Shoe Trend – Glitter Shoes

No Dorothy, you aren’t in Kansas anymore, you are on the runways of the world in Miu Miu inspired shoe trend – Glitter Shoes!

Now I have some really bad news for you who think this glitter shoe trend is so hot and fresh.

This is a pair of shoes from my wardrobe. I wore them on my wedding day to the Fashion Mister, which was nearly 5 years ago.

Hang on, it gets better.

The Fashion Mister and I were engaged for nearly two years and I purchased these about 6 months into our engagement. Which means I have owned these shoes for about 6 1/2 years.

Wait, it gets even better.

I bought them in a little pop-up shop that had dramatically reduced old stock, so even at the time they were “old” and well out of fashion.

And the absolute best bit…they only cost me $10! Marked down from an original price of $119.

Fast-forward to 2011 and Miu Miu sends out their fabulous 40s dresses with all the models wearing glitter shoes and boots and the next thing you know, glitter shoes everywhere!

This silver pair of Miu Miu open-toe platform heels can be purchased at Nordstrom. Price? Just under $750! They are a lovely shoe and I obviously get the glitter love…but that is $740 more than I paid for my pair 3/4 of a decade ago. I’m sure that if I were wearing the Miu Miu version, I feel a million bucks and look fabulous enough to fit into the glitterati set.

After all, my old pair are a not quite the most on trend version going around. There isn’t a platform, the toe is an elongated shape that is squared off, but they have a cute kitten heel!

I’ve had a look at some other options, just in case you are interested in what other styles are available. Honestly, I had a good look to see if there were any that would inspire me to trade in my wedding day wonders for something more current.

Funny thing is, I have a major infatuation with the Lita boot from Jeffery Campbell and lo-and-behold, they come in a glitter version! This pewter pair can be purchased for $160 from SoleStruck, and the shipping is free. If I had unlimited money, I would have a full selection of the Lita in my wardrobe. They must come in about 80 versions and I would gladly have any or all of them. This pair would look fantastic with jeans or a little black  dress and opaque tights.

If I hadn’t just been through my 90 days in the wilderness and already commenced a list of Lust Haves…this would be on it. Yes, I have fallen in love again! You know me well enough by now to not be surprised at that announcement.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a single pair of glitter shoes with a price as shiny as mine, however this pair from TopShop is pretty good at around $100. Especially if you are looking for something more classic than the Jeffery Campbell Lita! The classic court shoe looks a bit dowdy in this photo but the heels are 4.5″ high and rather than the silver look up close they are multi-coloured which adds a bit more fun to them.

Just to reinforce my point that the Glitter Shoe Trend really isn’t that new, this final pair of silver kitten heel shoes were found on Etsy.com under the vintage section. Also in that section were a gold glitter and leather pair from the 50s. I didn’t put them up because they were a size 5-6 and I personally don’t know a soul who would fit that sole!

So it seems, as with so many other trends happening right now, they can find themselves with their feet firmly planted (pun intended!) in the past.

I have had the old wedding shoes packed away and haven’t worn them since the big day, however, after having a closer look at the Glitter Shoe Trend, I’ve moved them to the high rotation section of my wardrobe and plan on finding a few more opportunities to wear them. I promise to share any looks with you.

Gotta get my monies worth out of them!

How would you incorporate this shoe trend into your wardrobe? Can they be more than just dressy? Or are they too much for an everyday look?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

26 responses to “Shoe Trend – Glitter Shoes

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

