My Lust Have List Haul – The 40s Dress

I shared with you My Lust Have List and then an overview of the Haul post my 90 days of no shopping. Now I thought I would share some of the items more specifically. Starting with the 40s Dress.

Yes, that was my little lovely right in the middle of all the photos. You may recall it was the Miu Miu vintage dresses that inspired me.

I thought with the current trend toward vintage it would be easy to find the right dress for me. I was wrong. If I found a style I liked, it wasn’t available in a colour I liked. When I found a great colour it just wasn’t quite the vibe I was looking for. So I thought “if I can’t find it new, go vintage”! And off I went to search online starting with Etsy.com. You know by now it is one of my favourite places to look for unusual pieces and great vintage looks.

My first look revealed nothing. But I am persistent! I went back online a couple of days later…and…nothing again.

I tried one more time nearly a week later. And there she was! The perfect dress. True 1940s piece/style, peplum that is so trendy right now, great and versatile colour, adorable little “island” print, perfect with my new pink accessories!

Seriously, my heart fluttered!

She was listed at $165 which was a little over my set budget but I had done so well with some of the other items I knew I would have her. Honestly, I didn’t care much about the budget.

My little lovely 40s Dress was the last of the Haul to arrive but she is definitely one of my favourites.

40s with a Pop of Pink – As yesterday was National Pink Day, and I have recently fallen in love with pink and splurged on a couple of great pink accessories, I decided to play up the pink in the pattern of the dress for this first look. I have used the vintage pink handbag and fuchsia Novo wedges also purchased in this Haul and added in a long beaded necklace and some silver bracelets with my purple jade bangles. I think the pink lightens the grey and makes this a great Spring appropriate look. Even though Spring is still a few months away. I’m even thinking this could be a good look for Oaks Day, which is Ladies Day at the Spring Racing Carnival. Just need to find the right hat!

Real 40s Style – With this second look I wanted to stay a little more true to the 40s look with the styling. So I used my favourite 40s style shoes, pearl jewelry (multiple necklaces and bracelets) and added my new black quilted bag also purchased in the 90 Day Haul.

This look is a bit more sedate and in-keeping with the original post-war looks of the 40s. I’ll try to find a reason to frock up in the near future so you can see how great this dress looks on!

Although I am extremely happy with all the items I purchased on the Lust Have List Haul, it’s this 40s Dress that I am most pleased about.

So, what do you think? A good buy or should I have said good-bye?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “My Lust Have List Haul – The 40s Dress

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

