Forever in Blue Jeans…or red, or pink…or…

I am guilty, I own a fair few pair of jeans.

There are my favourites, a pair of J Brand, high-waisted, bell legged that feel like heaven every time I put them on. The first pair of skinny jeans I bought about a year ago, red! I searched everywhere for them. I could find deep red but I wanted fire-engine. Now they are bog standard and everywhere. I even have a pair that I bought as my way of trying to work the sweet girlie colours into my wardrobe that just aren’t doing it for me. I’m thinking I’ll try transforming this pair…but that will be another post. Then there are the black ones, white, burnt orange (still obsessed and had to have them because they remind me of that other pair I have told you about), and a pair of dark denim skinny.

Yeap, think that about covers it!

The J Brand bell-bottoms are my all time favourite. The last time I felt this good in a pair of jeans it was the 80s and I had a pair of Jordache jeans that I wore until they literally fell apart. I ordered the J Brands from Shopbob.com. I had seen them on any number of celebs in countless fashion magazines and it was love at first sight. I’m telling you, when I put these jeans on for the first time I was sure they had been made with magic threads! I felt taller, skinny and just plain cool! If I could have these jeans in every colour, I would stop wearing all others.

A high-waisted jean is great for those of us who, 1) have a high waist naturally and 2) who are old enough to realise that hip-huggers or low-rise jeans should just be called muffin top jeans. And really, no one needs to see that!

My only fashion regret in my current position of employment is that I can’t wear jeans to work. At least not the standard blue kind. Which means not my favs. However, I do push the no jeans thing. For years when the dress code called for black pants, I wore black jeans. I got called on it once but was more than happy to show them that in the dress code it mearly stated black pants and what I was wearing was both black and pants! Now that my role in the hospital is slightly different, I get away with wearing jeans by wearing coloured skinny jeans, often with a cardigan or jacket to make it more acceptable to those further up the chain of command.

Occaisionally, when I’m really pushing the boundries, I wear a denim shirt! But I’m really not that brave, because I match it up with far more classic items. Kind of like hiding veggies from the kids by mixing it in with other things.

Well, time to go pull a few things out of the wardrobe and see what I can put together. There will be plenty of options…think we might do one set of standard denim and one set coloured. What do you think? Does that work for you?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Forever in Blue Jeans…or red, or pink…or…

  • lovefashionandpugs

    I love skinny jeans, especially black ones, so slimming! I cannot do high-waisted for some reason they are so unflattering on me. Still looking for a good pair of bell bottoms 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      I was sure that when bell bottoms went out last time, there was no way I was ever going to wear them again. But of course, here I am wearing them and wanting more!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • incidentallearner

    great post! Thanks for liking a recentl post of mine. Best to you and yours!

  • turningheadsaustralia

    hey, thank you for following back 🙂 also, what part of oz do you come from?

    • astimegoesbuy

      No worries!
      The Aussies got to stick together!
      I’m actually in Ballarat – very near Melbourne.
      Which is of course, one of the greatest cities in the world AND
      the fashion capitol of OZ! 😉 Just maybe not as flashy as BrisVegas!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Kimbercrafts

    I am loving the colored denim trend. I wear my colored jeans (black or red) far more than my regular blue jeans. I too have a “no jeans at work” policy, but I wear my black skinny jeans at least once a week!

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL! That is part of what I love about the cloured denim trend!
      Soooo easy to get away with wearing them at work.
      I did try wearing them into the members area of a very big sports club but they weren’t impressed.
      As I was already inside when they realised, I didn’t get kicked out but they suggested I not wear them next time.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • jensine

    oh how good is this … don’t really like jeans as never find any that fit well … tooo much belly, to high waist and don’t like the feeling on my skin. BUT love them on others

    • astimegoesbuy

      How funny, as in intersting – not laughable, you are the second person I have had say they just can’t do jeans in the last two days. I couldn’t imagine life without them. But then the beauty is that we are all different and I don’t have to get in a knock down with you at the shops when jeans are on sale. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, love your blog!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Jamie Brazil

    I’m all for the classic dark wash and for some reason I don’t stray from that — I really need to take more chances with denim.

  • MJ, Nonstepmom

    This makes a good point – instead of looking at it as just another pair of “jeans” focus on the difference in cuts and colors ( like my favorite white jeans)

    • astimegoesbuy

      MJ,
      These days there are so many options with jeans and they aren’t all blue!
      I love white jeans but after gaining a couple of kilos, they aren’t my favourite…plus after the tie-dye fun, those are my favourites!
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

