Vintage Wrap Dress – Not Quite DVF

I am a massive fan of the wrap dress. It’s flattering to so many figures but as a woman with curves a good one is gold. I’m lucky enough to have a few of them, several are vintage wrap dresses. Unfortunately, none of them are DVF. I nearly bought a DVF wrap dress when we were last in Hong Kong but when I can find great wrap dresses shopping at vintage/op shops, it’s hard to justify a big spend.

Today I am showing off my recent purchase from one of my favourite op/thrift shops. No, it’s not quite DVF, but it did only cost $6!

Vintage Wrap Dress - Not Quite DVF

Vintage Wrap Dress – Not Quite DVF

Vintage Wrap Dress: I don’t know what has gotten into me. This is the second morning that The Fashion Mister has taken outfit pics before I have gone to work and the usual grumpy morning me has busted out in a smile!? Sorry the photos are a little blurry, I think The Fashion Mister was as surprised as me and forgot to focus properly.

So, on to the look. Unfortunately, due to the weather, my styling doesn’t fully show off the wrap style dress but it does give you a sense of how I style a lighter weight dress to be appropriate for the cooler or wetter days.

Vintage Wrap Dress - Classic Blog Posing

Vintage Wrap Dress – Classic Blog Posing

Classic Blog Posing: No, I’m not checking the bottom of my boots! As with yesterday, I was challenged to strike a classic pose and this is one I tend to see on all the blogs. It’s also an easy one when you really don’t like to have your photo taken…or it’s before 7:30 in the morning and you would really rather be in bed.

Vintage Wrap Dress - The Look

Vintage Wrap Dress – The Look

The Look: I remember hearing somewhere that your legs are supposed to look thinner if you cross one over in front of the other. Hey, I’ll give anything that makes me look thinner a go!

Vintage Wrap Dress

Vintage Wrap Dress

Pulled Together: Now that the messing about is done, let’s talk about brining it all together. Obviously this look started with the vintage $6 wrap dress. Underneath is a pale turquoise coloured tank from Glassons that I bought last summer, and on top a black cardigan also from Glassons. I’m wearing a pair of textured grey tights and my black cowboy boots from Sheplers.com. You don’t see a lot of cowboy boots in Australia so ordering them from a company that ships internationally like Sheplers is my least expensive option. I’ve had these boots for about three years now and wear them a lot during the winter months.

Vintage Wrap Dress - The Accessories

Vintage Wrap Dress – The Accessories

The Accessories: My nails are polished a gorgeous midnight blue which happens to work perfectly with the blues in this look. The two silver bracelets I have had for 20-25 years, one was a gift and one I purchased in Mexico when I was 19…okay…so maybe 25-30 years! The turquoise bracelet was another op shop find and cost $1. The big white watch was purchased in Hong Kong for the bargain price of $20. The blue bag is a relatively recent purchase from Sussan.

I bought it with some money my parents sent me for my birthday. It’s a great bag! The colour is fantastic and very on-trend with all the cobalt and blue being seen for Spring. And it is HUGE! Which makes it great for carrying to work as a coat, umbrella and lunch fit inside. It’s one of the two big, bright, and beautiful bags I plan to take on the upcoming holiday.

Vintage Wrap Dress - Necklace and Bracelets

Vintage Wrap Dress – Necklace and Bracelets

More Accessories: I love the bright blue turquoise and silver necklace. It was another bargain buy from one of my usual op shops. I think the price was $2, I couldn’t pass it up for that.

Vintage Wrap Dress - Not Quite DVF

Vintage Wrap Dress – Not Quite DVF

Not Quite DVF: It’s not quite DVF but then it’s not a bad second best for the money. I love the colour and paisley print. It has 3/4 length sleeves which all together will make it a great dress to wear this Spring. Of course for Spring I’ll have to ditch the cardigan, tights and boots but I think the dress is going to look great with my new Wittner wedge runners purchased when I was at Melbourne Spring Fashion Week.

I would love to know what you think of my bargain shopping. I personally love this vintage wrap dress. Even if it’s not quite DVF!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

28 responses to “Vintage Wrap Dress – Not Quite DVF

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

