Award Season Continues – Living Passionately Award

WOW!

Imagine my surprise (and excitement) at waking this morning to find that Jensine from Jensinewall had awarded me the coveted Living Passionately Award, originally created by Mr Nowan Zen!

The reason I am so excited by this award is because it’s about living life fully.

Now I know that many days I live the same grind as most others…I get up, have a coffee, go to work, swear a lot in my head while remaining professional on the outside, complain about my 7 minute commute taking 10 minutes because of all the traffic on the way home, try to figure out what to make for dinner, enjoy my evening glass of wine or cocktail a little too much, then rinse and repeat the next day.

BUT…

I’ve been in Australia now just over ten years. I ended up here because one day I woke up and said, “I’m going to start doing the things I want to do. I don’t want to be an old woman in a nursing home wishing I had lived differently”. So I sold most everything I owned, moved halfway around the world, changed professions which meant going back to Uni and committed to seeing how many passports I could fill before I die!

And you know what? I wish I had done it sooner!

After moving to Oz I have travelled, met amazing people, made great friends and found a passion for fashion (the four f’s in my life – family, friends, fashion and food!) which has led me to creating As Time Goes, Buy and the opportunity to meet all of you! All of these things I am most grateful for.

So you see, Living Passionately is how I want to live the second half of my life so this award is encouraging me to continue on this amazing journey.

Now for the rules…because all awards seem to have rules…and these were mandated by the creator himself!

  1. Take a deep breath
  2. Think about who you’d like to pass this on to
  3. Do something weird and out of the ordinary today
  4. Post the award someplace conspicuous…..the underside of the hamper lid, inside of the lav door, at the bottom of the bird-cage.

Okay, breathe in…hold it…breathe out.

Rule 1 – check

Printed out a copy of the award…placed it in my scarf drawer (even the Fashion Mister doesn’t go in there).

Rule 4 – check

I was going to spend a large part of the day in my pj’s writing but that is not very unusual…so…thinking…I know! I have an old camouflage shirt of mine from nearly 30 years ago that I have been wanting to wear, and I’ve got to attend a meeting this afternoon of my hospital colleagues. I’m going to wear the shirt, with jeans AND this fierce pair of high-heeled hiking boots to the meeting! That will certainly weird some people out!!

Rule 3 – check and check!

Now for rule 2. Those of you in the blogosphere that are inspiring and living life to the full…or at least are writing about it as though you are! 😉

Chasing Yellow Cabs

Fashion Mashie

The Blissful Adventurer

The Thread Affect

Gracefully 50

Rule 2 – check and double-check!

Now stop hanging around my blog, go forth and live! But be sure to check out those I have listed and encourage them in their journey to live life. Who knows, you may get a little back.

Cheers,

Laura

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Award Season Continues – Living Passionately Award

  • gracefully50

    Thanks Laura! I’m honored!

  • Nowan Zen

    Welcome to the World of Weirdified. Gives WOW a whole new meaning.
    Be Weird! Be Odd! Be anything but boring!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you oh weird one!
      I do believe I am quite glad to be here in the land of Odd.
      Please bannish me should I become boring!
      I’m not sure which is worse…to be boring or to be without style…perhaps having boring style!?
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Nowan Zen

        Banish you? Nay, cannot be so, for if one becomes boring, ’tis time to shake the foundation and, thus, render a new perspective.

        Methinks boring style is a wonderful masque for the weirdly eccentric. Call it “Normality Camouflage.”

      • astimegoesbuy

        Ah, I see…a way to sneak up on the enemy without them knowing you are there! 🙂
        Look like everything around you and no one will notice.
        Don’t think I’ll be too good at that!
        Maybe I can just be the Normality Grenade?! 🙂 Blow up everyone’s expectations.

      • Nowan Zen

        You are wise and cunning! Exploding expectations sounds like a wonderful way to spend an evening out with friends.:D

      • astimegoesbuy

        Wouldn’t be the first time I have been called wise and cunning!
        Or spent the night out with friends exploding expectations! It’s just usually mine that are exploding! 🙂

  • fashionmasher

    This was such a great inspirational read first thing in the morning and thank you so much for passing it on to me 🙂
    My mum and sister-in-law and gorgeous baby niece all sat around the kitchen listening while I read it out loud. We shared our things we’ve done. Every year I set myself a creative goal and a new skill goal. After learning to drive, play the piano, learning how to sew and do trapeze, blogging is this year’s new skill and my wardrobe workout is my creative outlet. It’s been fun and the best thing has been meeting great people who are interested in the same thing.
    Have a great day of living passionately Laura 🙂 and thank you again for the fun, the inspiration and passing on.

    • astimegoesbuy

      My pleasure!
      It has been great fun getting to know you via our blogs and someday I do hope we have that day we are in the same city at the same time for some serious shopping!
      Keep enjoying life and living passionately!:)
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • bpreethi

    First things first!! Congratulations on the honor.. and you surely deserve it 🙂 Every post of yours reflects the essence of this award.. and Thank you so much for passing the honor to me.. I am going to do my post over the weekend.. Am only wondering if it’s allowed to renominate you in that case ;).

    • astimegoesbuy

      I love your blog and think you do a great job at embracing life and living it so you are the embodiment of the award!
      No rush on your post…this award is not going to self destruct if you are too busy living life!
      I would be honoured to be renominated if that is what you deem to do but I don’t know that I could do another post!
      Hope you have a great weekend filled with much living and joy.
      Cheers and xx
      Laura

  • Living Passionately Award « Chasing Yellow Cabs!

    […] dedicated audience, but once in a while I make my way into an award list  I was nominated by astimegoesbuy for the LIVING PASSIONATELY award and I can’t be excited enough that Laura found me apt […]

  • Inspirations & Awards « gracefully50

    […] the name of this award?  Living Passionately Award. My gratitude for this award goes to Laura @astimegoesbuy.  Laura is a lover of all things fashionable.  She’s also a young 40ish, creative, vintage […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

