Get Organised Week – Packing for a Holiday

Are you tired of hearing about my upcoming trip to Spain? If so, I am sorry but this post is going to be about getting organised and the packing plan for my holiday.

I pretty well follow this plan for every trip no matter how short or long. If you read my post about packing for a 3 day business trip, it was the same principle but for far fewer days! Our trip is 28 days (yeap, kind of like rehab…not that I’ve been to rehab…no, no, no) and for a girl who loves fashion it would be easy to over pack. However, I spent a month in Mexico when I was 19 and I had to drag two big HUGE bags everywhere. Once nearly missing a flight because I couldn’t run as the two bags weighed me down.

Each decade of my life I get better at reducing the luggage load. For this trip, my goal is to fit everything I need into one smaller bag that I will then pack into a larger bag for the journey over. That way I have a big bag to fill with new purchase made in Spain and do a little Christmas shopping while I’m at it!

Get Organised - Packing for a Holiday

Get Organised – Packing for a Holiday

The Start: I always use the quest bedroom for this little adventure. It’s a great spot, out-of-the-way to start setting out clothes. Most of these items have been folded and sitting there waiting to be packed for a couple of weeks. That’s because they are predominately Spring/Summer clothes and it hasn’t gotten warm enough for me to yet be tempted to wear them! I try to make sure that most of the items fit a colour palette and can be mixed and matched to a few other items to provide variety. We are traveling around the country and I don’t expect to see anyone more than once so who cares if I wear the same skirt three times while in Spain.

Colours I have chosen for this trip are orange, tan, white and red and a little bit of blue. I actually started with orange and tan/neutral but added in the red white and blue because I just think they make such great holiday looks. Plus we are spending a few days near the sea so I may as well break out my best nautical looks!

Packing for Spain

Packing for Spain

Selection Continues: During the weeks leading up to packing the pile of items grows as I think of other things to bring. Handbags, scarves, shoes, pyjamas all get added. At this stage I have 4 pair of shoes, 3 handbags and about 6 scarves that are on the growing list. Things like underwear, socks and all the toiletries will wait until the last day. That’s because I don’t own enough to set them aside and I like to do all the laundry, change sheets on the bed and tidy around the house on the day of leaving if possible but at least the night before if I have an early flight.

I don’t worry about the fact that the pile has grown larger than the small suitcase because I plan to do a cull twice in the days leading up to the packing.

Packing for Spain - adding in some extras

Packing for Spain – adding in some extras

A Few Little Extras: Also during this time a few little extras start creeping up to the guest bedroom. A folder with copies of reservations and travel itinerary. I have all of it digitally as well but for some reason there are some countries where I just don’t want to risk not having access to that info and it’s usually a country where I don’t speak the language! Which is why there is condensed copy of “Spanish for Dummies“. When I lived in Denver, I was learning a fair bit of Spanish and could read it really well. I even have pretty good pronunciation for a slice of white bread. But that was 10 years ago and if you don’t use it, you do lose it. I also have a paperback, a big fat one, just in case. Those little green things are disposable ear plugs. I have found over the years for the long flights, if I am going to get any sleep at all, I need ear plugs and an eye mask. They’ll go in my handbag along with a few other necessities of travel.

The Fashion Mister and I have fully separate bags because our style is different. I will likely fold and pack his stuff before we go, but after that I don’t go near his bag unless when we are heading home we need to fit more in than originally planned. Some how I can pack in a manner that maximizes space. For a girl I am very spatially aware.

That’s it! The beginnings of my getting organised and packing for a holiday. I’ll do one more packing post the day before we leave so you can see what makes it past the chopping block and what doesn’t, and why.

Do you have any packing tips? What is your Holiday packing secret weapon?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Get Organised Week – Packing for a Holiday

  • Paula Parisotto

    I am not sick of hearing about your upcoming trip…….i am jealous 🙂
    Paula
    stylist & stiletto maven

    • astimegoesbuy

      The Fashion Mister says we need a driver while there and as they drive on the same side of the road as you do in the US you could come on the trip as our driver! I of course suggested official photographer and shopping consultant. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        I’m in! When do we leave 🙂
        Paula
        stylist & co-piolet

      • astimegoesbuy

        You’ll have to leave Thursday, cause you loose a day flying over the international date line to get here and then we can all head out Saturday! One week from today! But who is counting. 🙂
        See you soon Madame Co-Pilot!
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Paula Parisotto

        What you don’t know is that new, really new, friends of ours said, “we’re going to Cabo….hey, you two should come…we’re leaving in a week” Guess what? We went! Don’t temp me darlin’ 🙂

      • astimegoesbuy

        LOL! I will be sure that I mean it when I invite you to come along!
        I’d be more afraid that you would find out that I’m really a boring old tart who is no fun to be around, than that you would come!
        If you wanted to join the trip I am sure it would be great fun.
        Many people have volunteered to come with us.
        I don’t extend offers unless I mean them. 🙂

        Cheers,
        Laura
        counting down the days to holiday

  • reversecommuter

    Hope you have a fantabulous holiday! Cannot wait to see the posts!

    • astimegoesbuy

      I’m hoping we have decent internet coverage while there. I want to be able to share here and then lot’s more pics on facebook. If the interent is bad I’ll just have to bore you all with it when I return! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Born To Organize

    Well done! I traveled through Europe with a backpack for two months, visiting 11 countries. Color-coordinating was key. I was a minimalist: one pair of jeans, one jumper/dress, one sweater and a few tops, all in white and light blue. Everything went together. I took two pair of shoes, walking sandals and runners for hiking, walking, etc. I had a week’s worth of unders to carry me through to the next laundry mat. I was pretty sick of my clothes by the end of eight weeks, but since everything had to fit in the backpack, it worked out okay. It was a trip of a lifetime!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Alys,
      It is kind of liberating to travel that way. You aren’t weighed down by the luggage or too many decisions about what to wear.
      Plus I know I am going to want to buy a few things while I’m there so no need to pack everything I own. With layers I think I can get away with the cooler weather of the north and cool nights along the coast.
      I’m really looking forward to this trip, I need a big relax. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    If I am going somewhere hot, I always try to just bring carry-on so I focus on the basics: swimsuit, 2-3 sundresses, a couple of shorts+tank combos, plus 1-2 outdoorsy outfits if we plan on hiking, etc (although schlepping hiking boots is always a pain in the rear). Maybe one “fancier” dress if we plan on going out for a swanky date one of the nights we’re there.

    Colder climates obviously require much more clothing. Nothing kills the wanderlust mood like a wicked case of frostbite!
    xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      So true!
      Frost bitten toes just don’t work with open toe wedges…and I love my wedges!
      I have to make sure I pack a couple of cardigans for layering and as we are going for a month I am probably going to bring too many things but I’ll start culling next week so that by the time I pack there will be a few items I probably won’t wear but not too many…I hope!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • wanderoneday

    Great idea – I like the thought of using an out-of-the-way location to gather what you want to take, and then reduce what you plan to take near the end, when you’re sure you’ve gathered everything you could possibly want to take. I always have trouble because I pack from my regular closet, so I pull one thing out of the closet and say “ooh, I could sure use this other item” and before you know it my carry-on is stuffed to the brim!

    • astimegoesbuy

      That is exactly how you end up with far too much luggage.
      For your trip to the Caribbean try setting things aside.
      You’ll still over-pack but each time you do it that way the better you get at it.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Pillows A-La-Mode

    Your trip sounds so fabulous, Laura! I’ll have your *surprise* done by the time you get back, so I’ll mail it as soon as you’re home. 🙂 In the meantime, I’m really enjoying your pre-trip posts and look forward to hearing all about your adventures! Katherine

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Katherine!
      I am really looking forward to this trip and it will be nice to know there will be a “surprise” coming once I am home!
      Hopefylly I’ll be able to get in a few updates while we ar gone buth there definitely will be plenty of them once we get back. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Tips on Packing for Spain – the Final Cut « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] may recall last week I shared how I start setting things aside in the guest bedroom ahead of time (here). Adding to the pile as I think of other items I might like to take and eventually I begin culling […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

