Lust Have – The Statement Necklace

Now for #3 on the Lust Have list, the item with the biggest bling factor – the statement necklace.

That my friends, is a STATEMENT necklace! Part Amazon Tribal leader, part Greek goddess, all spectacular! I can’t even imagine how much that must cost. Luckily, I don’t have to because I would never be going anywhere that required I make that much of a statement.

I wish I did.

But then I guess I’m just not as “ahmazzing” as Rachel Zoe.

I think I’ll have to find something a little more now and a little less WOW.

This Coral Bib Necklace from Coach has a similar concept behind it and is very beautiful. At just under $300 it’s just a little bit too much statement.

This little number from CultStatus is pretty impressive. It’s been created by Swedish designer Sophia Edstrand and is called Sophia 203. The price of this necklace is $225 which reflects the fact that it is handmade using an embroidery technique. But I would still like to find something a little less expensive and the floral motif isn’t quite right for me.

I rather like this Kate Spade “Baublebox” number from Endless. It’s fresh and modern with the double strands of circles and the colour will go with pretty much anything. The price is about $210 and it’s a little too much for a necklace that isn’t quite grabbing me and making that “look at me” statement I want.

This Hammered Metal Collar from Nordstrom is making a bit more of the right statement and with a sale price of $57 it would certainly keep my budget from busting. However, I already have a gold collar and am looking for something a bit longer for those looks that need more than a gold collar.

This Style&Co. necklace from Macy’s is a bit more like it and the price is fantastic at less than $30. But, it won’t ship to Australia.

So I am going to have to keep searching for that perfect necklace that makes my style statement loud and clear.

I hope this lust have – statement necklace dream doesn’t end up as the dust have thing of my nightmares to find.

Any thoughts on where to find a great statement necklace that doesn’t come with a great whopping price tag?

I’m thinking gold or brushed gold to go with everything.

Help! Suggestions please!!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

26 responses to “Lust Have – The Statement Necklace

  • bpreethi

    I love statement pieces too especially when they are easy on my bank statement too ๐Ÿ˜› Check this link http://www.gojane.com/shop-by-category-stuff-necklaces.html They have interesting stuff often but it gets sold really soon. As far as I know they do ship internationally as well. And you should try Etsy too. If I find something else will let you know.. good luck ๐Ÿ˜€

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Preethi!
      I do love fantastic jewelry and am in desperate need of a good statement piece.
      Just not interested in the statement being, “I spent so much on this necklace that I can’t afford to eat for rest of the month”!
      I’ll check out the link and Etsy next week when I can actually shop again. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Anne @ The Frump Factor

    Hmmmm, interesting question. Since I tend to favor beads, turquoise, glass, and/or somewhat funky or “natural” pieces, I find that a lot of my jewelry comes from arts & crafts shows. (Do you have those where you are? Shows with lots of vendors on the street? Some of them are higher quality than others). There are also lots of gallery shops with great pieces, though they can be more expensive. But I think I’ve seen gold pieces in some of these places, maybe. (And by the way, I LOVE that cuff!) Good luck finding what you are looking for.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Anne,
      Most of my necklaces are beads or more natural stuff but I thought I might need something a little fancier.
      Don’t know why, I don’t lead a fancy life! ๐Ÿ™‚
      We actually don’t have a lot of craft shows but there are lots of little shops or cafes that also have gifts where really cute costume jewelry can usually be purchased. It’s not often cheap but it is reasonable.
      I need to be in the US of A around Thanksgiving when all the craft fairs are on!
      The cuff is pretty awesome but I bought a hammered gold cuff back in January so don’t really “need” another. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Serene

    I’ve seen Vahni, Grit and Glamour, wear a necklace from (I think) Stella & Dot called Pegasus. It’s kind of similar to Rachel Zoe’s necklace. Your choices are beautiful and I’m there with you….statement necklaces are a must have! ~Serene

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Serene,
      I think I need to do a little more searcing to find the right one. If I can find one at a reasonable price I might even be able to get two! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ll check out Stella & Dot.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • badgergirl77

    Why not get it shipped to a friend/family member in the US and get them to send it on? (I do this fairly frequently). Thanks for your lovely comments on L2M. I’ve visted the Rat…great patchwork shops there! Also, it’s rather the home of gold, no? You might be able to find something statementy a little cloer to home!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I have checked close to home (I’m just near Sovereign Hill) and it’s well too expensive!
      But I did stop in Daylesford yesterday with a girlfriend when we were coming back from the Grace Kelly exhibit in Bendigo and saw a few things there that were lovely. Thinking I may have to make a trip back over in the next couple of weeks! My sister is happy to forward items on and as long as they don’t weigh too much the shipping isn’t too dear, so she may be getting a call from me in the near future.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Jody Thompson

    Okay– I like all those necklaces! Given my budget though I’d probably go for the under $30 version- still quite fabulous. Cheers and have a good weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Jody!
      Even on my budget I’m thinking of going for the $30 one!
      Hope you have a great weekend too. Looking forward to seeing what you find at the thrift shops this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Jody Thompson

        I’m really hoping to find some jeans to rip up–ha.

        Also, I’m in the market for a small table for behind my couch. I’ve got a couple of places in mind to search for furniture.

  • m3lly78

    As Rachel Zoe wouls say, they are “bah-nanas”!

    I have bought a few from stores on Etsy, Diva, Sportsgirl & the Bondi markets.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks for the suggestions Mel!
      I’m going to need to give Etsy and Diva a good look.
      Not much chance I’ll be anywhere near the Bondi markets this winter ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Paula Parisotto

    I L-O-V-E a statement piece!
    Paula
    stylist & statement piece lover

    • astimegoesbuy

      Me too!
      Love to make a statement. The Fashion Mister says, “lot’s of statements”. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Would just like to find a great one that was reasonably priced and not already being worn by 4 million people!
      Don’t want my statement to say “I’m a follower who can’t be original”!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Laura (whoplannedthis)

    I am totally on board with statement necklaces, I am discovering how critical quality statement pieces are in a stylish wardrobe! … but probably not the collar necklace ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Laura! Welcome back!
      You have realised how critical statement pieces are!
      I did see your post about getting into jewelry sales and even checked out some of the things you carry!
      Lot’s of great pieces there!!
      How lucky for you if you get to test drive them. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Dana Cristina

    Wow!!!! Now that’s what I call a statement necklace! I love it! It’s fantastic. Also i like sooo much the Nordstrom & Macy’s ones! Ah…. can’t get over Rachel Zoe’s statement necklace. Too much of a statement & probably too expensive, but I’d wear it if I had it even only for breakfast. Lol! XOXO

    • astimegoesbuy

      I’m with you!
      I love that necklace. I’ve seen a pic with Padma (from Top Chef) wearing it but turned at an angle so it’s more worn over the shoulder and it still looks amazing.
      It’s probably a little to flash for my town but I could wear it with the pjs. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Fulfilling My Lust Have List – The Haul – Break it Down « astimegoesbuy

    […] Lust Have – The Statement Necklace (astimegoesbuy.me) […]

  • My Lust Have List Haul – The Statement Necklace « astimegoesbuy

    […] Lust Have – The Statement Necklace (astimegoesbuy.me) […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniรฉ

โ€œFashions fade, style is eternal.โ€ โ€• Yves Saint-Laurent

