50 Shades of Grey – Fashion

 

 

I really debated about calling this post 50 Shades of Grey. For one, I’m not using 50 photos and didn’t want to mislead there. And secondly, although I haven’t read the books, I understand they can be a bit polarizing.

This all actually started as one of my fascinations triggered by finding a beautiful palette of wintery, arctic inspired colours and creating a board on Pinterest, (you can check out the complete collection here).

Even though we are nearing the end of July, it is still quite cold here in the southern part of Australia and since the sky is still grey most days, why not focus on grey and the positives of it rather than the gloom. It is a beautiful classic neutral. Up north you are starting to pair it up with your summer neons and brights in preparation of autumn. It makes a great backdrop to prints of all kinds, so why not give it its special moment in the sun?!

Here’s to grey and all its shades!

I love all these looks, girlie with frills, classic tailoring, dressy or casual, the many shades of grey are gorgeous.

I really like the look in the top left of this photo. Many layers of grey all classic and tailored. It’s a look I would wear. But then I love all these looks!

What do you think? Is grey for winter only or would you wear it and it’s 50 shades any time of the year? Or is dressing all in grey just to gloomy for you?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “50 Shades of Grey – Fashion

  • australianperfumejunkies

    Yummy selection. I love a good soft grey. Thanks for the reminder,
    Portia xx

  • KristySamone

    I would wear a grey bikini! I agree-it’s a wonderful year round shade:)

    • astimegoesbuy

      Kristy,
      I have seen some fantastic grey bathing suits! You have such a great bod you’d look fantastic in a grey bikini. 🙂 I have lot’s of grey in my winter wardrobe but think I may have to add some for summer.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • leblogdemarie

    I love grey and wear it all year round. Any shade is lovely and always looks so chic. Your selections are fabulous! I’ll take one of everything 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      That was my thought too as I was collecting the photos…just love them all and want it all! I think I’ll be adding more grey to my spring/summer wardrobe. Especially as I am loving pink and grey together right now.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • RiverCityFashion

    I love the softness of grey, and how it interacts beautifully with browns as well as blacks (though I almost never wear it with black anymore). I wear a lot of grey in the summer (like it is here!) Lovely 🙂

  • Carr Party of Five

    Dear Laura,
    I LOVE GREY.
    Love it!
    I’m blonde, and blue-eyed.
    Often, I’m told my eyes LOOK grey.
    To me, it’s my go-to color to wear.
    Because I almost always get compliments when I wear it.
    🙂
    And Laura..come ON. Read 50 Shades already.
    ANd then..you can be a Shady Lady like me.
    🙂
    heeheheeeheee
    Love, lis
    xoxoxoox

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      Lis, you are too funny!
      I checked with the girls at work and they haven’t made it into the book box yet, I am waiting for that as at the moment I’m not in the mood to actually buy them! (saving for the Spain trip)
      I bet you look amazing in grey with your colouring.
      Don’t worry…I’m sure I will join you in the Shady Lady club. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • joyfitnessandstyle

    You might be embarrassed of your title after you read the books- but I love to wear gray and love these above looks!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I have heard what the controversy is about and have yet to decide if I will read them.
      But that is more about my natural aversion to doing what everyone else is doing than judging the content.
      And I love grey too so kind of wanted to think of how great the colour is!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Bug

    Loved this. Grey is my favourite colour! Can’t get enough of it!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I love it to Bug!
      Seems I wear it mostly in the winter but I’m going to add a bit more of it to the wardrobe that is Spring and Summer appropriate.
      I even saw a fantastic grey bathing suit that I would love to own. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    I, too, love grey but it can be tricky to wear. I find for my coloring a dove grey or charcoal looks great, but if I mix in another neutral or wear the wrong shade it screams “matronly”, even sloppy. It’s probably the easiest color to get wrong, IMO.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I too love the dove or charcoal shades…I’m thinking you and I must have the same colouring!
      Although I have had success mixing it with cream, purple and pink without getting matronly. I would like to try some robin’s egg blue and maybe even a brighter blue. I know yellow works well but I’m just not a fan of wearing yellow!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Love & Lunchmeat

    I love medium to dark greys, but only if I’ve just colored my hair. My white hairs aren’t terrible, but I have just enough that grey emphasizes it… These pictures are beautiful, especially the one of Victoria Beckham.

    And I do want to get on the grey nail polish trend!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I L-O-V-E grey nail polish!
      Have been wearing a lot of grey or I have a colour called moss that is a greenish grey that has been my winter toenail favourite!
      So can appreciate your concern about your hair – wait till you see tomorrows post (hint, hint).
      These days little Vic looks fantastic in everything but I do love the tailoring that she wears/designs.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Oster's Mom

    I wear grey all year long!

  • lushlili

    Great collection of cl

    • lushlili

      Accidentally hit post comment!!

      Great collection of grey pieces! I like that you can mix different depths of grey and it still looks good

  • RejoiceForTheDay

    It’s a year round shade for me. One of the colors that populates my closet in all seasons. I really like it! Especially a lacy, frilly summer style in grey and what’s not to love about a wintery grey sweater!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I really need to add more grey to my Spring/Summer wardrobe. There is plenty to be found in my winter wardrobe where sweaters abound but I”m really wanting to pair it up with pink and bright blue for our coming warmer months.
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

