Jeany in a Bottle

So here’s the deal…

I bought a pair of turquoise colored skinny jeans. Because I loved the colour and thought it could be my concession to all the pastels going on right now. My colouring doesn’t really allow for pastels so thought the jeans would be okay as my bum is pretty far away from my face…and getting further away each year!

Trouble is, I don’t really have anything the right colour to go with them and I just can’t come at putting something that bright on my big bum! Now I’m in a pickle, I have these jeans in the wardrobe, that I’m not likely to wear but I can’t just give them to the Salvos because in my heart I’m not ready to part with them, because they remain unworn.

The Turquoise Jeans - Before

Along comes my 90 days in the wilderness challenge and as I can’t buy anything but still want to find a way to wear some kind of pastel, I need to get creative. You know, I really would like a pair of flowered skinny jeans, or maybe some kind of printed pair…but I couldn’t find any before I started the challenge and as I am only 1/3 of the way into it, and still avoiding all “cool” shopping experiences, I haven’t been looking to see what is available.

*Light Bulb goes on over head*

But wait! Maybe I can be creative and “make it work”, thank you Tim Gunn for being so inspirational!

I haven’t done this in a couple of decades, but what about tie-dye?! I’ve seen them in a few photos and on a few of the online shopping sites that I frequented before the challenge began (honestly, I still frequent them I just don’t purchase in the middle of the night like I used to!). Perhaps I could give it a go. What’s the worst thing that could happen? I still don’t like the pants enough to wear them? I think I’ll risk it.

What will I need…

  • Heavy duty rubber bands
  • Bleach – enough to cover the jeans
  • a bucket – or a dedicated sink to let them soak
  • time and patience (the most difficult item to acquire)

I have begun by bunching up small sections and wrapping it with a rubber band. Continuing this process over and over.

Eventually, you will end up with a big wad of fabric wrapped in rubber bands. I looked to see if there were any spots that looked to have too much open space and added more rubber bands as needed.

The bundle was now ready to go into the bleach. I poured two bottles of bleach in the bucket to make sure that the pants would be completely covered once they were pushed down inside.

I had estimated the time in the bleach to be about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I had expected that the areas exposed to the bleach would be the areas that turned white and as they would be easy to see changing, I would easily see when the pants were ready…

…but I was wrong. I let the pants soak for two hours and didn’t see any change at all. So I let them sit for another two hours and still nothing. I was a little disheartened and it was getting dark. So I let the failed experiment sit outside all night, hoping for a morning miracle.

And still I was disappointed. I thought the colour of the bleach had slightly changed and there may have been one small spot, but that looked to be it. As I work tonight, I thought I better get on to cleaning up my mess and hoped the pants weren’t ruined so I could wash them and either wear them or give them away.

As I snipped off the rubber bands, imagine my surprise! The bleaching had occurred on the inside areas and under the rubber bands! What an idiot I had been, it probably had worked in the time I originally expected but just not in the way I had expected! Now my concern was that in sitting in the bleach all night the jeans wouldn’t stand up to a wash and might simply dissolve.

As you can see, they survived the wash! I actually think they turned out great and am excited to see what looks I can come up with to go with them! They are much lighter than they started (duh), you can see a couple of dark spots that are the original colour on the left leg about knee level. I think that is kind of cool too because it will remind me of what drew me to them in the first place…the amazing turquoise colour.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

51 responses to “Jeany in a Bottle

  • aprilgia

    I think they turned out pretty great! Perfect with a white tank and tan sandals for the summer…add a black blazer and some pumps for a night out. Nice job!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks!
      They are pretty cool. In fact I like them far better now than the originals!
      Plus after having a look in the wardrobe I now have things that will go with them.
      You are right, they’ll be perfect with a white t-shirt for a relaxed summer look.
      I’ve got a few others lined up for the next post so we’ll see soon!
      Thanks for your comment and for stopping by. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Dienna

    I can’t wait to see what outfit you put this one together with!

  • jaded

    They look awesome. Clever you, I’d never have thought to do that! 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Jaded!
      I thought it was pretty clever until I didn’t realise that the process was working just not in the manner I had expected!
      You probably wouldn’t have thought of it because you aren’t old enough to have been around in the 60s/70s when everyone was tie-dying everything! I am, which is a good thing in this case. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • fashionmasher

    HI Laura,
    What an inspiration for my year of Fashion Mash-ups! If I run out of clothes – this is a fabulous idea 🙂

    I bought a beautiful dress for $5 at the Salvos when I was on holiday in Adelaide – it is kind of stained, lolly pink lace!! I bought some dark purple dye (as I already have a black lace dress) so I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Ohhhh! I’m so excited to see how it works. Love purple anything! And when you get a bargain and it turns out well that is even better. 🙂
      Looking forward to seeing your pics!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • designchickee

    Very groovy, Laura… That was very gutsy of you! I wait with baited breath for tomorrow’s post! They look great!
    Olga

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Olga!
      Not too gutsy as the I purchased the jeans for about $25. However, I am really excited that I didn’t botch the whole thing and now have something cool and unique to work with.
      I’m looking forward to tomorrow too! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    Amazing!! Well done you. They are marvelous!

  • morgancreations

    Very smart! I love all the new bright colored jeans and I found that a long tunic always looks good as I have a stomach issue. No one knows if I wear something loose and still looks fashionable. I love your solution for breaking up the color!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks!
      I’m kind of amazed that 1) I even thought of it and 2) it actually worked!
      Can’t wait to see what outfits I can get together. It’s like having a brand new item of clothing!
      May the fashion goddess bless a good tunic, it hides many sins!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Paula Parisotto

    Fun and funky! I like!

    Paula

  • Kari

    the jeans have definitely been given an upgrade and look so cool-well done you! 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Kari!
      I was taking photos of them when I got home from work this morning and didn’t want to take them off because I felt so cool in them!
      It’s totally crazy that a few dollars of bleach and some rubberbands could transform the jeans and me!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • amaliqbal

    How neat! I love taking clothes and making them my own! These turned out lovely and I cant wait to see what you pair them with! Happy Fashioning!!!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Me too! It’s been great fun to do this project.
      I have so many ideas running through my brain that I had better get busy and put some of them together!
      Hopefully a few will be good enough to share with everyone.
      Thanks for your comment and stopping by.
      I’ll have pics of the options tomorrow!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • turningheadsaustralia

    that looks aswesome! i am glad to see you giving it your own style 🙂 hope to see the final outfit put together.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I’m pretty sure there will be more than one final outfit!
      Can’t narrow the looks down.
      Which is funny since I couldn’t come up with anything to go with them originally!
      Should have spent the day sleeping as I am in the middle of a couple night shifts but kept waking up and thinking about what else I could pull together!
      I’ll get Part 2 up tomorrow.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • rubybastille

    Very cool! Dying jeans is one of those things that I’m too scared to try myself (unless it was a cheap thrifted pair), but I’m always impressed with the results when others try it!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I was a fair bit nervous even though the jeans were reasonable priced and am absolutely rapt with the result!
      Would highly recommend giving it a go!
      They have turned out so cool that I am going to wear them to a comedy show tonight…give them a whirl in the big city!
      Give it a try, you’ll like it!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Jeany in a Bottle – Part 2 « astimegoesbuy

    […] Jeany in a Bottle (astimegoesbuy.wordpress.com) […]

  • Born To Organize

    For starters, you made me laugh! Nice.

    The pants turned out well.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Laughing is good!
      You gotta love a good one. 🙂
      Thanks for your comment on the pants.
      I think they are my new favourite piece of clothing!
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Born To Organize

        Good for you!

        I admire your quest to “shop” your closet for the next 90 days. I’ll bet you discover things you didn’t know you had.

        Another fun idea is to host a clothing swap. You get to exchange clothing with friends, acquire new pieces, and at the same time preserve your cash.

      • astimegoesbuy

        Even though I love to shop, I had not long ago cleaned out my wardrobe so know what every item is…BUT…by shopping my wardrobe/closet, it had forced me to be more clever and inventive with pulling together an outfit. So I have found a new way to enjoy pieces that I either already loved or with which I had yet to trully fall in love! It’s been fun so far. Even though I miss the “thrill of the hunt” in shopping.

        I have been thinking about doing a clothing swap with a group of girlfriends at the end. They liked the idea of shopping their wardrobe and have been doing the same thing in support, so we’ll all be in the mood for some things that are new to us!

        Thanks for your tip!

        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Born To Organize

        Laura, it all sounds like great fun. I look forward to future posts.

  • Valentina

    Very cool! Pair some chunky jewelry with those pants and a funky leather jackets for an even more cool look, or a tailored blazer for a classic look. Have fun.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Valentina!
      I really would love to do them with a white t-shirt and my black leather jacket.
      For taking the Fashion Mister out tonight I wore them as in Part 2 with the blazer and heels.
      They looked pretty good!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Glitter's Wall of Fame

    Wow! You were brave with this, and it looks like its turned out very well. Me likey! x

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks!
      I didn’t think it was too brave as I was not likely to wear the jeans in their original state…I was just lucky that I took them out of the bleach before they disolved! 🙂
      And me likey too! They are totally the coolest thing I own at the moment!
      When I wore them last night for a date with the Fashion Mister in the city I felt V-stylish and totally Rock Chic.
      I’m thinking next time I wear them will be with a plain white t-shirt, black wedges and a black leather jacket – may as well go total rock!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ifiwereartemis

    This is a fabulous idea! I’ve been wanting to bleach some jean shorts for a while now, I think you just game me the inspiration to do it!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Excellent!
      You will love them!
      I love these jeans now. And was so happy with the outcome I wanted to do more but thought I can’t have a whole wardrobe of tie-dye!
      You must share photos when you do the shorts. I would love to see how they turn out.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • turningheadsaustralia

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    A true lover of fashion… Loved this recent post of hers on DIY tie-dye pants.

  • racheljenkins

    they turned out awesomely!

  • Ready Set Dresss!

    I’m inspired! I’m definitely going to dye my jeans this weekend (and of course post pictures)!

  • Beauty Temptress

    I like the fact you did this yourself rather than buying them like that. Thanks for liking my post btw 🙂

  • Stylish Ways to Wear the White T-shirt on Holiday – My Way « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] of the heels, dress it up just enough to make it more interesting for going out at night. The tie-dye jeans are from my DIY series and perhaps one of my all time favourite pairs of pants. They are very […]

  • MSFW Spring 2012 – Street Style « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] I shared this lot of photos first for a variety of reasons. The first three photos were all ladies who were attending the Wittner Shoe Runway. I had to get a pic of the tie-dye jeans especially since I shared with you all about 4 months ago my DIY version. […]

  • To Die For Denim – Tie Dye « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] Tie Dye Denim: Early in 2012 when skinny jeans were becoming the jean to have I bought a pair of really full on turquoise ones that were comfortable, but just a little too bright for me. All the cool floral prints hadn’t come out yet and I had seen one photo online of Isabel Marant’s tie dye version. Well, goodness knows a woman of my age has done tie dye before so of to the store for some bleach and my turquoise skinny jeans became “oh so cool”. You can see that DIY here. […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

