1 Floral Skirt 3 Ways – Flower Power

It’s Spring and I have an ever growing love of all things floral. Even though I am not a girlie-girl I couldn’t resist this skirt from ASOS and thought I might challenge myself to share with you my 1 Floral Skirt styled 3 ways.

More flower power! I plan to wear one of these looks to one of the runway shows at Melbourne Spring Fashion Week next week.

Floral Classics: I thought I would take a lesson from yesterdays looks and keep the focus on the skirt. Which I love because the black stripes down the sides provide a great distraction from my hips! Anyway, I have kept all the colour and the drama on the skirt. The white button-down with the black trim plays up the stripe on the skirt and I have gone with simple black accessories here.

Floral print Clashing: So, how to bring together my new floral print Jeffery Campbell platform shoes and my new floral print ASOS skirt…clash them of course! And just for fun, throw in a bright cobalt knit top and handbag, some bright jewelry and one more floral print on the scarf. There are things I really like about this look…all the floral, the clashing print trend and the bright cobalt blue. And there are things that worry me about whether or not I can pull off this look…all the floral, the clashing print trend and the bright cobalt blue! I swing madly back and forth between love and hate on this one. The biggest worry is do I have the confidence to just wear it like I’ve been doing it for years?!

Casual Floral: This look also has a little of the floral clashing going on between the scarf and the skirt. It’s just all kept a little more relaxed with the white t-shirt, denim jacket and neutral ballet flats. I do like the casual relaxed feel of this look and think it would be great for running around the city and snapping street style shots but I don’t know if it has enough WOW! to wear to one of the evening shows.

There are my options of 1 Floral Skirt 3 Ways. What do you all think? Any thoughts on how else I may be able to use this skirt as the basis of a look to wear for MSFW next week? Or do you think I should work one of these?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

30 responses to “1 Floral Skirt 3 Ways – Flower Power

  • Paula Parisotto

    Okay, you asked so here it is……..look two…………great mix of a large and small pattern and a colbalt blue top is a great color choice although I would prefer a solid, collared, button-up for is crispness and continued verticle line with a 1 inch silver or gold tone belt, the scarf or fun earring. Another option is a solid fitted sweater that lands just below the waist of your skirt with either the scarf or necklace, not both. Last thing, I would love to see a white or tangerine purse. It would pop against the cobalt and be great for spring. If you don’t wear the scarf, tie it to one handle of a white purse for a nice detail.

    Look three is casual and fun Laura.

    Paula
    stylist & pattern lover
    http://www.dettamodablog.com

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Paula!
      I did ask and I do appreciate your response. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Look two and three are my favs but they just don’t seem to be “quite right” so I needed advice.
      I think look three would look better if I put the platform heels with that look and used the bright scarf.
      And look two would definitely look better with an orange bag and or maybe my loved orange wedges??
      Perhaps I could try a pale lavendar buttondown with it but the one I have has a white stripe…
      Hmmmm…now you have me thinking…the look I end up wearing may be modified from the photos as I need to consider what my Stylist sister from an mother says!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers and thanks again for the advice!!
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        It’s always best to try it on. I often pull together looks that look great off the body but on…….yuck! Everything changes when draped on a body. I am curious to see what you end up loving. Take photos ๐Ÿ™‚
        Paula

      • astimegoesbuy

        I promise there will be photos!
        My remote timer and tripod just arrived yesterday and I plan to force myself to take more pics with me wearing the clothes. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • the Jotter's Joint

    For me the first look. I like classic styles. But especially the shoes make me smile. All of them are cute. ~Gail

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Gail!
      Those shoes are awesome. You can’t really tell in the photo but they have cut-outs on top so are very pretty.
      And they were free! One of the girls that was at my clothing swap back in July bought them at an thrift shop for $3 because they were gorgeous and then brought them in to work so we could all play Cinderella! I got the shoes…already have the prince ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Crocs Are Awful

    I am very much smitten with those JC shoes. They are a really awesome twist on the standard ones you see everyone else wearing!

  • joyandsunshine

    All three looks are stylish, creative, and fun IMHO, but I really love the first option ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      I like them all too.
      Certainly the first look comes across as more chic and sophisticated.
      I’m afraid I will pack too many clothes for my little fashion trip because I am unable to decide! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • kaysfairytale

    I love it! Especially number two, I think because it’s so daring. It looks kind of relaxed and devil-may-care. Nice job!
    I could actually use some styling help. What do I do with the floral jeans I just bought?

    • astimegoesbuy

      Kay,
      I think you could do very similar things to what I have done with these looks but if you are really unsure about how far to push the floral boundary I would suggest either working with a neutral…white, black or nude depending on the colours int he print and keeping your shirt/top, shoes and bag in the neutrals. Another cute option is to pick one of the colours in the print and use it for the shirt and accessories, similar to what I did in look number two by using the cobalt. Or work with a pastel shade of one of the colours to keep it a little more sweet and on-trend with the pastel look. Those are all good optipns if you want to wear floral without going over the top. If you really want to push it then find a top that has similar colours in another floral print that is either smaller or much larger than the print in the pants and print clash…Very cool look to be working right now!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • fashionmasher

    I love the middle one for Fashion Week – you can make it work for sure! Fab shoes, fab colours, enjoy it!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Cera!
      I may make some alterations to the middle one and go with it but I’ll be sure to provide pics! Tuesday is supposed to be great weather but Wednesday not so great so may have to modify.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    I love the skirt and the fact that it’s not an allover floral. It’s so versatile I can’t choose a favorite look!

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      See, it can be addictive if you find the right one!
      I love this skirt too. It is VERY body concious but because of the black sides it is very flattering and the colours are great!!
      I’ll share photos of how I end up wearing it for fashion week.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Classic Infusion

    wow i love all three of these looks. it’s amazing how versatile these looks can be even with a common item. nice! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      It’s a pretty versatile skirt considering the print is pretty full on.
      I wore it today slightly differently and will wear it tonight a little different again.
      Tomorrow I’ll put up pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • MSFW S/S 2012 – What I Wore « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] Floral : So this was the look I started the day with. You’ll recognise my floral skirt from ASOS. I listened to my friend Paula at Detta Moda and went with my orange wedges and used the […]

  • Nine Cent Girl

    that asos skirt is a winner no matter what…!! but I would love to see it on, and with a black top… wonderful fun!!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniรฉ

Christin Reniรฉ

