DIY – Beaded Sandals

It’s time for another DIY, and as I am going away on holiday soon, my attention has turned to holiday appropriate sandals.

Well, they aren’t quite holiday ready or I wouldn’t be doing a DIY, so let’s get started!

DIY Beaded Sandals - the Starting Point

DIY Beaded Sandals – the Starting Point

The Sandals: I have this pair of pretty basic sandals. For most things they would be fine, but for a month in spectacular Spain, I think they need a little more personality. And I need options as I am only taking the minimal pairs of shoes.

What You Need:

  • Sandals (any pair should do, see my choice above)
  • Assortment of beads
  • string or leather strips
  • scissors
DIY Beaded Sandals - The Supplies

DIY Beaded Sandals – The Supplies

Step 1

Cut two equal lengths of string/leather. Put a knot at one end, approximately 10cm (4 inches) from the very end.

Step 2

Begin stringing beads in a random order. I used beads from the same line in two different colours to add depth to the selection.

Step 3

Continue stringing beads until the beaded section is long enough to cover front half of strap &/or your ankle. Finish with a knot and trim string about 10cm (4 inches) from knot.

Step 4

Repeat first three steps so you end up with two strands of beads.

DIY Beaded Sandals - String of Beads

DIY Beaded Sandals – String of Beads

I left the long length at each end so I could tie the beads to my sandals. I want to be able to wear the sandals with or without the beads so will need the string long enough to tie when I want to use them. Also having the length will give me the option of wearing the beads tied around my ankle or wrist should I want a little bling. This will reduce the amount of jewelry I need to bring with on the trip. So, I can jazz up my sandals, have an anklet or a couple of bracelets depending on my mood!

DIY Beaded Sandals - After

DIY Beaded Sandals – After

DIY Beaded Sandals – After: I have tied the beads so they drape across the front of the shoe at the level of the strap.

DIY Beaded Sandals - Ready for Holidays

DIY Beaded Sandals – Ready for Holidays

There you go, a little extra for just the cost of a few beads. I think it gives the sandals a little more personality and keeps them from being too basic.

DIY Beaded Sandals, perfect for a holiday in Spain!

What do you think?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

16 responses to “DIY – Beaded Sandals

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniΓ©

β€œFashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

