Simplify Your Life Week

The first week of August is Simplify Your Life Week.

Easier said than done, is what I think.

If you are like me, you think you are getting things figured out, that one area that has been out of control is finally in line, you’re starting to think “hey, this isn’t so bad”, then BAM! Something goes crazy.

So I just try to focus on what I can simplify, or what I can control…which isn’t much!

Have I told you all about my wardrobe? I know I have mentioned how I reduced the number of colours in my wardrobe to make everything mix and matchable a few years ago as a way to get the “I have a full wardrobe but nothing to wear” problem under control. But have I told you HOW my wardrobe is organised? Probably not, because it’s one of those areas that proves I have more than a casual touch of OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder).

For about 12 years now I have insisted on organising my wardrobe in this manner and depending on the exact layout of the wardrobe, it is pretty much the same regardless. In fact, I think the only real thing that has changed is how I store my jeans and that is because I have to share shelf space with the Fashion Mister! Oh, and I now mix shirts (you’ll understand more soon).

Currently my wardrobe works likes this:

All types of clothing are hung with similar types of clothing and colours.

Soooo, from the left, are all my pants (this now includes jeans which used to be folded and on a shelf), starting with all black, moving to blue (jeans) included, then each other colour working towards brown/tan/taupe and finishing with white. Next are skirts then all my shirts and they follow the exact same colour layout. When I had the wardrobe/closet to myself, I did long-sleeved shirts, then short-sleeved ones in the colour coded manner. Next are dresses by colour, then vests and we finish off with coats. Long dresses hang on another rail but follow the same colour scheme.

Jumpers/sweaters and handbags are on shelves and are mostly organised by colour. For some reason I am not as OCD with them???

Shoes stay in their boxes if that is how I purchased them. The reason is they stay neat, clean and the boxes have a little pic plus description on them so it is handy to see. They are all stacked on the shelf above the clothes.

I know it sounds a little whack-a-doodle but to me it is really about making selecting an outfit and getting dressed in the morning more simple. Pick a top and move to the area with similar bottoms and make a selection. Or pick a skirt/pants and move to the tops in the same colours and make a selection.

Now it’s not always that straight forward because as you know I love to wear purple and orange or orange and blue together so I do mix my colours but similar concepts apply.

“Gee, I think I’ll wear my orange pencil skirt to work today”, grab it and move to the shirts and select blue or purple or keep moving until a tan coloured one jumps out at me.

I suppose if you want to simplify your life the real key is balance. For me, I balance keeping my wardrobe organised with taking less time to get ready in the morning, which then reduces stress.

Kind of like I balance the demands of my real-life work and the fact that it pays the bills with my desire to eat, drink and shop my way around the world!

Sorry if you read this thinking I would give you some magic tip that would help you simplify your life. I’m yet to be fully convinced that life is supposed to be simple.

Is there anything you do to simplify getting ready each day? Maybe you can help me simplify my life!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

28 responses to “Simplify Your Life Week

  • Anne @ The Frump Factor

    I don’t think that sounds crazy at all! My closet is organized in a similar way. It definitely simplifies the early morning, getting-ready-for-work ordeal. While I’m not a super-organized person by nature, an orderly closet soothes me.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I find it soothing too. It’s just nice to know everything is put away and will be easy to find when I want it. 🙂 And the Fashion Mister will tell you I’m crazy but he just has less sense of things needing to be in their place. Yep, he’s a little messy. 😉

  • Paula Parisotto

    Well, no need for this stylist to fly out and organize your closet…….it’s done. Good for you! It makes outfit selection easier and saves so much time. I also recommend hanging horizontal belt and scarf racks-so much easier to view your choices. And a high hung garment hook-layer garment choices, jewlery and shoes then stand back and see how it looks before taking the time to put it all on.
    Paula
    stylist & life simplifier

    • astimegoesbuy

      Great ideas Paula!
      I have my belts hanging but need to find space for scarves.
      Trouble is I currently have two small drawers packed full of scarves so I need a lot of space!
      I like the idea of a high hung garment hook, may have to take care of that one today!
      You are still welcome to fly over and organise the rest of me life. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        Don’t tempt me Laura. I’ve always wanted to visit. 🙂
        Paula
        P.S. California Closets has a great pull out hook. It extends. I use it to pull together outfits, pull out items to pack for trips and hang delicate laundry to finish drying. It’s more useful than you can imagine.

      • astimegoesbuy

        Paula,
        When you finally get around to making a trip down this way you BETTER come for a visit here!
        I’ll check out California Closets and see if they either deliver to AUS or I can send to my sister and have her forward.
        Thanks for the tip. 🙂
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • tseparfait

    Our wardrobe organization is really similar!!! I love organizing by colour because then I’m not scrambling around in the morning looking for that beige laced top to match with my trousers! It’s definitely kept me sane.
    To save a lot of time getting ready in the morning, I actually plan my outfits the night before because I can honestly stand in front of my closet for half hour waiting for something to jump out at me.
    Also, to make sure I make use of every piece, I make a rule to try to wear a different outfit for as long as I can go without repeating. This allows me to see what I can come up to make my outfits look different!

    http://tseparfait.com

    • astimegoesbuy

      I too plan my outfit the night before but only visually in my mind by doing a mental walk through the wardrobe.
      Because it is so organised I am pretty familiar with each piece so can sort a look pretty quickly. 🙂
      I like that you use each piece and are being creative with your looks/outfits. It means that you have a good and effective collection of clothes when you can mix and match things and are utilising it all.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Jeni Johnson

    You are not whack a doodle. Wink. My dresses in prints stay together while other dresses stay with thier solids which are all color coordinated. But for my husband, his clothes are organized by the type of shirts, pools, long sleeves, button down, jackets, etc. Regardless of colors…he just never seems to keep them color coded and so I’ve given up!

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      I have given up on the Fashion Misters part of the wardrobe too.
      It is all so random and if I even look at it too much it makes my head hurt!
      We can’t even share a suitcase when we go on holiday because he packs just as random and then I do become a whack-a-doodle! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    Great post! I recently got rid of a bunch of stuff that I don’t own anymore and then reorganized the entire lot. It felt so good to have everything hung up properly and (somewhat) colour coordinated!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I love getting rid of clothes that I don’t wear and having all those extra hangers!
      When I redecorated the master bedroom a few months back I did a big clean out and reorganisation and luckily everything has stayed that way so far.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • K.I.S.S. « the usual bliss

    […] learned this morning over at As Time Goes…Buy that tomorrow, August 1, begins Simplify Your Life […]

  • spashionistareport

    Every time I try to “simplify” it seems I just end up taking on more LOL. However, I am really good about purging my wardrobe of unusable items – because I want room for better pieces to take their place ;-P

  • RiverCityFashion

    My (not at all organized) mama was the first one I knew with a color-coded closet. I saw how much it helped her, and my closed has been color-coded (yes, by article of clothing) ever since! It’s so great when I’m half asleep in the mornings.

    • astimegoesbuy

      That is exactly why I do it!
      My mum could never get rid of clothes so her wardrobe was packed to busting and NOT organised.
      I had nightmares as a kid of it exploding! 🙂
      Which may be part of what drove me to obsessive.
      Plus I would rather have 15 minutes more sleep and know that I can pull an outfit from the wardrobe in two minutes.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Fiona

    I love it!!!

    I’m about to race upstairs & organise my wardrobe like that! Especially since I mostly have clothes that are black, white, blue & purple.

    Thanks for the pingback – especially as I’ve only just this minute figured out what that means 🙂

    I’m looking forward to reading all your archives,xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      My pleasure Fiona!
      I was the same not that long ago. 🙂
      Glad I could inspire/encourage you to organise and simplify your wardrobe.
      It really does make things easier when you are trying to get dressed in the morning.
      Let us know how you go with the reorganisation!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • asterisk * photography

    Simplify. Great idea. I love to “colour coordinate” my wardrobe but my wife thinks I’m crazy. She may be right too. Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  • stephjms

    Love this post!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Stephanie!
      For those of us who can be control freaks, learning to simplify our lives can be tough.
      Luckily I have found a way to make my organisational skills work to my advantage and keep my morning routine pretty simple. 🙂
      At least that is my story and I am sticking to it!!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Simplify Entertaining – The Drinks Trolley « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] Simplify Your Life Week (astimegoesbuy.me) Share this:Share on Tumblr Pin ItEmailDiggPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  • Peach Month « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] got so distracted with telling you all about Simplify Your Life Week that I nearly forgot it’s PEACH […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

