The Plaid Trend 2012 – My Way

I thought I should share with you how I have embraced the plaid trend in my wardrobe. Here it is, Tartan…I did it my way!

Plaid Trend – Working It! – I wear this look or something very similar to work pretty regularly. You may remember me talking about this skirt when I was sharing all my vintage skirts. It’s a great length for work, hitting just at the knee and the pockets are handy for carrying a few extra items I need while running around the hospital. I have matched my vintage plaid skirt up with a lacy mustard coloured shirt from Glassons to bring out the bright mustardy colour in the plaid. This office look gets a bit of a 70s feel with the tan coloured fish net stockings and the brown suede boots. The boho necklace, brown leather handbag and bangles add to the retro vibe. Just to keep it a little modern I have added in my leopard print scarf and the classic tan trench coat.

Rockin’ the Plaid Trend – I have to admit, I can’t decide if this look leans too much to country or gangster?! But I kind of like it either way! The plaid shirt is from Cotton On, purchased last year. It’s worn over one of my many white button-down shirts. The rock vibe comes from the black leather pants, red laser-cut suede ankle boots and the leopard print Mulberry handbag. Rather than use a necklace I have tied a bandana scarf around the neck and it’s this piece that is giving it the country/gangster feel. I would probably wear the look but change out the scarf for a few black beaded necklaces.

Chic City Plaid – I LOVE this Tommy Hilfiger plaid shift dress! It was purchased back in the summer at the outlet shop and I have already worn it a few times this winter. For this look I was thinking how would I do plaid if I were headed to Melbourne for the weekend? Of course I had to do it my way which meant adding the red cowboy boots! I’ve layered the dress over a grey ribbed light weight jumper/sweater and black leggings. Besides accessorizing with the cowboy boots I have used my old trusty red Guess handbag (because I can fit a small umbrella and my black mac inside should it start to rain), some long red leather gloves, my favourite white watch and the scarab necklace I shared with you in the Bug Trend post.

So now that you have seen the Plaid Trend done my way…how are you doing plaid?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “The Plaid Trend 2012 – My Way

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

