Wardrobe Essential – Blazing a Trail My Way

While I am sharing this most important wardrobe essential with you, I thought I’d also share how I go about blazing a trail my way.

Which really means, let’s have a look at some ways to wear the wardrobe essential blazer!

Previous Trail Blazing Looks

You would have seen these first four looks in previous My Way articles on “Blue”berry, Black & White, Business Trip Packing and Jeany in a Bottle (my tie-dye DIY).

Trail Blazing in Brown and Lime

I have used my retro 60s style blazer with the funky brown and lime green print as the focus of this look. Layering a long-sleeved brown t-shirt under a lime green sweater vest and then topping it off with the blazer. The bottom half is my thrift store maxi length brown skirt and my brown sued boots. The handbag is neutral, by Coach and the necklace is from my Lust Have – Statement necklace haul. It’s a good look for both work and casual and is one of those outfits that I wear all the time because it works for so many occasions.

Hot Pink Blazing Bright

For this look I have used the black Ralph Lauren pants from the wardrobe essentials with a pink t-shirt, the pink wedges from my Lust-Have Haul (they were bonuses), the black handbag also from the  10 wardrobe essentials, and my Marni inspired $5 vintage find blazer! The look is completed with a beaded necklace, purple suede belt and some bracelets.

Blazing a Corporate Trail

This suit is the charcoal grey with pin-stripe suit I had made in Hong Kong. Rather than wear it with a white button-down, I like to take a little of the corporate out of the look by wearing it with a denim shirt. I’d never get away with wearing blue jeans to work so this is my way to slip it in. Adding in the turquoise jewelry keeps the look more relaxed and wearing the heeled ankle boot rather than stilettos works well for the currently colder days here in the Southern Hemisphere.

Blazing Street Style

Just in case you need a little more inspiration on how to style your blazers and to make sure you are getting maximum potential out of this wardrobe essential, I thought I would include these inspiring looks from fashionistas around the world.

Are you a fashion trail blazer? Or are you just learning how to dress in a blaze of glory?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

12 responses to “Wardrobe Essential – Blazing a Trail My Way

  • Oster's Mom

    I own three blazers:
    A great fitting light pink one
    A great fitting denim one
    and an OK black one

    After reading this, I need to buy a whole sleuth of them.
    Love this post.

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      I think you have a pretty good start!
      Seems I just gravitate to them. If I find them on sale I just can’t resist. 🙂
      Your OK black one can always be worn over jumpers/sweaters in the cooler months for a more layered yet classic look.
      I have a feeling there is either a pink or floral one on my horizon for Spring here is the Southern Hemisphere.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • iamkaturah

    I stupidly and impulsively bought a hot pink blazer the other day. Not quite sure how to style it though. Also requires lots of confidence. Do you know if sos sells that? 😉
    Another great post!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Oh! I would love a hot pink blazer!
      Roll up the sleeves and wear it like any other blazer…
      …jeans and a white t-shirt…skinny jeans and a floral top…
      over a nude colored dress…or a black one.
      I don’t think ASOS sells swagger but I think TopShop does! It may even be on sale this week. 🙂
      I’m thinking you’ll look great!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Valentina

    Styles of different eras can be matched in an attractive way, or reinvented to suit one’s needs, it is only matter of having courage to dare. I am glad you do, I do as well.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I think it’s important to keep challenging ourselves and that includes with fashion.
      If we keep our style true at the core it can be quite fun to play with different looks.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Ms B. BAD

    im obsessed with blazers!!

  • ethelthedean

    I seriously, seriously love it. And those pants on the part right of the first photo slay me. SLAY!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

