Thrifty Shopper – Yes, It’s a Haul Post!

Yes, I know I had every good intention of not shopping again until we left for Spain…but it’s not my fault!

I’m blaming it on My Fashion Sister from Another Mother. She’s a thrifty shopper and far be it from me to stand in her way of shopping and bringing in the haul. It just so happened that I got caught up in the bargains and ended up with a few purchases myself.

And since I am such a shopping sinner, I thought I would share with you my thrifty shopping haul.

You may remember this pic from March posts about L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival. Lee-Anne, my Fashion Sister From Another Mother and I had gone to the runway shows together as fashion is a passion we both share. And that angelic face on the right is the one that went, made, Practically held me at gunpoint until I bought bargains!

I decided to play hookey from work as the “Sister” had the day off so we could drive to Daylesford to go to a place called The Mill and have lunch. The Mill is huge, filled with antique, collectible and vintage clothing stalls. Plus they have a nice little cafe’. I needed to get away and be surrounded by interesting things so I asked my “sister” if she wanted to come with me.

She only had one request.

Little did I know, it was going to be the bullet in my will-power to resist shopping.

She wanted to stop at her favourite thrift/op shop.

As it is close to her house it was the first place we went. Not 30 seconds in the door, she held up a shirt saying, “Sister! This ‘Naked Art’ silk blouse would look lovely on you”. So to humour her I tried it on.

She was right.

So I bought it.

It was $8! How could I not? With a regular price around $150 it was a bargain…and it looked fantastic and felt great on!

Needless to say there were a few other things that went into the dressing room with me.

And most of them came out, had a ride in my car and are now at home with me too!

Black Cardigan by Lisa Ho – $7! Pink, grey and black boucle’ skirt with black chiffon underskirt (it’s meant to show) – $5.

Boucle’ jacket/blazer, (yes, another one! I seem to have a blazing fever for blazers) from Target – $6. Gordon Smith sweater vest with sparkle threads – $6.

Red Tank Top – $4. I’ve been looking for something a little different to wear under the denim jacket and with black jeans. I think this may be it…and if not it was only $4!

Jersey dress by Motto – $8. The print is lovely, the fit is great and in the Spring it will be nice with a little black shrug and either my pink or black wedges. It’s a little too long but cutting it off and hemming it will be a breeze.

There was one other item that I will share with you tomorrow.

Trust me, it’s worth the wait.

So $45 (not counting the mystery item) later and we drove over to The Mill.

After a nice lunch and a cup of coffee in the cafe’ at The Mill. The search began. Up and down the aisles we went.

We had found such great bargains at the Op Shop that we must have been shopped out because there just wasn’t really anything that we couldn’t live without.

Until…

We were on our way out and I said, “I just want to walk through this one stall”. Because in the past I have found a few good maxi skirts at this particular stall. And there it was. This lovely Kamikaze long jacket in pale pink with black trim. I tried it on, it was a perfect fit. I could think of a number of things to wear under it. Little black dress – tick. Pink, grey and black boucle’ skirt and black Lisa Ho cardigan (thanks to the earlier stop) – tick. White shirt and black trousers (thanks to my 10 essentials) – tick.

Bought, paid for, coming home with me – tick!

So my dear friends, I survived my first 90 days of no shopping but couldn’t survive setting that goal for myself again.

Am I disappointed…a little. But considering the great prices and fantastic items I got in the process…I think I’ll get over the disappointment!b After all, I was a thrifty shopper and collected an impressive haul for not a lot of money.

And when you see what the other item from the op shop was, I think you will no longer be disappointed in me either.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

27 responses to “Thrifty Shopper – Yes, It’s a Haul Post!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

