National Rose Month – we prune in june

You know when you have a thought that sticks in your head for no apparent reason? Today I have one of those thoughts.

Here it is getting on to the end of June and for the 8th consecutive  year I have NOT had a chance to follow the gardening rule “we prune in June”. I don’t think I would mind but I have found out that June is also National Rose Month in the US and it almost seems like Mother Nature is trying to give me a big kick up the bum!

Now I can grow roses…this is one of mine…but really, anyone can grow roses. They are far easier than most other flowers. You wouldn’t think something that comes with its own spikes was wimpy or delicate would you?

My problem seems to be that June is cold here in the Southern Hemisphere and I tend to hibernate as the days get shorter. Then next thing I know it’s July/August and I am running around trying to get the roses pruned. Which then means they are at their best bloom in mid-late November and we are typically away on holiday.

I am going to intentionally leave the roses this year because we are holidaying sooner and will actually be home mid-November.

So for once, my procrastination pays off!

In the mean time, I have spent a little time on Pinterest “pinning” my little heart out, so I’ll share some lovely rose inspired images with you. Feel free to check out the complete board here.

I love this image. How dark and moody and so much of another era is it? The black rose fascinator is both delicate and tough. Wouldn’t you kill for beautiful skin like the model?

And if you are the kind of girl who likes your roses to come with a lot of drama…this dress should do it for you! Gorgeous! Again, soft and feminine but with enough black to keep it from feeling too girlie. You know I am not a girlie-girl so this dress would be perfect for me…if I had the kind of life that required a dress like that!

I have a serious crush on this dress my Australian designer Alex Perry. The midi-length, body-con with the retro floral and sporty colour-blocking strip down the sides hits on so many current trends that it isn’t even funny. In fact, I love this dress so much had I looked anything as good as the model in it I might have spent the arm and leg to purchase it.

If you want your roses to be intense and modern, this skirt from designer Peter Som S/S 2012 might be what you are looking for. The colour is so bright and beautiful you would demand attention in any crowd. It’s actually this skirt that got me thinking about roses in the first place!

It’s roses in this form that keeps me from being able to look good in the Alex Perry dress! I think this cake covered in iced rose petals is perhaps one of the prettiest cakes I have ever seen. Can you imagine stopping at a friends for afternoon tea and she whips this up?! She’d be my best friend forever!

(tomorrow I will share a couple more rose food pics and my favourite rose cocktail so stayed tuned!)

I couldn’t wrap up a tribute to National Rose Month without sharing this pic. A little reminder of how lovely the roses will be in October/November if I can remember the “we prune in June” rule! I like the vintage feel of this rose print and the taupe gingham shirt is a nice way to mix prints in a very subtle manner. Adding in that taupe jacket would make this a lovely look for the office. Especially with some nude pumps.

Well, that’s it for my National Rose Month tribute. Yes, I did manage to prune down my rose photos for you so check out my Pinterest board if you want to see more!

And if you are in the Southern Hemisphere have you remembered that we prune in June? Or will your roses be late bloomers like mine?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

16 responses to “National Rose Month – we prune in june

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

