Complete Your Look with a Scarf

One of my favourite ways to complete a look, is to add a scarf.

In fact if I don’t have the right necklace to complete an outfit, I just grab a scarf instead. I can pretty much complete any look with the simple addition and have mastered a fair few options in how to tie or wrap a scarf a number of different ways. As you may recall, I can even turn some of my scarves into vests! Of course all of this is made easy because I have a great collection of scarves.

Spring/Summer Scarves: This is a photo of about 2/3’s of my Spring/Summer scarves. These are certainly the ones I wear most often. So you can see I’m likely to have a scarf to go with any outfit! The most expensive one is the Chanel one on the far right. I’ve told you that story before, it works really well in the summer as a head scarf when driving ChaCha Diva with the top down. The next three in from the Chanel have been with me for about 15 years and are gorgeous silk scarves I brought with me when I left Denver. Same with the cotton-candy yellow one. There are a fair few vintage ones I have collected via op/thrift shops or Etsy.com and three newer ones, the orange/taupe/black one, the leopard print and the pink and orange one next to the red white and blue one.

Finish with a Scarf: Here are just a few looks that have been completed by the addition of a scarf. It doesn’t matter your age or size, a scarf will help you to complete your look polished, chic and sophisticated. It can tie (pun intended) a group of what seems like unrelated pieces together as in the bottom left corner, add a pop of colour like the top left corner, provide warmth or add intrigue. A scarf can be worn on your head, around your neck, made into a vest, used as a top or a sarong. Is there a more versatile accessory?

Finished with a Scarf – My Way: Here are just a few ways I have styled some of my looks with scarves over the last 6 months. I certainly will be making more selections from the Spring/Summer collection now that the weather is starting to warm up. I also have currently flagged 4 scarves to make the trip to Spain because they will change a look by their addition and add colour to a neutral palette, as well as provide some versatility to a small holiday wardrobe.

Here’s a little tip, buy silk scarves from the op/thrift shop or in bulk on Etsy.com when you find them. If they aren’t in your colour palette, use them to wrap a gift for a friend whose colour palette they are.

Do you wear scarves? Any tips on how to wear one? How do you complete your look with a scarf?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

53 responses to “Complete Your Look with a Scarf

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniΓ©

Christin ReniΓ©

