Get Organized Week!

I have something terrible to share with you all…

…I think I have lost the plot. Or at least lost my inner organizer. Things have slipped and I’m starting to freak out about it!

Get Organized Week

Get Organized Week

It really is Get Organized Week and that is a very good thing, because my typically organized self seems to have gone on holiday before the rest of me! Everything seems to be disorganized and the more I think I need to get it under control before leaving on holiday the more stressful it becomes.

If you are a regular reader, you will know this is not “normal” for me. After all, I have confessed to my wardrobe OCD and you would have to know that runs over into other areas of my life. Or it did. Until a couple of months ago. I’ve also been bitten by the procrastination bug. So everything is messier than it has ever been, it’s stressing me out that it is this way, but I am powerless to do anything about it today because “tomorrow, I can focus on that”.

Have mercy. Who have I become?!

Simplify Declutter

Simplify Declutter

I need to take some drastic steps in clearing the clutter from my life. Not just the clutter around the house that has snuck up on me but the clutter on my brain from external sources.

Don’t worry, I’m not running around with an aluminum/aluminium hat to keep out the voices but my brain needs to clear some space!

I’ve always been one of those people who find it hard to think clearly in a cluttered environment. The one that has to tidy up the workspace before starting work and I can hear my dad’s voice in my head saying, “If you put things back where you found them, you would know where they are when you need them”. And again, no, I haven’t lost my mind or started hearing those kinds of voices but it is making me a bit crazy.

Probably because we are going away in less than two weeks. We’ll be gone for a month. To a country where I barely speak the language. Although I am quite thrilled to be going, I feel I have so much to get done before we go.

Mostly I worry about this blog. I don’t want to spend my holiday trying to make time to blog and missing out on actually enjoying Spain. Plus, what if there are internet difficulties? I don’t want you all to think I have abandoned you! Which means I am trying to get a fair few posts written ahead of time and then hope to supplement a few throughout the holiday when time and internet connections permit.

Well Organized

Well Organized

I have some great stuff planned to share in those weeks that we are away. I just need to find the time to get them all written. You know it’s very scary to think about writing 30 posts before I go!

Luckily a couple of dear followers will be guest posting during that time. I could use a couple more if anyone wants to help me get organized!

Anyway, I can’t stick around stressing about what I don’t have time for. It’s time to get myself organized! I have posts to write and clothes to pack.

This week is all about getting organized!

Let’s do it!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

35 responses to “Get Organized Week!

  • shinyinlove

    I love it when my home is clean and organized but I think I am missing the organization jean. I struggle and struggle with it. Right now I feel like the only place that is organized all the time is my shoes shelves. I look at them and smile and enjoy how nice and neat they look but I can’t seem to keep anything else that organized. And not for lack of trying. I organize and then realize it is not in a sensible order. Someday I may have to hire someone to show me how it is done.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Normally I am very orgainsed but lately, like you it’s the wardrobe that is the only place that remains organised…oh and the jewelry drawer. Do you think that is a reflection of where our passion is?! I’m going to have to tidy the house before the cleaning lady comes this week!

  • dipitblack

    ‘Iโ€™ve always been one of those people who find it hard to think clearly in a cluttered environment.’ I can totally find myself in your words!

    And I have a hard time being organized too. It’s just like the big mess in the kitchen is moving to my living room, up to the bedroom and finally to my head.

    But you will work things out. Just try to make time for yourself and keep calm :). And think of all the rest you will find in Spain!?

    Which cities are you going to visit there? Are you going to Barcelona too? I read a lot of books about it and I really wanna go there ones in my life :).

    Keep the mind clear, haha. Good luck. You can do it!

    X

    http://www.dipitblack.wordpress.com

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Claudia!
      I just need to get focused and get things done!. ๐Ÿ™‚

      We are heading to Barcelona, San Sebastian, Seville, Vejer and Madrid, With a few other stops along the way.
      That is if all these cities are safe when we get there!
      With the riots, fires, floods and a tornado today, I am wondering if there will be any Spain left in two weeks!
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • dipitblack

        Yes, and sometimes that’s just a little difficult haha.

        I’m so jealous! I know for sure you will love Barcelona, also the street fashion you’re probably going to see there. Always read the books of a few Spanish writers who actually use Barcelona as a place where the story take place, so I can see the whole city in mind haha. (Actually agreed with a good friend we’re going to Barcelona in April ๐Ÿ˜€ ). But riots, fires, floods and a tornado? Did not hear that. Well, take good care. And if the places are safe, enjoy yourself!

        X
        Claudia

      • astimegoesbuy

        Thanks Claudia!
        I have been assured by a couple of bloggers who live in Spain that it will be fine.
        And if we get stuck somewhere I will make the most of it by indulging in good food and wine!
        Oh, and probably lot’s of shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • the Jotter's Joint

    Enjoy your holiday. We’ll be here when you return, ready to hear about your travels.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Gail!
      You are very kind. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ll get back on track.
      The Fashion Mister doesn’t think I have gotten that bad but he knows I am off my game a bit.
      Maybe if I weren’t usually so obsessed it wouldn’t really be such a big deal??
      Cheers and thanks for the support,
      Laura

  • fashionforlunch

    This is inspiring me to sort out my stuff!
    http://Www.fashionforlunch.wordpress.com

  • Rejoice For The Day

    I am also one of those who has to have a clean work area in order to work. Enjoy your upcoming trip. I know all about connectivity issues when traveling so don’t worry, we will be here when you get back. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • spashionistareport

    Nobody’s going to abandon you. You have an obligation to your own life first and foremost. Enjoy yourself, please ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Bug

    Aha – found the comments button! Don’t worry about not speaking the language, s’easy. All you need to know is:
    vino blanco
    vino tinto
    mojito
    sangria
    cerveza
    cafe con leche
    patatas bravas
    …por favor
    There you go – that’s at least one thing sorted for you!

    xx

  • Born To Organize

    I’m a professional organizer, so I understand how you are feeling. I have one short-term tip that really works well for all clutter (in your head and your home). I’m also happy to write a couple of guest posts on organizing in your absence. You can stage them for release using the timed post feature. Please send me a private note if you are interested: alysmilner@comcast.net.

    Okay: short term. Find a quiet place in a comfortable chair. Plant both feet firmly on the ground, close your eyes and breath. Take a normal breath in, then release it very slowly, to the count of eight. Do this 5 – 10 times, and it has proven scientifically to relax your body. Empty your thoughts as much as possible. Within five minutes you will be calmer. When you’re calmer, you make better decisions and you feel better doing them.

    Then set a timer for 15 minutes and tackle one thing: Hang up clothes, clear a drawer, empty the trash from all rooms, or sort one pile of papers. When the timer goes off, see how you feel. Are you energized? The set the clock for another 15 minutes. If your tired, then your done for now. Try this trick again at a different time of day. De clutter when you have the most energy. Are you a morning person? Do it then. If you hit your stride at 9 in the evening, do it then. Get up half an hour earlier and use that time for one project. Most people gain energy when they feel accomplished.

    Report back!

  • designchickee

    Yikes! I just realized I’m in need of a ‘Get Organized Month’!!! Oh what a slippery slope it is…

    As for you and Spain… all I can say is, Patatas Bravas! Deeeeelish! You’re going to love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And we’re going to love reading about it when you get back. So don’t fret… enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Olga

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Olga!
      I think I need a month to get organised but if I can make some headway before I leave I’m sure I’ll be in a better headspace to finish it when I get back.
      I will remember to keep my eyes on the menus and order Patatas Bravas when I see it!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • m3lly78

    a trip to Spain is soooo exciting! hope you have such a great time & I cant wait to read all about when you get back ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      I hope to do a couple updates while there but most of the good stuff will have to wait until my return! As I plan to be delirious on good food, wine and shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • spashionistareport

        While in Barcelona (my favorite city in the world because of all the wonderful Art Nouveau architecture!) be sure to order the “trucha con jamon serrano” – trout wrapped in serrano ham.
        I have a friend that lives in San Sebastian, he is a professional Spanish guitar player. Let me see if I can find him and get some tips from a local for you.

      • astimegoesbuy

        That would be fantastic!
        We will be there for 3 days and I would like to see stuff the locals like rather than all the usual tourise stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚
        And thanks for the food tip anything con jamon would be on m to order list.
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • Valentina

    Organizing seems easier to talk about then doing it. For me living in an organized space is important to have clarity in my work, so I clean and organize as I go along every day. I takes discipline. I know many artists and designers who thrive in a complete disorder.
    October and November are the two months out of the year when I get rid of things to start the new years fresh with more space.

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniรฉ

โ€œFashions fade, style is eternal.โ€ โ€• Yves Saint-Laurent

