Lust Have – The 40s Vintage Inspired Dress

Next item, #4 on Lust Have list – The 40s vintage inspired dress.

Why you may ask? But if you have been following the past three months you know that I love vintage AND that I hate my knees! So the longer length of the vintage 40s dresses would be perfect for me!

After all, how could you not love these dresses from Miu Miu?! These are proper, lady-like dresses. You could wear them with heels, brogues, ankle boots and all would look equally fantastic. Thanks to the cool prints you can keep jewelry to a minimum…as most women did in the 40s, post war.

You already know there is no way I am spending my full 90 day budget on one of these, no matter how much I dream about them. So we may as well move on to see if we can find any other possibilites.

This Trashy Diva dress from Blue Velvet Vintage is pretty good at only $125. It’s got the 3/4 length sleeves. A nice modest V-neck. Fitted waist and knee-length. The busy, all over print, is not quite as sophisticated as the Miu Miu version but with navy at the base is still remains pretty and classic. I’m pretty sure I could be happy with this dress in my wardrobe.

The offering from TopShop has all the elements but at just under $100, I think it is kind of boring. It’s a great colour and you would think I could be happy with something classic but…

It’s just not grabbing me. I don’t have to have it. There is no lust factor to own it.

So the search continues.

These next two dresses are from Miss Konduct Klothing. They are a Modern Vintage Boutique, and honestly, they have some ADORABLE stuff!

Now this dress…

She’s lust worthy! Totally got the 40s vibe going on. Love the sleeve and neckline. Very flattering for my age and figure. covers the flabby upper arm and draws a little attention to the cleavage. I also like the gathering at the neckline with the bling detail. You’re going to fall off your chair at the price. Drum roll please. This little lovely is currently on sale for $99! Down from $139 which is still a great price. The down side. In this photo the dress looks a lovely wine/burgundy colour that is so hot right now, but it’s actually a rich red which means I have to pass on it. If only it were burgundy, it would be mine!

The second dress from Miss Konduct is a little bit different and maybe even leaning into the 50s style, but it was too adorable not to put on the list and share with you all. There is something a bit Cinderella about this dress. Probably the pretty little bluebirds that make me think that. The neckline is lovely and the fabric has a bit of stretch so it would be very comfortable to wear. Wouldn’t it be cute with a robins egg blue cardigan? Cost on this dress is $160. Maybe just a little too much for a dress I am not falling over myself to own, but the more I look at it the more it grows on me, so who knows by next week!

You know how much I love cruising Etsy.com. I couldn’t resist the vintage section while looking for 40s inspired dresses. You may wonder what the heck I am doing sharing this dress with you. I can here some of you asking, “Has she lost her marbles”? NO is my response! This dress is obviously a 70s style long, maxi dress, BUT it has great sleeves, a nice demure V-neck and there is gathering across the bust. All good features. And then, it hangs well. It would show off your curves but not cling and show off any bulges. The pattern is a little similar to the patterns used in the Miu Miu dresses. Okay, so you may have to squint to believe that one but, if you spent the $15 to buy this dress. Yes, I said $15! You could cut it off to the right length (probably just at or below the large flowers) and it would be perfect for an absolute bargain of a price. At that price, it is really tempting me.

Did any of these get you thinking of the 40s? Could or would you add them to your wardrobe?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

26 responses to “Lust Have – The 40s Vintage Inspired Dress

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

