Death Wish? – Skull Accessories

While looking around yesterday for the best price on the Alexander McQueen Skull Scarf, I noticed there seems to be a lot of attention on skull accessories. Is this a death wish, the morning of something lost or just a way to celebrate life?!

Whatever the reason skulls and bones are covering everything from jewelry to clothing. So I thought I would round-up a few accessories to help quench your fashion obsession with the dark side.

These cute metal hair ties are from Chictopia and are the perfect way to show off your death wish without scaring everyone around you!

Would it be too weird to admit that I kind of like this bronze skull necklace from Frank and Doll? It’s 25 pounds sterling or less than $40 and it has a bit of a bohemian/gypsy vibe about it.

This silver and black ring is also from Frank and Doll. Cost about 45 pounds sterling / under $70 AUD. Just in case you like your dark side to have a bit of bling!

Now if you want to spend as much as you might on a full price Alexander McQueen scarf but you want your skulls to remain subtle then this silver skull wallet chain from The Great Frog will not only crack open your skull obsession but break the bank at 550 pounds sterling or about $800 AUD!

I think I’d have to be a bit more in your skull face and less expensive. 🙂

If you just don’t think you can live without a skull bracelet then I would recommend going with this one from Kekugi on Etsy.com. It may be a mans bracelet but with a stack of other bones bracelets it would look equally nice on a woman. And at only $23 USD it’s a bargain comparatively!

If you really want to go macabre, these bronze skull earrings with hinged jaws will show off your wicked, wicked ways without breaking the bank. You can get them at WunderkammerCulture, also on Etsy.com and are on sale for $10.50 USD!

I think I have fulfilled my death wish by finding all these skull accessories. Would you were any of them? I know if someone gave me one of the McQueen skull clutches I would take it and run! But I don’t think I will be embracing this trend any time soon.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

20 responses to “Death Wish? – Skull Accessories

  • Cal

    I wondered the same thing as I coveted a Me & Ro skull necklace and couldn’t understand why. After reading about it, I chose the interpretation that dictates the skull as a reminder of our mortality; that we will not be here forever, and to remember to live each day to it’s fullest, be kind to one another, always extend a hand to those in need. Go skulls!

    • astimegoesbuy

      That must be why there is that attraction to them that you just can’t explain. Sometimes I am reminded of all the Day of the Dead (dia de muerte) celebrations and all the colour and and party that goes with it. Anything that reminds us to live every day and to be nice to each other is a very good thing! I’m looking for jus the right bracelet with a skull or skulls on it.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • RiverCityFashion

    I *love* dark accessories – I absolutely adore skulls and bones and spikes and the like 🙂 And having that little, hidden piece of subversion at work or at girly events 🙂

  • loveballerinas

    I love skull accessories! I think they add ‘attitude’ to an outfit and you can wear them in so many different ways. I think I like the necklace most of all, looks like a Pirates of the Caribbean amulet 🙂

  • angeldawnkris

    I love skulls and ty for featuring my blog!!

  • cecylia

    i LOVE the hairties!! Too bad I can’t wear them 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      My hair has been short for about 5 years now and is just getting long enough to pull back.
      I’ve been thinking as Spring comes I’ll just use a few of my many scarves to tie my hair back, if I need to.
      I like a pretty hair tie. Will never wear a scrunchie again! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • mylifeisthebestlife

    I immediately fell in love with the skull bracelet. Of course. Because I could either own that bracelet or pay my mortgage. *sigh*

    • astimegoesbuy

      Anitka,
      If you buy the bracelet you will end up a skeleton because you won’t be able to afford to eat!
      Sad that some fantastic fashion is so unattainable.
      Which is why I try to find a wide range of options for those of money varied means.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Valentina

    This style I pass it, not for me.

  • 13coco

    Hello Laura,

    I really like your notion that the popularity of skull accessories is related to our fears and acceptances of our mortality. I own a printed skull scarf (which you helped me find!) an embroidered skull wallet, a skull detailed clutch and a bejeweled skull necklace. But, to be completely honest, I wear skull accessories because it adds an attitude to my naturally sweet-looking appearance (ah, the wonders of being petite) and the romantic-inspired outfits I typically wear (lace, eyelet, etc.).
    Thank you for this interesting article and for always visiting my blog– I love hearing from you. 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      My pleasure!
      Haven’t seen you around much but I do check in to see how you are going. 🙂
      After looking at skull scarves for you I have found that I actually like some of the accessories and you are right, they are a great way to add a bit of edge to a “sweet” look. Certainly if I found something with skulls on it I wouldn’t discount it but consider it on it’s merits.
      Sometimes I even like the whole Dia de Muerte concept about celebrating people, and their memories, even in death.
      Nice to hear from you!
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

