Inspiring Winter Knits – My Way

It’s still Winter in the Southern Hemisphere, and it’s still cold. So I am still living in my winter knits.

Sometimes my looks are inspiring and sometimes they are just warm!

I put together this collection of photos from other posts just to have a look at some of my winter knits and how I have been inspired to put them together.

You may not have seen the knitted column dress that was part of my Lust Have Haul (second from left at top), it’s a great classic look with the Hermes style scarf and the vintage handbag. The others you will remember from Tangerine Tango, Rock Chic, Jeanious, Plaid and LBD 7 Looks x 7 Days and a few others. I think it’s good to have a look back now and again because I get reinspired. Sometimes you can get so busy with the day-to-day that a great look can get forgotten.

One of the nice things about doing this blog is that I have a record of lots of great looks that I have put together over the past 4 months. And you know, when you become a woman of a “certain age” you need some reminding now and again!

Winter Safari – This is the look I mentioned previously. The one that I had worn to work that got a lot of once overs and comments regarding going on safari.

I still don’t get the safari thing but I can kind of see where there could be some kind of “expedition” look going on.

The jumper/sweater is the one the Fashion Mister bought for me in Tasmania on our first holiday away together and although I don’t wear it often – it’s a VERY warm jumper – I do love it. The shorts are from Boohoo.com. They have some great basics at really good prices and they deliver to Australia so I have them bookmarked! I wore the burnt orange tights – it is winter after all, and then added the high-heeled hiking boots, leather handbag (also from Tasmania – the Salamanca Market in Hobart) and my large scarab beetle necklace from Egypt.

The jumper is about a size too big which makes it great for layering. Because it is pure wool I tend to wear a long-sleeved t-shirt underneath.

I think it’s the hiking boots and the scarab that make me think about being on an expedition. Sort of Indiana Jones and the Great Shopping Temple of Doom!

Anyway, I was warm while at work and I will wear this look again. Maybe not to work but it will see the light of day on another more appropriate outing.

Winter Sparkler – I really like this neutral coloured jumper – sweater. It goes with almost everything I own and because it has just enough sparkle thanks to the sequins it can be dressed up or down.

I recently wore this look to work without the statement necklace, cocktail ring and half the stack of bracelets. I also wore black herringbone tights to cover the legs and keep warm.

It really is an easy and flattering look to wear. Black t-shirt underneath – you could be dressier and wear a chiffon black blouse with the dolmen sleeved sparkler over top. The dolmen sleeves are highlighted by how fitted the lower half of the sleeves are, which makes for a nice detail. Because the overall fit of the jumper is so big I belted it which gives it a nice peplum effect which is so popular right now. And if you are a curvy girl with a little bit of a tummy it is great camouflage!

The tweed pencil skirt is one I had made when we were in Hong Kong last October and it fits perfectly. The extras are the statement necklace from my Lust Have Haul, a stack of gold and black bracelets, an amber coloured cocktail ring and a cream and taupe clutch. Of course the look is finished off with my tri-toned vintage inspired shoes from Zola. I get so many compliments when I wear those shoes and they are just the right height heel to look great and be comfortable.

Did any of these winter knits inspire you? If you’re on the northern half of the planet, you may be boiling now, but remember – winter is on its way!

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “Inspiring Winter Knits – My Way

  • Paula Parisotto

    Love look 2! Neutral yet stylish due to all of the texture. The black belt draws the eye to a tiny waist and the classic touches tame the sheen. Nice job!
    Paula
    stylist & stiletto maven

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Madame Stiletto Maven!
      I like that look too, it just feels good. You know when you have one of those outfits that just make you feel good about yourself? I walked around work all day like I owned the world. 🙂 Although I think if I had the money I would buy a different one. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        Isn’t it amazing the affect clothing choices have on our psyche?

      • astimegoesbuy

        It definitely is. If I have on well made clothes that fit well and that I feel good in, then I am in a good mood. If I have on something that doesn’t quite seem like me or my style then I feel akward all day. God forbid I am wearing something that makes me feel fat or old!! 🙂 G-R-U-M-P-Y!!!

  • Carr Party of Five

    Dear L,
    I want your your fashion savvy.
    I will just keep watching and learning.
    🙂
    Love,
    L
    xoxox

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Lis!
      That is very sweet of you.
      I am lucky that my mum gave me a sense of colour and balance based around art and I have watched every episode of the original British version of “What Not to Wear” over the past 10 years! Plus I am just pig-headed and know what I like. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • pillowsalamode

    What lovely outfits! You have a real gift for this. 🙂

  • helpfulannalisa

    yes, those shoes are compliment worthy…smiles!!

  • thewhitetrashgourmet

    Wish I could share shoes with you. We have very similar taste. And I’m jealous of your summer winter. It was so hot today I melted.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I was going to share shoes with you until you said you melted…that was a deal breaker…no melting in my shoes!
      If I am around a fire I don’t mind the cold so much…or busy running around at work but it sure keeps me from getting out and about much.
      Too bad we can’t split the difference and both be happy. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Greta

    Wow, you are one chic lady, Laura.
    I love your sense of styling! Really inspiring!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Greta!
      That is very sweet of you. 🙂
      I have to admit, I have great fun planning my outfits.
      Even for work everyone likes to check out what I’m wearing, so now I have a reputation to live up to!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Christel

    Well it’s summer here in Holland but it feels like late fall! The weather is still so cold and it’s raining a lot! So this post totally fits the weather here as well;)

  • ethelthedean

    You look fab lady! I adore the sweater + shorts + socks look. So chic. Rock it out!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Misses!
      You are such a sweetie. 🙂
      I don’t mind being a little quirky and different than those around me.
      They may not get my looks but I certainly read enough blogs here in the blogosphere to know the look was inspired! 🙂

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

