Red, White and Blue – Patriotic Inspiration – My Way

All this focus on red, white and blue got me inspired to pull together a couple of looks from my own wardrobe. So here it is, patriotic inspiration done my way!

Red, White & Blue – It Just Works! – I wanted to style a chic red, white and blue look that could be worn to the office. Pencil skirt – check, crisp white button-down shirt – check, patriotic chic from head to toe – double-check! I have added my red Target trench coat, one of my newly acquired vintage scarves, my chunky white watch, a clear red envelope clutch (more about this tomorrow), and the fiercest navy blue satin pumps I have ever owned…okay, they are the only navy blue pumps I have ever owned…but they are still FIERCE! I could also wear this look while working as a stewardess on an intercontinental flight. Or perhaps to the opening ceremonies of the Olympic games later this month. See, that’s how versatile this look is! Silly comments aside, I do like this look and will be wearing it to work, however, probably with flatter shoes or on a day when I don’t have to spend a lot of time running around the hospital.

Red, White & Blue – Relaxed Borders – This look is a little more relaxed. You could still wear it to any number of places of business but the denim jacket means I’ll be wearing it on days off, out to lunch with the girls or dinner with the Fashion Mister. In this look – One white t-shirt, one denim jacket (vintage), one pair of red skinny jeans, red sling-back kitten heels, vintage red, white and blue scarf, white portfolio bag (again, more on this tomorrow) and one chunky white watch. Sounds like a recipe for one great look!

Red, White & Blue – Summer Lovin’ – Let’s just say that if it were summer, I’d be lovin’ it! We have gotten past the winter solstice so the days are getting longer…just not yet warmer. However, when they are warmer, I’ll be looking at wearing this outfit. Pretty sure I’ll get some odd looks because of the red cowboy boots…but I don’t care! I think it’s a cute and fun look. And, because I can’t help myself, I have to tell you what a bargain the whole look was. White Country Road shorts – on sale $15. Blue and white striped racer-back tank top – free with purchase of Harpers Bazaar! Red cable knit sweater – on sale Cold Water Creek $25. Vintage scarf as throughout – part of the 26 I got in the lust have haul. White chunky watch – purchased in Hong Kong for less than $20. Red Guess handbag – not so cheap but purchased about 5 years ago and still getting used regularly so cost per wear – bargain! Red cowboy boots from Shepler.com – again, not so cheap but reasonable – worn at least a million times so cost per wear next to nothing!

My red, white and blue patriotic inspirations are varied enough they can be worn everywhere…not just the 4th of July or boating.

What do you think of this classic combination? Do you wear it? How?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

14 responses to “Red, White and Blue – Patriotic Inspiration – My Way

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

