Looking Cool Wearing Winter Knits

Yes, I know for those of you in the Northern Hemisphere it is the middle of summer but for those of us in the Southern Hemisphere we are well focused on how to look cool while wearing our winter knits.

My friends back in the USA think it’s all “out-back” and “Uluru” here in Australia. But down here in Victoria it gets cold! Really cold. How many layers can I wear, man it’s frigid outside, cold!

I have to confess though, I picked living in this part of Australia in part for the simple fact that there are four seasons. I have always lived somewhere with four seasons and even though I complain about the extremes, I like being able to buy boots, scarves and sweaters (jumpers) for the colder weather.

Of course the real trick is being able to still look good with all those layers on! The good thing is, everyone else is struggling with the same challenge.

Lately I have been both drawn to red and the belted cardigan look so this look is definitely one that I would wear. I can see myself doing this look with jeans, a long shirt, a big granny cardigan (belted of course), then finishing with a knitted scarf and my red cowboy boots! Totally cool and right in line with my style aesthetic.

What I like about this look with jeans, boots and the big sweater is that the sweater is roomy enough to have another layer or two on underneath. When I am out at the op-shops and vintage shops, I tend to look for sweaters that are a size too big so they remain comfortable over another layer.

This tonal look is cool. Of course around here you would have to have some tights on to truly stay warm. But I like the tone on tone and texture thing that is going on and think it looks pretty chic. Certainly if you were going out in the cold winter weather but wanted to make sure you looked fantastic this would be a great way to do it. It could work with any colour. I happen to like this winter white look in part because it would stand out amongst the sea of black usually found in the city.

You may recall me mentioning my love of unusual shirt sleeves and cuffs. Which is probably why I am so drawn to this beautiful yellow/green knit with the extremely long sleeves. Well I assume it has long sleeves as it appears fitted at the elbow and then there is a lot of bunching up going on. It almost makes me think that I could take up knitting and never worry about making the sleeves too long because it could be my winter trademark! My hands are forever cold in the winter so this sweater would surely keep my fingers warm and toasty.

I wore and outfit similar to this shorts and sweater look, to work last week. I’m sure about 30 people gave me the once over. There were a few comments from my colleagues. Mostly regarding the burnt orange knitted tights I was wearing! The knitters all loved my oversized hand-knitted sweater and one of the guys from work thought I looked like I was going on safari…perhaps the hiking boots I was wearing confused him?

Anyway, I probably won’t wear that specific look to work again, but I’ll find another way to look cool while wearing my winter knits!

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

26 responses to “Looking Cool Wearing Winter Knits

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

