Jeany in a Bottle – Part 2

Well now that I am newly in love with the tie-dyed turquoise jeans, I had better do something with them!

How about I find a few things in the wardrobe and pull together a few outfits?!

Once I brought them in off the line I had a quick look in the wardrobe to see if anything would work with them in their revamped form and this is what I’ve come up with. And I think with a little more thought, I probably could have come up with a fair few more!

Tie-Dye to Die For – Now that the colour has been toned done thanks to tie-dying process, these jeans look perfect with this sweater. It’s a really nice light-weight that I bought because of the cut-outs on the sleeves. I’ve dressed the look up a little with the scarf, handbag and shoes so it could be a really nice evening look.

 

Tie-Dyed Summer – We had to have at least one summer look as these jeans now make me think of the ocean even more than they did before! The shirt has a scalloped edge to it which you can’t really see under the lace overlay, but it is really lovely. I paired it all up with a scarf, a stack of bangles and the little clutch then finished it off with the sandles to complete that summer lovin’.

 

Tie-Dyed Luncheon Date! – And just for the challenge I wanted to see if I could come up with a look that could just about pass for the office. Worst case, I’ll be wearing this one to meet the Fashion Sister from a Different Mother for lunch! The little top under the blazer is a perfect match for the newly tie-dyed jeans. Over top there is the nude coloured blazer from a suit I had made in Hong Kong back in October. I have rolled up the sleeves to give it a more relaxed and casual look. Again there is a stack of bangles, the owl vintage necklace and the neutral clutch, which all match the nude patent heels! I love this look and can’t wait to wear it.

 

Tie-Dying to Relax – As I said, I could have gone on and on. This one is a little casual. Good for the weekend or meeting friends for lunch. The TieDyed jeans are paired up with a taupe/nude short-sleeved shirt, a lovely scarf and purple jewelry (a couple of necklaces and my purple jade bangles). I’ve grabbed my well used Coach handbag and added in the nude suede wedges to keep the whole look fresh and relaxed.

Pastel – You’ll have to forgive this last shot. I took it myself and it’s really not that great but I wanted to do my “ode to pastels”. As I’m really not a girlie-girl, the simple fact that I could put together a whole look around pastels is a miracle! I have layered a pale peach coloured T-shirt under a pale yellow cardigan. Added in a couple of  vintage butterfly broaches, an opal necklace and finished with the nude suede wedges. You can’t really see in the photo but my finger nails are a shimmery pale blue. This is another look that I am surprised that I really like and am looking forward to wearing! Yikes! Don’t tell me I’m going girlie!?

This whole exercise has been a great surprise and it nearly makes me want to see what other items I could repurpose, revamp or revitalise!

I really love how these turned out! In fact, I think I will wear them to the city tonight. Taking the Fashion Mister out as a late b-day present to see Ross Noble, possibly one of the funniest comedians of all time!

Any thoughts on other ways I could wear these jeans?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “Jeany in a Bottle – Part 2

  • Dana Cristina

    my fave style: 2nd & 3 rd pictures! Lovely post I love how u split it throughput days!!! X

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Dana!
      I’m really loving the 3rd one too!
      Looking forward to either date night with the Fashion Mister or meeting up with some friends in the city so I can wear it! 🙂
      I had to split it over two days between the project, getting the pants through the laundry and out to dry on the line…I’m just not that organised!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    Love, love, love. Especially the third outfit. God, I die. You look absolutely smashing in that cardi-pant combo!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Aren’t you just the sweetest thing! 🙂
      Thank you for your kind words.
      I’m loving the third look too, and I’m hoping I can be brave enough to wear the cardi-jeans combo out in public!
      It’ll have to be someplace where I am not eating as all attention needs to go to sucking the gut in!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • designchickee

    Excellent outfits, Laura! I especially love the Luncheon Date outfit and I’m wanting the cut-out sweater… maybe I can borrow it??? lol And you look fabulous!!
    Olga

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Olga! 🙂
      I’m looking forward to wearing the luncheon date outfit as I rather impressed myself with that one! LOL
      I love a cut out should, it always seems so sexy. Probably just my weird self who thinks that covered with a bit of should showing is a real draw.
      I’ll have a tough time deciding which to wear out with the Fashion Mister tonight. I bet I end up trying on both!
      Cheers,
      Laura

    • astimegoesbuy

      Oh and you are more than welcome to borrow the sweater anytime…but you’ll have to come get it! 😉
      Laura

  • Miles

    Great post and love your outfit combinations 😀 I just dyed one of my white jackets pink! We seem to be on the same track these days lol. http://shoppinginmyowncloset.com/2012/04/15/all-things-nice-day-258/

    • astimegoesbuy

      That’s because we are two clever chooks (Aussie slang for bird/woman 🙂 )!!
      The pink jacket is adorable!
      I love that we both have been wearing what’s in our wardrobe – you far longer than I – and have found a way to repurpose and give new life to things we already own.
      Thanks for all your support during my challenge.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Helena Handbasket

    I find it really interesting that you feel that they’re toned down because the colour isn’t as bright – but they’re so much more eye-catching now! The science of reverse tie-dyeing has me stumped, but as I’m unlikely to try it myself I guess that’s okay 😀

    • astimegoesbuy

      Helena!
      I don’t really have a problem with being eye-catching…or at least wearing clothing that is!
      I guess to some degree they really aren’t toned down but as you said the colour is not so bright and in fact is a really pretty shade now.
      And even though I’m not really into the girlie look, I feel kind of rock chic girlie in these jeans. 🙂
      Now why wouldn’t you try tie-dye? It’s pretty cool!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • turningheadsaustralia

    i like the third and fourth one the best. btw, how do you stay so slim, you look awesome!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I wore the third look tonight. Took the Fashion Mister to Melbourne to see Ross Noble, who is bloody insane!
      The outfit worked and I felt really good in it!
      As for staying slim, I was just crying to my Fashion Sister From Another Mother that I had gained 10 kgs and need to loose at least 5 of them!
      I was sucking my gut in for the photo! LOL!! It’s taken a long time and being mindful of what I’m eating.
      Thank you for the compliment 🙂 You’re a little sweetie!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Beth

    Such a cool idea and I love all the outfits you created!

  • Miranda

    Loving these jeans. now i know what to do with my white jeans that i havent worn for yrs. Loving your blog! I love DIY… xoxo

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Miranda!
      Doing white jeans would be a blast!
      I’d love to see pics if you do.
      Normally, I am not that great with the DIY but I need to be creative while on this break from shopping.
      You’ve got a great blog too! I’m loving that fierce business suit in your last post. Thinking I might pull together something similar for work on Friday. I need to look tough, Fridays can be a bit rough!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Laura (whoplannedthis)

    how fun! i will have to try that some time soon 🙂

  • MJ, Nonstepmom

    These are the best jeans ever….I have to try this !!!

    • astimegoesbuy

      They are the best jeans ever MJ!
      My absolute favourite colored jeans and so easy to make.
      I have seen photos of a couple of celebs wearing regular blue jeans that are tie dyed over the last week so you would be right on trend when you do!
      Make sure you share photos with the rest of us.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Wardrobe Essential – Blazing a Trail My Way « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] previous My Way articles on “Blue”berry, Black & White, Business Trip Packing and Jeany in a Bottle (my tie-dye […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

