DIY – Louis Vuitton Inspired Lace Collar

Even if I wasn’t on a break from shopping, no matter how much I was lusting after the lace collars by Louis Vuitton, there is no way I could bring myself to spend the money. The lusting has been bad, let me tell you. I’m sure in my head I could justify having one!

I’ve even looked at them over and over on the internet.

Lusting…

Wanting…

Justifying…

So I decided to do something about it and make my own Louis Vuitton inspired lace collar.

It started by digging an old white shirt out of a bag that I was taking to the Salvation Army.

I’m really not that handy with sewing and things so I needed something to work from. As this shirt was about to depart my home for parts unknown I thought I might be able to use the collar as my base. I chose it because it buttoned right up to the top and already had a button so no little fiddlely bits for me to have to work on.

I used a nice sharp pair of scissors to remove the collar from the rest of the shirt. Cutting as close to the edge of the collar as possible without damaging the stitching.

I had already been to the local craft store to see what kind of lace, bits and bobs and beads they might have to work with. I couldn’t find anything even close to the lace used in the Louis Vuitton version but I found the white flower string and thought I might be able to work with that. Then I found the small black flower chain and the larger black lace which I thought might make a good base for the rest. I grabbed a bag of pearl beads and some little jewels just in case I wanted to add some bling-factor to the collar.

Once the collar was removed from the shirt, I opened it up and used fabric glue to attach the black lace. The scallop edge hangs down below the edge of the original collar and the lattice looking bits actually will fold to the inside of the collar. Make sure to run the lace past both ends of the collar so you can then trim to line up nicely.

Use a little fabric glue to make sure trimmed edges are attached to the collar.

After cutting apart the white flowers, I then randomly attached them to the black lace. On both ends I glued the white flowers to hang over the edge a little.

Next I cut the small black flower chain into individual flowers and glued them to the centre of each white flower. The one flower that would sit over the mid-point of the collar when buttoned got one of the gems glued to its centre rather than a black flower to add a little bling.

This is the finished collar.I’m pretty pleased with it. What do you think?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

26 responses to “DIY – Louis Vuitton Inspired Lace Collar

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniรฉ

โ€œFashions fade, style is eternal.โ€ โ€• Yves Saint-Laurent

