National Rose Month – My Way

June was National Rose Month in the US and the 23rd was National Pink Day and even though I am not in the US, I thought I would use that as inspiration to look at it My Way.

I could go all floral but we did that a bit yesterday so in honour of National Rose Month and National Pink Day, I decided to channel my inner rose and work with pink.

I love these three pink short suits but mostly I love the bright pink of the middle suit and the classic style of the one on the right. I think the third one would be fantastic to wear to work if you were in an office that had great fashion sense. Of course I would have to wear it with heels…because I love a good heel. But a wedge heel, to maintain that summery feel.

Pink Party – As you probably remember, I’m having a hardcore crush on pink right now and purchased the handbag, scarf and hot pink wedges in my recent 90-day Haul. I decided to go totally girlie by using them all in one outfit with a shimmery pink skater dress. You’ll also recall, I’m not a huge fan of my knees and as a skater skirt comes nowhere near my knees, leggings were in order! I used the black leggings to provide a bit of contrast to all the pink, so it would pop. I only added a simple vintage teardrop necklace and a few silver and lavender bangles to complete the look.

In the close up photo you can see the shimmer in the dress. I’m not convinced I could wear all that pink at one time but if I changed out the handbag for a black one, I could do it. Or changed the pink wedges for my black Jeffery Campbell wedges, which would make my legs look forever long, that would be more me too.

Spring in Your Step – This second look also uses the hot pink wedges and the pink handbag. The white eyelet lace dress is from Glassons and pairs up really well with the pink and green paisley leggings that I purchased months ago from River Island. Again I have just used some simple pink and lavender jewelry to keep the focus on the outfit but finish it off. I am looking forward to wearing this look in the Spring and think it would be really cute with a pink or lime green cardigan. Kind of girlie and kookie but definitely fun!

Vintage Pink – For those of you who wanted to see the vintage 40s dress I purchased from Etsy.com in the 90-day Haul actually being worn…ta-da! The styling is the same as in the feature post it just is making its debut on a live model…me.

I you may recall, I fell in love with this dress, the price was close to budget and as it is a true 40s vintage piece I was lucky to find it in a size that worked for me. Two things worked in my favour…it has dolmen sleeves which help to accommodate a larger bust and therefore the waist wasn’t the standard 23 inch waist that was considered “large” back in the 40s! In fact the waist was too big and I have had to take it to a seamstress to get the waist taken in so it fits properly. You can’t really tell from the photos but the peplum is a fishtail peplum so longer as it makes its way to the back and oh so flattering!

As pink is a new colour crush for me I don’t have pink jewelry so have gone with lavender and silver with this look. I’m actually quite happy not to have pink jewelry because I think it might get just a bit too matchy or girlie for my style.

I’m sorry if you thought I might spend this time focusing on rose prints in honour of National Rose Month. Floral is just not really my style. But I do love a gorgeous pink rose and thought by honouring pink my way you might forgive me!

Now, I’m can’t wait to hear what you all think about the dress I have gone on and on about?!

Please, do tell! Honest answers only!

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

10 responses to “National Rose Month – My Way

  • bpreethi

    Love the dress, and lovee the new look your blog has gotten too 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Preethi!
      I love the dress too, very flattering and the print gives it a little bit of fun. 🙂
      And thanks for the feed back on the remodel of the blog.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Paula Parisotto

    very creative Laura!

    Paula

  • fashionmasher

    Wow you’ve done a great job with your vintage dress it looks gorgeous!
    And those pink shorts suits are divine – I definitely wear long shorts for work with a tailored shirt (check out Day 52) but you’re right, heels do make the look much smarter. I just love that suit in the middle and am inspired to try out some shorts and jacket action in summer.
    Oh I had an idea for all your pink with black tights – a little black belt and black beads do the trick, too (I tried it Day 69 when my pink milkshake dress was just too much pink!)

    • astimegoesbuy

      Ceara, I think I am going to need to get back to some of your older posts and see what fashion inspiration I can find!
      I like your black belt and beads for the pink look. I also thought about adding the black leather jacket to toughen it up a bit.
      I’m totally loving the shorts for work look. I know I can get away with it in the winter with tights, just not sure if I can get away with it in the summer?!
      Thanks for the comments on the vintage dress, it is so yummy and I feel great in it. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ArbitraryAmbrosia

    Lovely post. I really like your second look with the eyelet and pink purse and wedges. Fun and feminine.

  • susanstylesyou

    Love the vintage dress with the pop of hot pink!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

