Kiss and Make Up Day

 

 

Did you know that August 25th is Kiss & Make Up Day?!

I thought I would put my own spin on the Kiss & Make Up concept. Make-up posts aren’t really my thing as I am pretty set in my ways and tend to stick to the items I like. However, for today I thought I could share with you the items I use every day and those that are in my make-up bag for special occasions.

We may as well start with the preparation.

Preparation: This photo looks a little like an ad for Lancome. The reason for that is that I have been using Lancome for about 20 years and I like that they have a variety of products for the different “ages” of your skin. So as I have aged, I have been able to modify the products that work. Not in this pic is a Lancome cleanser that I use to wash my face (I need to get to the shops today to buy more as I ran out this morning). So the foaming cleanser in the shower. Followed by the toner (big blue bottle), then the Renergie eye serum (purple), the Genifique Youth Activator (no mean comments please…I am about to turn 49 after all!), and I finish the prep with the Visionnaire skin corrector.

In my 20s I would not have believed that I would be using all these products on my face. It’s a bit of a ritual and my skin does look better than expected. Most of my colleagues think I am about 5-10 years younger than I actually am!

The Make-Up Essentials: These 8 items are my current make-up essentials. Sometimes the colours of the eyeshadow changes depending on what I am wearing and my mood but these are the go to items for most days. The foundation is Lancome Teint Renergie in o-01 (I have pale skin and this shade evens out the freckles and other imperfections). The silver rectangle is a soft brown brow shaper, it helps to provide definition to my brows and provides a great frame for my eyes.

Then it’s on with the Neutrogena blush. I always use at least two colours on my eyes, a pale shade for the lid and a dark shade that I use to line my lower lashes and the top outer half of my lashes finishing by filling in the outside third to half of my upper lid and sweeping inward along the crease. Next I am currently using a liquid liner from Sephora to line my upper lash only. The eyes are completed once the Lancome Doll Eyes mascara is applied in So Black. Usually just one coat is enough for my everyday look.

The Lipstick: I rarely wear actual lipstick as it is very hard to find colours that don’t become too pink or too coral on me. So mostly I wear tinted gloss. For years it was only Juicy Tubes by Lancome but now other companies are starting to make great colours that last and don’t leave your lips feeling waxing. Lately I have also become fond of Napoleon Perdis “Barely Beige”, and Model Co.’s “Strip Tease” and Lip Duo in “True Red”.

Added Sparkle: For those times when I need, or want, a little WOW in my look I will trade out some of my standards for these items. The top two are glitter eye liner by Sephora. My sister introduced me to these when I was visiting the US. She wear the silver almost every day and it looks fantastic! The second row is a number of sparkle eye shadow colours, a peacock-blue, silver and a peach. All are great for night-time looks but sometimes I use the silver or the peach to provide a little shine even during the day.

The bottom row is one of the few lipsticks that I can wear that doesn’t turn a shocking colour after ten minutes. It’s by Estee Lauder and is called “Divine Wine”. I bought about 5 of these nearly 10 years ago and am on my last one…I hope they haven’t discontinued the colour!

There is also a bronzer to make sure I have a little colour in my face…especially important as we have had such a grey winter this year. Last is a bright blue eyeliner pencil used when I want my eyes to look more blue than green and if I want to make sure the white in my eye is particularly bright.

Those are the items I currently have in the make-up bag. Most of them are items I have been using for a very long time and will likely continue using.

That’s it for Kiss and Make Up Day.

Remember, “Don’t go to bed mad at each other, stay up all night fighting it out”!

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “Kiss and Make Up Day

  • ethelthedean

    Love this editorial! No word of a lie, you should be doing this stuff for a living – you have a terrific knack for getting the facts but also managing to stay completely engaging.

    And seriously, that sparkly blue eye shadow makes me weak in the knees. I am weird in that I covet beautiful eye makeup but never, ever wear anything other than mascara. My goal in life is to one day learn how to do a mean liquid liner. But until that day I am a lipstick gal all the way – the brighter or deeper the better.
    xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      See, there is something that you can do that I can’t…wear lipstick!
      I have invested so much money hoping that I will find a lipstick that I can wear that doesn’t get some crazy colour after 10 minutes, but no luck!
      I could wear a smokey eye everyday but lipstick makes me turn into a clown. 😦
      Thank you for your kind commments.
      Dealing in the facts is the best way to share info with you all but even I would find that too boring! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • budgetcouture

    Reblogged this on budgetcouture and commented:
    Like this post. I have a similar products in my purse. I am just starting at this blog thing, but I like sharing -)
    Anywho, xo, in the spirit of the day!

    Cheers, Diva!

  • jaded

    Hi Laura
    Great post, if nothing else, it makes me feel OK about the number of products I have/hoard/use on a daily basis as well. 😉

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      I was a little self concious about all the preparation stuff but decided to be honest and share. 🙂
      It is good to know there are others out there who are using a similar number of products!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • nouveauyuppiebeauty

    My first reaction to this post was “Kiss and Makeup Day”, what is that? My second was, “That’s ALL she uses?” I have to say that as someone who just put herself on a product purchasing moratorium until October 1, I am somewhat envious that you have a routine, as I am a kid in a candy store when it comes to beauty products, especially lip products. Bravo to you!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I seem to be very much into the ritual of the process each morning which is why I don’t try a lot of different products.
      I have what I like and what I know and that seems enough for me.
      Where I go mad is with clothing and shoes!
      So it seems we all have out obsessions. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    I’m thrilled that someone over the age of 21 is writing about makeup from a positive POV. Ethelthedean is right. I don’t know what your “day job” is but you have a definitely knack for this.
    I was wondering if any of your “prep” products are effective at fading age spots? I have one spot on my cheek and I’ve tried several that have been very disappointing.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I do have to admit, I have one on my right cheek that I have tried a few things on, even went to a Dermatologist with no luck.
      The Genrifique seems to have lightened it to the point that it doesn’t annoy me like it used to.
      It’s still there just doesn’t seem as noticeable.
      And I should have mentioned the foundation has SPF 15 sunscreen in it which is really important in Australia!
      BTW – the Genrifique is pretty expensive, but I do like the result and as you don’t use much it lasts a fair while.
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

