Mid-Winter Clothing Swap

I’ve been reading some great blogs from the UK and the US and realise that many of you are well into the “Slow Fashion” concept. You are shopping green by going to vintage and thrift shops and many of you are attending Clothing Swaps.

I don’t know if I am slow and they are happening in Australia but I hadn’t heard of any happening in my area so I thought I would invite some of my more stylish friends around to have a Mid-Winter Clothing Swap at my home.

Tina – on the right – has been studying and I think the excitement of new clothes may have gone straight to her head!

Sarah – centre – from the great Wardrobe Remodeling, Shelly and Kate, enjoying a chat and bubbles before checking out the clothes on offer.

The ladies inspecting the clothes and trying to decide what to try on and take home!

Sarah has found the vest I ordered from BooHoo.com when it was on sale and then decided was just too short for me but thought she might like…I was right, once she found it she wasn’t letting anyone else near it!

What I learned from the clothing swap:

  1. I have friends that have great clothes, much of which I have never seen!
  2. Give the girls a mid-week chance to have some bubbles and shop without spending a cent and much fun will be had by all!
  3. Try on things even if the size label isn’t right. There was a cute little silk top that I liked but the size was an 8 so I passed on it. Then the Fashion Sister From Another Mother (who is the same size as me) tried it on and it was a perfect fit! Guess that was her payback for the LV wallet last week!
  4. Everyone was happy for me to take the items that weren’t chosen for a new home to our favourite op-shop (where I found the LV wallet).

There were 10 of us and we have all decided it would be great fun to do again. We also talked about doing a group trip around the area one Saturday to visit some of the op-shop/thrift stores and vintage shops. There will probably be a small bus, a few bottles of bubbles and maybe lunch in there as well. I mentioned I would love for us to do a trip down to Melbourne for the day to do the same thing.

High on my list for Melbourne would be Mary Lipshutt Vintage in South Yarra. They carry such brands as Pucci, Versace, Missoni and the French brand Courreges. It would be heaven to shop there!

Now I just need to find a few other great op/thrift/vintage shops in Melbourne so we can organise the day trip.
If any of you have suggestions, please share!

The Mid-Winter clothing swap went well. Everyone went home with something new and a smile on their face. Tomorrow I’ll share a couple of picks of the clothes with a focus on the items I selected.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

24 responses to “Mid-Winter Clothing Swap

  • KristySamone

    Looks like you ladies had fun! I’ve only been two one clothing swap party and quite honestly, one of the dresses I swapped for is a wardrobe staple for me now. You’ve inspired me to host a swap meet!;)

    • astimegoesbuy

      I would say do it! We had great fun and everyone seemed really happy to get some new items. Plus if you host it you can make sure you only invite those with great style. 😉
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • shinyinlove

    That looks like such a blast! I wish I could do that. Hey wait, why couldn’t I . . . think I might have to try it.

    • astimegoesbuy

      It was great fun and that is exactly what I thought…why not do one myself!
      Would love to hear how you go with yours and any thoughts you have about organising one.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Jeni Johnson

    Wonderful idea!

  • jensine

    wow good idea sadly my friends have completely other styles to mind and are all a lot smaller … sigh

  • asterisk * photography

    Sounds like a very clever idea! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  • tammyjonesthewriter

    I love this! I’ve never heard of a clothing swap. What a great idea. I also liked the idea of the accessory swap.

    PS. Adding the bubbles is pure genius.

    Tammy of “Walking in Pretty Shoes”

    • astimegoesbuy

      Tammy,
      We all had such a great time and everyone brought nice clothes that they wanted to go to a good home.
      Lot’s of lovely things that, and the bubbles, kept everyone happy!
      Because I love op/thrift shopping and vintage anyway, it seemed like a great idea to me.
      I’ve already started thinking about what Spring items I have for the next one. 🙂 And have encouraged the ladies to consider accessories as well.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Mary Ann Williams

    You’ve inspired me again! I feel like hosting a clothing swap party now. What a great party idea!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Mary Ann,
      We had such a good time!
      I would definitely recommend it.
      Everyone was really good about bringing quality items in good condition and there were happy little faces taking their new items home!
      Let me know if you do one and how it goes. Always interested to learn from others what works. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Love & Lunchmeat

    This is such a great idea! If only I had more friends who were the exact same size. In the future, I’m going to have to be more careful about choosing friends who are the exact same height and size… 😉

    • astimegoesbuy

      Actually, we were/are all different sizes and found that worked well. Because I was able to swap out something that is too big for me and something that was too small for me for things that fit! Plus, there was something that was labeled size 8 but was a perfect fit for my size 14 friend! So you never know what you could find if you are willing to try things on and not pay attention to the label. Plus, you could always do an accessories swap with scarves, jewelry, shoes….things that aren’t so size dependent or that don’t change that much. Or you could just ditch your friends and find new ones! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • dapperdolly

    I haven’t been to one yet but I keep hearing great things about swaps and understandably so! Yours looked and sounded like so much fun! Such a great way to update the wardrobes and keep caring for clothes we already have.

    • astimegoesbuy

      It was a great time!
      By the time I had completed my 90 day challenge to not shop I had learned a few things and one of them is that besides financially, there are some down sides to constantly buying new things. So call it “slow fashion” or “green fashion”, I have really come to appreciate the idea of not being so wasteful. And as a bit of a romantic I like knowing that clothes I once loved and maybe wore somewhere special, have gone to someone who will also love them! I’ll still be shopping…probably a lot by some peoples standards…but I hope to be mindful of what I am buying. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • lushlili

    Had this same idea to do this with a group of girls here! Glad it was a success for you!

    Plus if no one goes home with anything, then it would all go to charity anyway 😀

    • astimegoesbuy

      So true!
      I took a bag of things to the charity shop after asking everyone if they wanted to take back things they brought and they were all happy for them to be donated. I think everyone was happy with what they got and looking forward to doing it again.
      Certainly organise one for your friends if you have a chance, we had a great time!
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

