Winter Maxi Skirt – Town & Country

Why I went from a city girl to winterising my maxi skirt and becoming Madame Town & Country.

I’m fairly certain you have seen every piece of this outfit in other looks, except the good old black ankle-length gum boots!

I purchased them last winter when we were invited to a morning of truffle hunting that would be followed by a 5 course lunch with a focus on truffle. We were going to be wandering about on cold wet earth and I needed something appropriate on the feet. As I am not NOT a camping girl, I rushed out to Target, spent a whole $10 on something I was pretty sure I wouldn’t wear again. Little did I know that one year on I would be building a look around being able to wear those ugly old boots again.

Really! It’s true. I know I hardly believe it myself!

But here’s the deal. I was invited to a colleagues 40th birthday celebrations at a place called The Tangled Maze. As it was the start of winter and we were going to be traipsing around a hedge maze, I went with a winter version of the maxi skirt look and made sure it worked in both town & country.

Originally, I had been thinking of wearing either one of my pairs of cowboy boots or my brown suede boots (and a whole different look) but then Mother Nature spent two days watering the lawns and I didn’t want to ruin my boots so I began formulating a plan B. If it had kept raining I could have stuck to plan A but the clear blue skies and relatively mild winter day meant there was no excuse to getting out into the maze…so plan B…gum boots.

But how to make gum boots stylish was the million dollar question and then I had a flash!

It started simply. My gum boots were black. (see, I told you simple) So build a look as if they were any other black boots. Okay, it’s going to be a bit cold out. I’ll need a jacket. Enter the black leather varsity style jacket. Layers are good when it’s cold, how about my thick black leggings underneath. Good, good, but I couldn’t stop at a jacket and leggings! How about something a little unexpected? (even more unexpected than me in gum boots!) Gee, I do like that mustard coloured maxi skirt but it’s too long for wandering in the hedges, the hem will get soaked.

Another flash!

What if I raise the hem like I did for the anniversary dinner with the Fashion Mister?! That would keep it from dragging on the ground and getting wet. Starting to like this…

Finish it off with the pale yellow Ralph Lauren cashmere sweater, some pearls for a bit more of the town & country reference. Be sure to take the leopard print scarf and Mulberry bag just in case you run into any wild animals while wandering the maze. And just because your feet are forever cold, go for the ultimate in unexpected and wear a pair of mustard coloured socks!

Ta-da! Winter Maxi Skirt goes Town & Country. Simply ah-maze-ing!

It’s not a look I would wear every day, but if I ditched the socks and gum boots and just put on my leopard print kitten heels it would be something that I would wear again.

So, was it too much? Did I go past style to stupid? Or do you think it works?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

9 responses to “Winter Maxi Skirt – Town & Country

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

