Birthday Thoughts and Dreams

It’s that time of year when you naturally feel compelled to think about things, where you are, what you are doing and where you are going. Yep, it’s my birthday and it has me going over my thoughts and dreams.

Does it make me weak if I would rather have champagne than real pain? They say “no pain, no gain” but I don’t agree with that, not when it comes to life. I get that a little pain in life helps you to appreciate the good times but I don’t think it is necessary to have pain in your life…unless it is champagne of course!

I grew up in the USA but moved to Australia just over 10 years ago. You see, I had always wanted to live in another country, travel, experience other places and cultures but I was getting older (late 30s) and hadn’t done any of that, other than a trip to Mexico when I was 19 I had been nowhere. Well that’s how it seemed anyway.

Now you may recall, I don’t have children, so when I started thinking about where my life was going and dreaming about the future, I came up with myself in a nursing home. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with being in a nursing home and as a woman without children it is quite likely where I will end up, BUT I don’t want to be sitting in a nursing home wondering what life would have been like “If Only”. I want to be the grey haired old chook who can sit for hours remembering the fantastic life she led.

Which meant I was going to need to change some things about the life I was currently living.

I set a goal. I wanted to fill as many passports as possible before I died. And I intended to start immediately!

Off to the post office I went to get my first passport. I booked a trip to Australia, because it was the other side of the world from Denver, Colorado. I spent three weeks traveling alone. I liked it.

When I got back to the US, I decided to sell everything and move to Australia. Six months later I landed on the shores of the Lucky Country, temporary resident stamp in my passport.

10 years on, I have filled one passport and started on two more. Two more, because I am now a dual citizen and travel in and out of Australia on an Australian passport and in and out of the US on an American passport. I have been to Hong Kong (several times, love it!), Macau and a few other parts of China. I have also been to Egypt and Jordan. Jordan is an amazing country. I found it very peaceful there. I have also been to Singapore, Fiji and Ireland. Dublin is one of my favourite cities in the world (Dublin, Melbourne and San Francisco – not necessarily in that order). And of course there have been numerous trips back to the US to see my family and the upcoming trip to Spain.

So on my birthday this year, when I think about setting goals and following my dreams, I know I am already on that path.

I freak out sometimes, just like everyone else. The thing is, once I have a good little chat with myself, I realise I am living my dream and am truly lucky to be doing so.

My present to myself 10 years ago is the amazing life I am living now. Man I give great presents!

Tonight, when I’m out to dinner with the Fashion Mister and I have my birthday wish, it will be that all of you have the same opportunities to fulfill your birthday thoughts and dreams.

Cheers,

Laura

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

46 responses to “Birthday Thoughts and Dreams

  • Paula Parisotto

    Well, Good Morning and Happy Birthday Laura!!!!!! You’re not going to believe this sister from another mister………..my birthday is in 5 days πŸ™‚ Another funny lil’ coincidence. Anyhow, have a wonderful day and keep filling up your passport. Life is short!
    Paula
    stylist & non-singer of birthday songs because I sound like a cat in a bath

    • astimegoesbuy

      Sister From Another Mother! We are practically twins!! I can’t believe we have so much in common…other than you are a blonde with fantastic legs and I am brunette with two legs. πŸ™‚ I have just seen in my Birthday morning (I tend to stay up late…and never get enough sleep) so will head off to bed now and dream of filling more passports. One day one of those stamps will include a chance to meet you. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for the b-day wishes. xx
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        Shhhh, sleep now birthday girl. Yes, let’s do connect in person one day. What fun that would be.

        Paula

        P.S. You crack me up.

      • astimegoesbuy

        I got my beauty rest…slept in this morning until the Fashion Mister woke me to give me my b-day pressie…I rose gold Marc by Marc Jacobs watch that I had been lusting after! He’s a good man a takes hints appropriately. πŸ™‚
        You are definitely on my list of “must try to catch up with when next in the states”!
        I hope we don’t laugh so much people stare…but then who cares…we will be in your town, I can just play up the “I’m not from around here” thing. πŸ˜€
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        Awesome pressie!!!!!!!!! And, hey, I am used to people saying, “what is that silly woman doing over there?”
        Paula

      • astimegoesbuy

        It awesome! I will have to find a way to work it into a blog post soon. πŸ™‚
        And actually, I’m sure a fair few people say the same thing about me…so when we do meet, we will enjoy ourselves, probably laugh until we cry and just annoy everyone around us. πŸ™‚
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • kenyaldesigns

    Happy Birthday Laura!! Enjoy your special day! I love your story… seems like you have given yourself a wonderful gift. Sometimes it is very easy for us to get in the “grind” of everyday but miss out on “life” because of it. Your story is very inspirational. Thanks for sharing! And again enjoy your special day!!!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Kenyal!
      I can get wrapped up in the “grind” too but it seemed a good day to reflect on what I have and rejoice in the fact that I am on this path.
      Another gift I have given myself seems to be all the wonderful and kind people I have “met” via the blogosphere! What a fantastic group of people you all are. πŸ™‚
      Thank you again for your well wishes.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • pillowsalamode

    What a LOVELY and encouraging post, Laura! Thank you! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY! πŸ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Katherine, for the birthday wishes and kind comment. πŸ™‚
      It’s funny that as I get “more mature” my goals and dreams have less and less to do with work and more and more to do with life!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY YOU FIERCE AND FABULOUS FASHIONISTA!!!

    Reading this post made me a little misty-eyed – your zest for life (and a life well-dressed!) is both inspirational and catching. I wish you nothing but health, happiness (and an unlimited clothing budget) for many, many years to come!

    Drink that champagne – you deserve it!

    Big love from the West Coast of Canada (if you ever think about getting a Vancouver port of entry stamp, call me!)
    xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Misses!
      I like your comment about a life well-dressed – perhaps I should change the name of the blog to that!
      Glad you only got misty-eyed, I don’t want to be responsible for any running mascara – so not my style.:D
      Oh to have an unlimited clothing budget…sigh…wouldn’t that be grand!

      The Fashion Mister would love to go to Banff and Lake Louis some day so it’s quite possible we will eventually head your way stamp collecting. I just hope we aren’t in our 70s by that time…even though it’s a pretty popular trip for the “older traveller”.

      I shall think of you while drinking my champagne!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Kajsa Josephine

    Happy Birthday Laura πŸ™‚ I have new themes every year. That makes my birthday more fun to celebrate. I learn something new.

  • Lady Kate

    Happy birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day πŸ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Kate!
      It has already been pretty good and I have only been awake for 30 minutes. πŸ™‚
      The Fashion Mister has given me a beautiful rose gold Marc by Marc Jacobs watch and I have come here to a stack of birthday wishes!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    Happy Birthday, Laura. I’m so glad I stumbled onto your blog. Like you, I have no kids except for my two dogs so I can very much relate to your story. The kind of courage that comes with age tends to lead to richer rewards than the willy-nilly bravado of youth. I’ll raise a glass of diet soda on your behalf and wish you many more adventures in the years to come πŸ˜‰

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you, thank you!
      As I have been responding to well wishes here on the blog for the last 30 minutes I am thinking how very lucky I am that on a whim I went on a shopping ban, started a blog and have virtually met so many wonderful people! It’s like a another fantastic birthday present!! And I am very glad that we have found each other in the blogosphere too, a couple of “mature aged” stylish and fabulous women we are! πŸ˜€
      Enjoy your diet soda, I will think of you when I raise my glass of champagne.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Richard Guest

    Happy Birthday, Laura! Have a great time.

  • shinyinlove

    Have a fun time and Happy Happy Birthday!

  • jotsfromasmallapt

    Happy Birthday Laura-Love!!!!
    I’m having what you’re having…not the birthday thing (been there done that) but the travel thing……
    Life is grand.
    So happy for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Misses!
      I’m happy to share the travel with you…perhaps some day our wandering feet will travel the same path at the same time. πŸ™‚
      And yes, life is grand!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Magical Effects of Thinking

    Well, I just ‘met’ you and I’m so glad I did. This post is very inspiring. Happy Birthday (from Denver too).

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      There are some great people out here in the blogosphere. It is a pleasure to have “met” you too.
      Of course you have to love people from Denver. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • letstalkpretty

    Happy Birthday! I wish you Croatian stamp in one of your passports πŸ˜‰

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      We actually almost ended up in Croatia this year. We are planning one of the trips around Europe where we do Prague, Budapest, Vienna, and Venice and it seemed like a stop in Croatia would be good to, as I hear the coastline is beautiful and the people wonderful! πŸ™‚ But we had the opportunity to stay in Spain so we took it but our next big trip will include Croatia!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • katharinerebecca

    Happy Birthday, darling! I love what you’ve done. πŸ™‚ You’re inspiring because you’re doing things that fulfill you – and that’s what matters. Have a great day xoxo

    • astimegoesbuy

      Why thank you Katharine, that is very kind of you. πŸ™‚
      I don’t think of myself as inspiring…I think of myself as selfish!
      Because I want to enjoy my life, after all, they say you only get one go at it.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • gracefully50

    Happy Birthday, Laura!
    Glad you’re living out your dream!
    Here’s to many many more years of travels and adventures!

  • Love & Lunchmeat

    This is a beautiful post! And happy birthday Laura!

  • Carr Party of Five

    Dear Laura,
    Happy Birthday!!!!!!
    I LOVED this post.
    And your philosphy? Fresh, Vibrant and NOW. Just like your fashion.
    β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Love, Lis
    xoxox

  • simphonyblue

    Oh! I have to say Happy Birthday here too!!
    I’ll drink with You!

  • leblogdemarie

    Happy belated birthday, Laura! Hope you had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed reading about your journey. So inspiring!
    Cheers to you for a great year ahead!
    Best-
    ~M

  • Perfect Presents « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] recall, just before all my posts about MSFW 2012 I shared with you the fact that I had a recent birthday. today I thought I might share with you the perfect presents I received from the Fashion Mister, […]

  • auiemd

    Cheers, Laura! I’m in my late 30’s, too and still with no child of my own. But i’m definitely enjoying my life even with the perks. Like you, my goal in life is to embrace my life as it is and hope i could travel more. I enjoyed travelling but haven’t been gone outside the Pacific to the US.The farthest i got is to Australia ( where i visit my sister and her family every other year ) and i loooove it ! I plan to spend my Christmas break again in Sydney this year and hope to visit Melbourne ( which, my sister told me, is good for shopaholics like me! Is it true?). I’ve gone to the Gold Coast and Canberra the last time i was there.
    Yes,as we add years in our lives , it would be nice to look back with a smile on our faces thinking that we have done and pursued what we love than live a life full of regrets and should’ve beens. πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    • astimegoesbuy

      You simply must visit Melbourne!
      It is one of my favourite cities in the world and not just for the shopping!
      I think you will find parts of it very European and other parts distinctly Australian.
      Very different than Sydney. It’s soul seems older if you understand my meaning.
      This last week a young man I know died. He was 22. It is also a reminder to live a full life.
      To embrace all that we have everyday.
      If you need any recommendations for your time in Melbourne let me know. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniΓ©

β€œFashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

