Bastille Day Inspiration – Tickling Your French Fancy

La qautorze Juillet! Happy Bastille Day!

Are you ready to tickle your french fancy with more red, white and blue inspiration? After all, this is “Blue”berry Month! Just 10 days ago we were looking at red, white and blue to celebrate the USA, now we will tickle our fancy, french style.

I like that these pillows allow you to show a little national pride and that the colours are a bit muted. Of course I am mostly fond of the Australian and American flags but to each their own. Obviously today it’s all about the French lessons!

Funny thing, I took two years of French in high school, because everybody was taking Spanish and I didn’t want to be everybody. I can barely remember most of what I learned and now have a better grasp of Spanish than French!

While considering Bastille Day Inspirations these gowns seemed to be a perfect match. Not only are they red, white and blue but they evoke Marie Antoinette. Tight bodice, full skirts, a life of luxury. Is it no wonder the people rebelled? They wanted it too! So we now believe that madame Marie didn’t say, “Let them eat cake” and I don’t think that should be a surprise…I mean seriously…how could you indulge in cake and still fit in those corsetted dresses?!

If you don’t want your Bastille Day inspiration to come from the decadence of Marie Antoinette then you can always be inspired by the clean, crisp freshness of a french farmhouse done in red, white and blue. This farmhouse bedroom is lovely. Simple and chic with its white backdrop showing off the hints of colour. I totally love the denim coloured linens. And I’m an absolute sucker for the thought of having a lazy cup of tea in bed while reading. It’s decadence on a more personal level.

If you are like me and not the brightest little bunny in the morning you may find you can tickle your french fancy later in the day with some lovely cheese and grapes. Of course if it’s after 12:00 you can have a nice glass of french wine with that!

In about three months the Fashion Mister and I are heading to Spain for holiday. We are planning to spend a few days in the South of France near the start of the trip. Predominately to try the wine and because friends say the South of France is amazing. I’m thinking I could live on bread, cheese and wine for a few days!

Did any of this tickle your french fancy?

I think Bastille Day has inspired me to open a bottle of red with dinner tonight!

Vive la France!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

19 responses to “Bastille Day Inspiration – Tickling Your French Fancy

  • Miss Ayo Délé

    Hello,
    Nice to see France on top of your blog.

    In fact it’s Le 14 juillet and there are plenty of things organised in the whole country, festivals, fireworks, celebrations, parades, dances, bals, shows, many things to do. It will be amazing tomorrow.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I have to give respect to the French!
      They are part of the red, white and blue club. 🙂
      And to me Bastille Day was about the people standing up for themselves.
      A very imporatant lesson they then helped the USA figure out in their own independence.
      Besides…the fashion, food and wine!
      You have to love it! 🙂
      Have fun celebrating!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Oster's Mom

    I just bought a French red wine this morning to celebrate! Love the cheese platter.

    • astimegoesbuy

      The cheese platter idea is too cute and so simple (which is what I really like about it!).
      One of our local chef’s is french and classically trained. Every year he does a Bastille Day dinner menu.
      We are going with a friend and will indulge on fabulous french food and wine. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Karen Berthine

    The cheese & grapes got my attention! What a combo!

    • astimegoesbuy

      It looks yum doesn’t karen?!
      And such a cute easy idea for entertaining.
      I like to keep it simple. I’m having some ladies over for a mid-winter clothing sway next week and I am going to use that for them with some champagne?sparkling (since I won’t be buying it from the Champagne region 🙂 ).
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Penny

    Great sense of humour and style. Where did you get your pics for the Bastille day post? Very well illustrated. Good read but I love images!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Penny,
      As I had already proved to everyone yesterday that I am a geek it’s easy to continue just being myself. 🙂
      I have saved all the pics to my Pinterest account. Many are there and some I have saved to there from other locations.
      If you check them out on Pinterest you should be able to link back to the originals.
      Cheers,
      Laura
      p.s. You’ll find I have saved tons of pics, I just collect things that I find eye catching or that are appropriate for topics that I want to explore more. 🙂

  • emmainaus

    I used to live in France before I lived in Australia. You’re making me miss my last home! When you’re down south, make sure you check out Marseille, even though many people will tell you it isn’t that great. Many tourists seem against it. I love it! It’s bustling and gorgeous on a sunny day. Check out Château d’If for the the best photos!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks for the tips Emma!
      It’s always nice to hear about places from people in the know.
      I’ll pass the info on the Fashion Mister, he’s in charge of the detailed planning.
      I’m only in charge of collecting recommendations and booking reservations at the restaurants that I wouldn’t want to miss.
      Please feel free to share any suggestions, any time!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • KristySamone

    I love this post! Very thorough! You always do such a great job.:) I’m doing a mini post tomorrow on Bastille Day:)

  • spashionistareport

    If you have time visit one of the perfumeries in Grasse. They used to offer custom-blended perfumes tailored specifically to your tastes. My aunt worked in one for many years. It’s been a while since I’ve been but hopefully you can still have this done.

  • pillowsalamode

    I want that bedroom!!! And those cushions!!! 🙂

  • ethelthedean

    Beautiful, beautiful post. These never fail to leave me inspired! (And I may or may not want to dye my hair white blond now…)

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

