7 Looks x 7 Days – LBD Day 4

7 Looks x 7 Days – LBD Challenge – Day 4

Day 4 of the LBD challenge – 7 Looks x 7 Days.

I have this silvery grey duster-style  lace jacket thing that is from a dress I had when I was much MUCH, larger. I should have given it away ages ago but it is so pretty that I have hung on to it. Even carried it from the US on my migration south, but still haven’t worn it for over 10 years! Well now I think I have a reason, or at least a way to wear it again.

The inspiration for this look comes from both the hi-low hem looks that are popular right now and all the looks with the see-through chiffon skirts over skinny pants/leggings or short skirts.

Because the silver overlay/jacket is SOOOOO big, I had to add a belt to keep the look together but I actually think it looks pretty good. Just to make sure the look is really flashy I have put on a couple of strands of vintage crystal beads with a pearl and onyx necklace, silver and sapphire bracelets, bling ring and for fun, my pony skin black and white pumps, purchased from Nine West a few years ago.

I have some black polka-dot stockings that I thought about wearing with this look but felt they would just be too much, so I went with plain old black.

What I like about this look:

At long last I get to wear the silver overlay!

I have to admit, I love the shoes.

The lace is very ladylike and the colour is lovely.

What I don’t like about this look:

Not sure if the slits up the side of the overlay are a bit too much. (Don’t want to be confused with Gwyneth Paltrow or Angelina Jolie! LMAO – as if!!)

What do you think? Was it a good idea to hang on to this silver overlay/jacket all these years and all these miles?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “7 Looks x 7 Days – LBD Day 4

  • Miles

    LOVE the way it sparkles! 🙂

  • summer picnic

    Cool closet find. Lace is making a comeback so you’re on trend! If you’re looking to switch it up, maybe you could shorten it? Either way, rock that leg, Angelina style. : )

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks!
      Shortening it is a great idea!
      I can’t sew but now a few people that could do it for me.
      I’ll remix it and put a pic up when I do.
      Such good thinking!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • donationcan

    I like the silver overlay. Makes your outfit sparkly and more formal.

    Donation-Can.com

  • Paula Parisotto

    I like the jacket. Lace, cuffed sleeves, collar-nice! As a stylist, I would consider sewing up the side slits or slicing the slits to waist height, cutting off the tail and tying the two front pieces (leaving them long) to create a shorter, poufed jacket. You could even wrap the two front pieces around your waist a few times and then tie in the front of back of the bodice. Just a thought!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Ohhhh! That’s a good idea too!
      Summer Picnic suggested cutting it all shorter, which I liked but now I have a second option?!
      I’m going to have to think about this one. I think either would look great. Relly like your idea of cutting the back and having the front bits wrap around and tie.
      I’ll have to make it a DIY project either way so I’ll end up blogging about it!
      Thanks for the suggestion!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • turningheadsaustralia

    i think it was worth keeping, its an unusual piece and i love that about it.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Me too.
      Very glad that something inside said to hang on to it.
      Have had a couple of good suggestions on ways to modify it and make it more current.
      May have to do a DIY Fashion blog on it!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • fashionmasher

    I like the softness of the overlay over the LBD it works for me 🙂
    As you know I have LOTS of things that have been in my wardrobe for years and years and some things that only get worn once every few years but they have history and add shazam every now and then and become part of an outfit that no one else will have on and everyone else will ask you about. I remember a few years ago watching every episode of every series of Sex in the City over a couple of months and it made me really brave with my wardrobe and I really started to experiment and explore different combinations of clothes and it felt great – I think you’ve totally reinvented that jacket 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks for your words of encouragement!
      I’m really trying to stretch my comfort zone and be more creative with these challenges. As you know, if you can’t buy anything new, you have to get creative!
      I’ve even been digging out jewelry I haven’t worn in ages to provide a change up. I hope I can find a few more options for the overlay that will keep it current and on higher rotation!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • designchickee

    The lace is beautiful and I love that you belted it! You accessories are beautiful too! Love the necklace and those shoes are fantastic!
    Great job, Laura!
    Olga

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Olga,
      You know I love mixing vintage and new and the vintage jewelry worked well with this look. Everything was so sophisticated that I had to add the shoes for a bit of personality!
      Glad you liked it! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

