine and masculine aesthetics. Should I ever win the lottery the first thing I would do is purchase a perfectly fitting three piece suit (and that first dress!)

    • astimegoesbuy

      You are right, that dress is TOO cute!
      I like the girlieness of it as well as the kind of vintage feel.
      If you worked in an office where you were expected to wear a jacket you could pair either a green or blue blazer with it and still have fun.
      You could always think about having a suit made for you, then you get the perfect fit. Or find one you like that isn’t too expensive and have a seamstress make the adjustments that will give it an amazing fit.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Miles

    I’m lucky the industry I work in practically begs for me to be fashion forward…still, my “position” and the work I do sometimes clashes with what people “think” someone like me would wear. Anyway, one day I thought I’d push the envelope a little further and wore a shorts suit to work – it took people by surprise to say the least 🙂

    I thought the “shock factor” was worth it though that I had to have another suit altered to make into shorts as well.

    http://shoppinginmyowncloset.com/2011/11/25/the-long-and-short-of-it-day-117/

    • astimegoesbuy

      Miles,
      I love your style and attitude.
      You’re such an inspiration!!
      Love the look you provided the link to! You have fantastic legs…I think I hate you!
      I have worn a short suit to work once, (longer length than yours, my legs are not even close to that gorg)…I think it was too much for my colleagues, but I loved it.
      Now I save it for when I work the weekends. 😉
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Miles

        LOL! 😀

        … I’ll probably be wearing my other shorts suit soon. It’s summer already here and what better way to welcome it than a shorts white suit!

        Don’t you have a pic of it when you wore yours? That would make for a nice post!

      • astimegoesbuy

        Ohhhh! A white short suit! So loving it…thinking Bianca Jagger in her white suit but as shorts.
        I’m sure you can pull that vibe off!

        Here is a link to the post with the shorts I wore to work but I’m not actually wearing the look at the time.
        https://astimegoesbuy.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/go-nude-all-over/

        I’m thinking I’ll give something similar another go but with tights…and maybe boots just to really stir things up!

        I definitely want pics of the white short suit…please!

        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Miles

        Oh will definitely be taking pics of that outfit 🙂

        And shorts, with tights, and boots. I say… Go For It!

      • astimegoesbuy

        I’ll be sure to get a pic of the shorts, tights and boots.
        As proof! 😀

      • Miles

        I’m sure you’ll rock the outfit… and your colleagues’ world, literally lol! It’s good for them anyway so that fine 🙂

  • Paula Parisotto

    Two words……..Amen Sister!

  • Kenia

    That DVF wrap dress is gorg!

  • chiclycute

    All the pics you have posted are very work appropriate. I have to constantly battle myself every morning in figuring out what will be over the top to wear to work and my goal with my new blog is to kind of incorporate those ideas for myself and others 🙂 I am also insanely in love with the Plaid pant outfit might have to find something that looks like it somewhere 🙂

    http://www.chiclycute.com

    • astimegoesbuy

      I usually plan out what I am wearing the night before.
      Then I have time in the morning to make whatever adjustments need to happen to make sure I am work appropriate!
      For amazing plaid pants I would recommend Ralph Lauren…if you wait and shop the Outlet you can sometimes get them extremely discounted!

      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Dienna

    “What I don’t get is why it can be so hard for some people to lighten up and enjoy a bit of fashion when they are at work.”

    YES! I hear that.

    When I started a new job a few months ago, during my first few days there I dressed conservatively, because I didn’t have an idea of what the office environment was like. When I got used to there, I started dressing the way I felt more comfortable with. I love color, shapes, and patterns. Kimonos, Indian tunics, flare pants, etc. are my thing. I also love asymmetric looks. I know I stick out like a sore thumb there, but no one has told me my outfits aren’t for the office or has told me to go home and change for dressing inappropriately, so it’s all good!

    And I love your shoes! Can’t see why you can’t wear them to the office.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Hi Dienna,
      It’s always a good idea to start a little on the conservative side when you go into a new job.
      But it is possible to be concervative and still have a bit of life in the outfit.
      You know, the standard black suit. I don’t mind a black suit but Ilike to pair it with great shirt or some really bright heels!
      Just to give it a little pop.

      Some shoes I can’t wear to the office because I spend a good 8 hours on my feet running around the hospital and as I don’t take the elevator (as a commitment to the one small thing I can do to save the environment at work…plus get some exercise), my feet would be killing me if I wore those shoes!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Cheeers,
      Laura

  • ooobop!

    HI Laura. Thank you for stopping by to comment on my blog… and for leading me to yours! I’m all up for a pair of controversial shoes. I can put up with wearing something quite boring but I feel totally underdressed if I’m not wearing good footwear! It goes without saying that I absolutely love your shoes!!!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks for the compliment!
      I’ve got a shoe thing…and bad. The Fashion Mister is always commenting on being married to a millipied!
      If I weren’t on a shopping break I would have added a few pair to the collection by now. Totally lusting after the Louis Vuitton metal toe shoes out now. Even actually went into the shop just to drool on the case.
      Maybe I’ll be able to find them marked down somewhere once the 90 days in the wilderness have ended!
      Thanks for stopping by…you are tempting me to take up sewing.
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

