Vintage Chanel?

There is so much I want to tell you to set up this photo shoot. Most important is that this is my vintage Chanel inspired look. Which means, the look is inspired by Chanel and the skirt, top and jacket are all vintage or op/thrift shop purchases.

Next is that every absolutely EVERY time I have worn this skirt I have people comment about my Chanel look. Even those who surprise me by knowing who or what Chanel is!

Finally, the Fashion Mister took these photos before I went to work one morning. For those who know me, this is going to come as a H-U-G-E surprise because, a) I leave for work at 7:30 in the morning so before work is REALLY early, and b) I HATE mornings and there are actually smiles in some of these pics.

Vintage Chanel Inspired

Vintage Chanel Inspired

Vintage Chanel Inspired: It’s the op/thrift shop skirt that sets the tone for Chanel thinking in this look. Classic boucle’ in a white, grey, pink and black with a little black netting type fabric hanging below the ragged hem. I bought this at my favourite op/thrift shop for $6 a couple of months ago. The top is from my recent trip to the same op/thrift shop and cost $6. You may recall the handbag from my lust-have haul, the hounds-tooth stockings were from Target and I have had the tri-tone vintage inspired shoes for about 3 years.

Vintage Chanel Inspired Look

Vintage Chanel Inspired Look

Yep, there is almost a smile there?! Perhaps I wasn’t awake. It’s so not me in the morning to be this happy!

Vintage Chanel Inspired with a Jacket

Vintage Chanel Inspired with a Jacket

Add in a Chanel Inspired Jacket:ย This pink jacket with black trim is from a couple of months ago when vintage shopping with the Fashion Sister From Another Mother. It was the same day I found the skirt but rather than at an op/thrift shop it was at a vintage shop. Which means it wasn’t as cheap. I seem to recall it was about $45. In all honesty I’m not sure if the jacket reminds me more of Jackie O or The Simpsons episode when Marg finds the Chanel suit on sale and keeps restyling it to be fashionable at the country club?! Either way, it’s a great match for this skirt which is part of the reason I bought it.

Vintage Chanel Inspired with Jacket

Vintage Chanel Inspired with Jacket

Woops! How did that get there? Now I am sure I was sleep walking because there is no way known that I would be smiling like that before 7:30 in the morning! Or perhaps I have been taken over by aliens??

 

Vintage Chanel Inspired "Broken Down"

Vintage Chanel Inspired “Broken Down”

First a smile then a bit of silliness at the early hour. The Fashion Mister was being Mr. Jay and asking for a “broken down” look. It’s probably not my best but it’s not a bad attempt for woman who has only had one coffee to start the day.

There you have it. My vintage Chanel inspired look, collected over the last two or three months, mostly second-hand at a price that even brought a smile to my face.

Hopefully, this will show you a little of why I love to op/thrift and vintage shop. And that you can shop in those places and still look good.

I’m really looking forward to hearing what you all think!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

33 responses to “Vintage Chanel?

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniรฉ

Christin Reniรฉ

