Remodeling Sarah – Wardrobe Revamp – Going Shopping

So a couple of weeks have gone by since the beginning of the Remodeling of Sarah and she has been living out of her existing wardrobe and getting used to looking at what she has differently.

When we met to originally go through her wardrobe to give it a revamp we set the date for a shopping trip too. That day is now!

I had been thinking a lot about where we would go. You know, what would work for Sarah’s lifestyle? Where wouldn’t break the bank? How could I get Sarah to actually enjoy shopping? And to top off all my worries I hadn’t seen her since going to her house to go through her wardrobe! I had been away on business and although we had texted regularly, I had no idea what she had been wearing!!

As it turned out, I had no reason to worry. She had been a good student and remembered her lessons well! We were meeting for a coffee to have a chat before we got started with the shopping. My face nearly cracked with the huge smile as she walked into the coffee shop. How great did she look?! Casual, yet cool. Pulled together and exuding her own style. I hadn’t put together this look for her when we went through her wardrobe so she had done it all on her own! I felt like a proud mother watching her daughter graduate at the top of her class.

And the joy didn’t stop there! Sarah told me how she had been laying in bed thinking about designing a room in the house she is having built (which she does regularly) and all of sudden she started thinking, “I wonder if those colours would work in an outfit”?

For the second time in the “remodeling of Sarah”, I nearly cried, but these would have been tears of joy.

Over our coffee Sarah told me that as she was getting ready for the day she looked at herself and said, “one more layer”, then put on the denim jacket and the jewelry. The bright blue owl necklace had been a Mother’s Day gift from her girls and it looked great with her outfit. I did have to tell her how hot bird motifs are right now and that owl’s are V-cool.

When we finished our coffee, Sarah was quite curious about where we were heading. I told her it was a surprise and that she would just have to follow me. She threw out several guesses. None of them were correct and I started to get nervous again. We walked past all the “normal/regular” shops and eventually I led her into one of my favourite places to look for clothes…

…the Salvation Army Thrift Shop!

Not five steps in the door we found a great long cardigan hanging on the mannequin. She tried it on, it looked great on her and was $14.99 – an absolute bargain.

It had many of the colours already in Sarah’s wardrobe and was going to work well with her lifestyle. So it went straight into the yes pile.

We also found this really great brown suede skirt. There was also a corduroy skirt the same colour but Sarah liked the suede best and I have to agree, it was the “cooler” item to add to her wardrobe. The suede skirt was $14.99 and the corduroy one was $5.99 and although she was tempted to buy both, I convinced her that she only needed one!

Had I created a shopping monster?!

Sarah also selected this short-sleeved vertical striped shirt because it could be worn in the summer but also could be layered over long-sleeved shirts in the winter as in this photo. And the price $4.99!

As we were heading to the counter, I mentioned to Sarah that I can often find some cool, yet inexpensive, costume jewelry at thrift shops. The Salvo’s had a couple of baskets of bracelets and had a little display of necklaces. Sarah selected 1 necklace ($3.99), two pink bracelets ($0.99) and a little bag with a total of 4 white bracelets inside ($3.99).

So about $45 later we headed to the next thrift shop a couple of doors up. Vinnies!

Again, less than 5 steps in we found a wrap dress on the mannequin that was a must have.

The colours in this wrap dress were again perfect to add to Sarah’s wardrobe with the pinks, tans, browns and blacks. All colours she had in abundance and would be able to change-up the look with a number of cardigans, scarves or tights. Not to mention wearing either black or brown boots. Plus in warmer weather she could dress it up with a bit of jewelry and some strappy sandals. versatility ++!

We did try to find a nude/tan shirt or sweater to go with this brown and black checked skirt but didn’t have any luck. However, Sarah does have a few brown or black shirts she could wear with it and even a nice white button-down shirt with a vest would look professional, or a fur vest would look classic but casual.

Total cost for the wrap dress and skirt $15.

Total spend thus far $60 for all these great items!

Next stop was lunch and then on to my two other favourite stores.

More about them tomorrow.

How do you think we have done so far?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

15 responses to “Remodeling Sarah – Wardrobe Revamp – Going Shopping

  • MJ, Nonstepmom

    Fast learner, her outfit – very cute ! & LOVED the wrap dress.
    Being in CT (and amongst affluent neighborhoods) our thrift shops are full of great name brands and designers – I hit the jackpot everytime I go….

    • astimegoesbuy

      She is a fast learner! I have been most impressed by “grasshopper”! 🙂
      I’m jealous of your designer ladden thrift shops…that ain’t gonna happen here in “The Rat”. (we live in Ballarat). I have to drive down to Melbourne to up the ante to that level. Although I can usually find a few things that I like here, they just aren’t designer. I use the fact that I saved on buying at the local thrift shops to justify splashing out on designer at the Outlet Stores! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Pierotucci

    That cardigan was a fantastic deal – as was the skirt. One of my all time fave pieces was a tux jacket that I got from the SA – and I practically wore it out!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I was so jealous of those two items and the wrap dress! Would have loved all of them for myself! 🙂 I’m pretty confident these items will be with Sarah for a long time. I have a few items in my wardrobe that are favs and they have been thrifted. Even thinking about doing a series of posts all about my vintage/thrift stuff.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Anne @ The Frump Factor

    I really love the wrap dress. More thrift envy! You ladies did great.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Hi Anne!
      The wrap dress is fantastic and such a great pattern. I love paisley. It’s pretty without being too girlie! Sarah sure scored well for only $100.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • RiverCityFashion

    Sarah is so much like my real-life personality (rather than my incredibly stylish online stylista personality!), so I’ve loved this project. I can’t tell you how many times I think about a painting or a room (and how the colors and shapes would look there) when I’m putting together an outfit. She’s great – and so are you!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks RCF!
      I happen to think she is great!
      I knew if she could think about decorating a room or designing a house that she could be creative about clothing too.
      The trick was getting her to think differently about her clothes!
      And, I can’t believe that your real-life self is anything but as fabulous as your stylish online stylista self!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • gracefully50

    This is so cool! Can’t wait to see more!

  • Dana Cristina

    Such a cool denim jacket! 🙂 XO

    • astimegoesbuy

      It is!
      And she has had it forever but wasn’t wearing it.
      I had to tell her that vintage denim jackets were very cool right now! 🙂 But she is learning!
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Dana Cristina

        Yeah!!! They are back! Don’t know why they were out in the first place, cause they look so cool, but it’s great to have them back 🙂 X

      • astimegoesbuy

        Love, when you live as long as I have…everything has gone out and come back in! 🙂
        Except my bum…seems to have gone out and kept going! LOL
        Cheers,
        Laura xx

  • “Blue”berry Inspiration – Fashion vs. Home « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] have to credit my friend Sarah for inspiring this concept. You may remember her from the Remodeling Sarah series. Sarah was really good at designing and decoration for the home but struggled when it came […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

