Me vs. Victoria Beckham

Sorry, but the thought of Me vs. Victoria Beckham has brought an evil smile to my face.

It shouldn’t be there. I should be terrified of the thought. After all, how can I compare to Posh Spice?! I like spicy food and I love posh things (even if I can’t afford them) but that would be about as close a contest as it would get…right?

Actually, this is all about a dress.

The Dress – My Version: Yes, it really is a dress. I know it looks like a tube of fabric with some holes in it. But it’s a dress. Back when I did my 90 day shopping ban followed by the lust-have list and haul, this was one of the items from the haul.

The Dress – Victoria Beckham: Being a lover of classic items and lines, I actually do like many of the dresses by Posh. But you know that I tend to be tight with my money so it’s not likely that I will ever buy one unless I can find it greatly reduced in price. After I bought my dress, I saw this dress by Victoria Beckham, and it made me think of my dress and the similarities.

Hang in there, stick with me, there really are similarities…you just have to look beyond the funny looking tube with the holes in it that I bought!

My Dress – Styled: Once my dress gets sorted out with the collar folded down and the styling completed, you should start to see the similarities. Besides just the colour, my dress can be worn as a cowl neck (the way I prefer to wear it) or the cowl can be slid down over the shoulders and it can be worn with open shoulders. It can even be worn pulled out to the shoulders similar to the Beckham dress. And because of the cut it is a bodycon dress that looks equally well with my brown suede boots or my snake-skin wedge heels.

Styling My Dress: The chain belt came with the dress so I decided to use that as my jumping off point in styling this look. It meant gold accessories and things chain related or inspired. Besides the snake-skin Jessica Simpson wedges, I used a vintage alligator skin handbag, a vintage scarf with a chain print (in the style of vintage Hermes), and the gold statement necklace also from my lust have list.

This look can be changed up by how the neckline is worn but also by changing the accessories. In cooler climates it can be worn with a blazer for work and boots as I mentioned above. It could also be worn with gladiator sandals or little beaded sandals while on holiday. I think I would also like to give it a spin with either my leather jacket or maybe even make it casual with my denim jacket. Once again lots of options…just the way I like it!

So in the contest of Me vs. Victoria Beckham, I think I get the win on this one!

What do you think?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

15 responses to “Me vs. Victoria Beckham

  • Paula Parisotto

    You pulled together a beautiful look. I would love to see it on you 🙂
    Paula
    stylist & stiletto maven
    dettamodablog.com

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Paula!
      I would do more pics of myself if the Fashion Mister were a better photographer…or available at the time that I am writing posts! I’m thinking of getting a remote to use with the camera so I can take my own photos, so hopefully there will be more photos with me actually in them in the future!
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        Yes, do it. I went from Iphone and self as photographer to DSLR and hubby as photographer to DSLR, remote and back to me as photogrepher. The remote is awesome!!
        Paula

      • astimegoesbuy

        I promise I will get to the camera shop on Tuesday.
        Can’t promise the photos will be great or the subject very happy to be photographed but it’s the least I can do if I am to continue blogging about fashion! And that is to be seen wearing it!! 🙂
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • spashionistareport

    You should look into a webcam – not for video purposes but because they take incredibly good stills and come with a remote. Love the dress but it is difficult to picture it’s versatility. Mind you, I’m in no position to throw any stones. I need a better setup myself LOL!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I have a fantastic camera Canon EOS, just need to get the remote. Never needed one until I started this blog and people want to actually see me IN the clothes! 🙂
      Should be easy enough, I have just been avoiding it because I don’t like my picture taken.
      Guess it’s time to get over that!
      Soon, very soon.
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • spashionistareport

        You’ve been a huge inspiration to me and my attempt at a fashion blog, I’ve paved the way for you to look terrific by looking ridiculous with my full on CP spaztastic poses for my own clothes ;-). But it’s true, the clothes don’t translate accurately unless we wear them, or get mannequins to put them on.

      • astimegoesbuy

        Thank you for your kind comments but I think you look fantastic and I haven’t seen any horrid poses from you.
        And even if I did, who cares! None of us are supermodels…well…some of the bloggers look like they could be supermodels…but I know I’m not! 😀
        I had been hoping my signature could be just having the clothes laid out but I’m going to have to stop being a sissy and step up to the next level to give you all what you want! Who knows, you may change your minds after seeing a hundred versions of my mug. 🙂
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • Love & Lunchmeat

    She looks a tad frail. You’d totally best her. Just watch out for those shoes!

  • shinyinlove

    OH I like! I want this outfit!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Larkin,
      I wore a winter version with a blazer and boots and loved it.
      Now I’m looking forward to wearing the spring version with heels and bare sleeves.
      There is something classic about this look. So European. 🙂
      You would rock it with your figure!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • BJ

    Love the colours! and that scarfs is so cute!
    BJ xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks BJ!
      The caramel colour is very versatile.
      I was lucky enough to get the scarf with a bulk buy from an Etsy.com shop a couple of months ago. I like to buy scarfs in bulk or really cheap, if they aren’t right for me I use them as gift wrap for friends who they will work for. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Honey, Honey – My Way « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] may remember this honey coloured cowl neck dress from my Me vs Victoria Beckham post. Honey Coloured Glitter […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

