Vintage Looks – A Parade of Skirts

I thought it might be good to cover the full parade of skirts while having a look at the vintage items in my wardrobe. Some you have seen before and a couple I wear so often that you should have seen them by now but I haven’t taken any pictures until now!

I made sure to make this picture of all my vintage skirts together nice and big so you can really see the prints and pattern of each of my little hardworking vintage wonders.

The brown and white sort of Aztec print skirt was the first one of this vintage collection. I purchased it about 12 months ago when I finally became aware of my great passion for longer midi and maxi length skirts. I think I have mentioned before that I am tall so I am really lucky that I can get away with these longer skirts and a couple of them even make me look long and lean! Which I like!

The Bright Vintage Maxi – You’ve seen this one and we only covered it in-depth a few days ago so we won’t spend a lot of time on it. As mentioned before, one of the things I like most about this skirt is that even though it is vintage, the colours are bang on trend!

Guess that just shows us that what is old is new again. There are cycles in fashion and mixing orange, red and raspberry (hot pink) really isn’t that new after all.

Vintage Black and White Plaid – If you don’t remember this skirt, we covered it in the Black and White series. Even though it is subtle, I wanted this look to be a mix of prints. I have used the black leather bomber/varsity jacket and the black boots to tie it all together. You will notice that the shirt is striped, the skirt is a  fine plaid and then the scarf and handbag are two more prints! Four prints in one look and I think it works pretty well. It’s a great way to get used to mixing prints if you haven’t yet gotten into that trend. I really like this look and am sure that I’ll be wearing it soon…maybe to the CFC breakfast in June.

Vintage, All the Skirts are Brown – Okay, so they aren’t but it is winter here and all the leaves are turning brown. We covered this skirt just a couple of days ago with the Cue top and croc handbag. You may also recognise it as one that I wore on the business trip to Brisbane a couple of weeks ago. That is one of the great things about this skirt, it is versatile. Because it is “just a basic skirt”, I can do so many different and wonderful things with it. Which makes the fact that it is vintage and cost so little, all the more sweet. Every girl needs those good basics that work really hard for them.I am sure you will see this skirt in more looks in the future.

Autumnal Vintage – You will have noticed in the close-up above that this skirt has great texture and a good variety of beautiful autumnal colours. Again, details that let it work with so many other things in my wardrobe. I especially like to wear this skirt to work with one of my cashmere solid colour jumper/sweaters and my brown suede boots. It’s just a comfortable outfit to work in and some days, being comfortable is about the best thing that can happen! Of course I tend to go with either the pearls or the vintage copper jewelry when wearing this skirt. They all just seem to belong together. Perhaps that could be a lead in for one of my Vintage clothing “stories from before they were mine”.

My First – Vintage Maxi – I actually don’t think I have shown off this skirt before. It was the first vintage one I purchased about 12-18 months ago. I fell in love with it for two reasons. The zig-zag print was reminded me of an Aztec print and knowing that tribal was becoming popular it seemed like a good versatile purchase. Secondly, it was the first time that I could find a vintage skirt that actually fit!! Massive bonus! The way I am showing it here is exactly the way I first wore it and is probably my favourite look for this skirt. The top is a wrap shirt / light weight jumper, the brown wide belt brown suede boots and my Coach handbag you have seen many times. The necklace is a multi-strand beaded necklace that also has a bit of the tribal trend about it. I have worn this skirt with a taupe coloured short-sleeved button-down shirt, tucked in, the wide brown belt and nude suede wedges in the summer months. I could wear it with orange, including orange wedges and it would look amazing…may have to check that look out for another post!

That 70s Show – This skirt isn’t a maxi or midi but it is one of my vintage skirts and whenever I wear it I feel like I have stepped back into the 70s, which means I usually end up styling it like a modified 70s look. In this particular pic, I have played off the slight burnt orange stripe in the skirt and used a burnt orange cashmere top purchased in Hong Kong back in October, a long cream coloured Ralph Lauren sweater vest, a vintage brown and orange scarf, burnt orange tights, brown suede boot and a two-tone brown clutch with a stack of copper and brown bracelets and my orange watch. I have also traded out the tights for brown fish net stockings which still provides a pretty 70s look. Sometimes I wear a lighter coloured top and ditch the vest and scarf and wear pearls but it still always feels like I am the mod 70s chick.

Hope you liked my parade of skirts. I’m sure they will make another appearance in the future as these are clearly some of my favourite vintage items to wear.

Did you have a favourite? How do you style your vintage midi’s or maxi’s to keep them current?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

13 responses to “Vintage Looks – A Parade of Skirts

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

