How to Wear the Metallic Trend – My Way

 

 

Today I realised that I need more metallics in my wardrobe! Need vs. want…same thing when it comes to the metallic trend.

However I still have enough to take a look at how to wear the metallic trend and do it my way.

Yesterday we learned that the two keys to wearing this trend is to keep the accessories minimal and to pair metallics with neutrals. Lets see how I go with what is in my wardrobe.

Metallic and Pastel – My Way: Here is my version of the metallic and pastel look. You probably remember that I don’t do a lot of pastels so this blazer is about as good as pastels get in my wardrobe. However, I think it works really well with the metallic sweater/jumper (thrifted both the jacket and the sweater), skinny J Brand jeans, hammered gold neck cuff, Samantha Wills bracelet (gift with purchase you may recall), finished with a bronze coloured make-up bag that makes a nice little clutch and my inspired by India shoes for a little more sparkle. The gold necklace/cuff over the gold sweater is very chic. I like that this looks allows me to wear metallics during the day and when being casual.

Metallic and Neutral: This look relies heavily on the metallic and neutrals rule. The dolmen sleeved sequined sweater is worn over a pencil skirt that has small gold threads woven throughout. Further little hits of metallic come from the bracelets, the statement necklace and the shoes. This metallic look means business and can easily be worn to the office.

Heavy Metal: Again this look relies heavily on the two keys. The accessories are simple and where the metallic has its chance to shine, thanks to the neutral background provided by the printed dress and leather biker jacket. The wide silver cuff bracelet and the metal capped toe shoes are from my lust have list. I have had the little silver leather clutch for about 12 years and the silver circles necklace is a recent gift from my family in the US. If you don’t have a leather biker jacket you could achieve a similar but softer look from a black shrug or cardigan.

After putting together these looks, I would like to add a metallic tank top and metallic skinny or Capri pants to my spring/summer options. But for now, that’s how to wear the metallic trend done my way.

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

17 responses to “How to Wear the Metallic Trend – My Way

  • shinyinlove

    love your style and love that is it so different than how I style metallics. Guess that’s what makes personal style so great!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Very true, personal style is an expression of the person!
      I may have done it a bit differently if I actually had more of it in my wardrobe.
      There wasn’t much to work with so I”m thinking I better find more metallics to add to the wardrobe!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Lady Kate

    I love that leather jacket! lovely outfits! 🙂

  • shiroknowes

    Love the second outfit so lovely !

  • biscuitsandnavy

    I love all of these looks! It’s so hard to pick a favorite. At first, I thought it was the first one, but the third one is so amazing. Well done! I want them all:) xoxo

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      I’m kind of fond of all them too. 🙂
      The first one is a really comfy look to wear as it is probably my standard “look” but the thrid one is fun because it is just that little bit edgy.
      I think all of them are looks most people could pull together in some fashion???
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • 13coco

    I am very nervous of wearing metallics, but I may try it now because of your photo of the dress and motorcycle jacket.
    Also, I nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award. I really like your blog and think it is awesome.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      That is very kind and sweet of you. 🙂
      I am honoured that you thought of me!
      I hope you do give metallics a try.
      They can be a great addition to a wardrobe and as you like to mix girlie with tough, metallics are a good way to achieve that.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • fashionmasher

    Oh scrummy! Great ideas and love the new shoes 🙂 you know how I always say I don’t really follow trends or do what everyone else is doing? I do like playing around with them and I love how you’ve done it with what’s already in your wardrobe – this makes the Fashion Masher in me very happy x I must admit I was lamenting not being able to shop and follow trends last night watching X Factor and dreaming of adding something FLUORO to my wardrobe … It will pass like all other (admittedly rare) shopping woe moments!

    • astimegoesbuy

      It is really hard but I do like trying to work the trends from what is already in my wardrobe. I am finding if I do purchase it is either designer (at a discount) or thrift/op shop. I’m finding it harder and harder to justify the High Street after my shopping ban. I occasionally look at fluoro and think “maybe” but I just can’t see it as an investment so keep passing on it! Hang in there, you are doing great and still always look fantastic! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    I love the way you’ve styled these! I own a fair amount of metallic, too, and the trick is to let those pieces be the focus – exactly as you’ve done! I may have to do a metallic post at some point. Those metal capped slingbacks are my favorite! You make me want to go shopping for a Palsy-friendly facsimile 😉

    • astimegoesbuy

      Well I look forward to seeing what you find!
      As well as your post on metallics.
      I like to see how people work a trend into their own style and make it theirs.
      I find it usually inspires me to try something new and different…to push my boundaries and not get stale. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    These looks are lovely! I especially love the last outfit – seriously hot. I don’t have too many metallic pieces – but I really like the idea of adding an accessory to jazz up an ensemble.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I don’t have much in the way of metallic either.
      Would love to have more…maybe a pair of pants and a tank would be cool if I can find the right ones.
      In the mean time I will just have to use the accessories to achieve the look. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Honey, Honey – My Way « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] gold neck and wrist cuffs plus the gold sweater are all sweet as honey. Yep, you saw them in my Metallic Trend post. Retro Floral – Honey […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

