The Memorial Look

This weekend is the perfect confluence of celebrating Memorial Day and trying to use a piece of my personal history while creating a look.

Most of you know that although I live in Australia, I grew up in the USA and in fact celebrated 38 Memorial Days while living there. The first big picnic or barbecue of the summer season, it could be freezing cold and wet or stinking hot, but it never stopped us from getting together.

The personal history bit that most of you DON’T know, is that I spent 6 years serving in the US Air Force. It was a way to get out of the little town I grew up in and travel the world. Unfortunately, I only got to Denver thanks to the USAF but it was a start. It’s been about 25 years since I got out of the Air Force but for some reason I hung on to one of my uniform shirts. Even packed it and brought it all the way to Australia when I moved.

I came across that shirt about 12-18 months ago and since then have been wanting to wear it but without feeling like a big dork or having people think I was a pretender. Then about 6 weeks ago while cruising the blogosphere I saw a few outfits that had a military/grunge inspiration and I became inspired!

So in honour of Memorial Day and all those that serve their country in support of freedom, I embarrassed part of my history and put together this look.

Starting of course with one of my old USAF BDU (battle dress uniform) shirts. I started the look with the sleeves up which looks really cool, but it is winter in Ballarat and I would have frozen! So sleeves are down. Underneath is a concert t-shirt from U-2, a wide brown leather belt, my favourite bell-bottomed J-Brand jeans and black boots.

Accessories are D&G sunnies, a pair of long beaded earrings, the tribal beaded necklace you have seen a few times of late, my vintage copper bracelets plus two string and wire bracelets and my Coach handbag.

I have to admit, I really like the casual way this look turned out and chances are extremely high that I will wear it again.

I also have a summer version rolling around in my brain so when the weather warms up or I do a series on military inspired looks, I’ll share it with you!

The Fashion Mister and I went down to Lake Wendouree to pick up a few things from the farmers market and he suggested we take pics at either the war memorial up the street or here at the cannons next to the lake, and the cannons won the battle!

I felt pretty silly posing with everyone walking or jogging by but they probably just thought we were tourists and ignored us!

So what do you think? Would you wear this look?

Thank you to all that have served and fought for freedom.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

4 responses to “The Memorial Look

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniƩ

Christin ReniƩ

