50 (plus) Shades of Grey – Fab Faces

Nope, I’m still not writing about the books. And todays title of 50 (plus) Shades of Grey should have given you a clue.

As mentioned yesterday, I was using the arctic colour scheme to be inspired for this series of posts and while collecting photos on Pinterest.com, I came across so many fantastic 50+ faces that totally qualified for the topic.

Following are some women, and a couple of men, that are mostly over 50 (thus the 50 plus), all of them are rocking the grey palette (always with their hair) and sometimes are even working the grey palette in their clothing as well. Each and every one was far too fabulous to be left out during this closer look at the spectacular shades of grey.

Oh my goodness! I so wish I could look half as fantastic as these fantastic 50 plus shades of grey! Love the wavy locks of the lady in the bottom left and the grey outfit with the ruffled shirt. I know, I have a thing for ruffled shirts. But I have confessed that to you all before.

More fabulous 50 plus in this collection of photos. Don’t you love the attitude of the woman in the top left photo?!

Well dressed and gorgeous!

I’m having a love – hate with all of them!

I love that these amazing faces are showing us that it is possible to be fabulous, fantastic, stylish, chic and sometimes even cool when you are wearing the 50 (plus) shades of grey.

I am begging mother nature…please oh please let me go one of these beautiful shades of grey. Oh, and if you can make sure I don’t get any more wrinkled…and that all my body parts don’t go south, I would be forever grateful. And mother nature, umm, one more request if you don’t mind…can I be as stylish and chic as this lot?!

Do you think these photos show the fabulous faces of the 50 plus shades of grey or have I just become obsessed?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

12 responses to “50 (plus) Shades of Grey – Fab Faces

  • RiverCityFashion

    Top left is Helen Mirren (I’m jumping to the conclusion you know this) and you have to check out the end of this post (and all their posts) to find out my nickname for her 🙂 http://www.tomandlorenzo.com/2010/05/cannes-watch-helen-mirren-2.html

  • sashaparis

    I know how you feel, every time i see a fabulous woman older than me – i tell myself – remember to look as cool as her, when you are her age. very inspiring!

  • ooobop!

    I think you hit the nail on the head when you mentioned the ‘attitude’ of the lady, top left middle set! Its all about just that! I think an element of growing old discracefully is in order! The required tone of grey is always achievable!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Janene,
      I think there is a certain amount of not letting the number beat you and becoming the number.
      It is possible to let the number remove your vitality and that is the one thing I don’t want to happen!
      At the moment I have just some random grey so the right tone of brown is still achievable…some day it may all end up grey. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • ooobop!

        I’ve just got the mallen streak at the mo and the real colour under the dyed brown is very ‘salt and pepper’ and I’m so not ready to reveal that yet! Will await til it all goes an even white/silver/grey… and then put crazy colour all over!! 🙂

      • astimegoesbuy

        LOL!
        If I had a great streak I’d contemplate letting it go…but I’m not ready yet either. There should be a dye that makes it all a great silver colour so you don’t have that in between stage. I’m starting to see young girls with purple and blue rinse so maybe I should follow in the granny footsteps and go that way?! 🙂

      • ooobop!

        Absolutely! Purple… orange… red? Different colours on different days I think! 🙂

      • astimegoesbuy

        Or just colour blocked hair! The marriage of colour blocked clothes and ombre hair!

  • Taylor Moseley

    I loooooove gray and silver hair! So chic!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Taylor,
      I complete agree. I learned this week doing this series on grey that it is perhaps one of the chicest and most elegant colours.
      It almost makes me not stress so much about how much of it is showing up in ny hair! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

