International Frugal Fun Day – Thrift Shopping

Okay, I get that there are a lot of people who would not think of thrift shopping when thinking of International Frugal Fun Day…but I do!

After all have a look at the definition of frugal:

frugal [ˈfruːgəl]adj

1. practising economy; living without waste; thrifty

2.not costly; meagre

[from Latin frūgālis, from frūgī useful, temperate, from frux fruit]
and
fun:
fun  (fn)

n.

1. A source of enjoyment, amusement, or pleasure.
2. Enjoyment; amusement: have fun at the beach.
3. Playful, often noisy, activity.
Really, for me if you put frugal and fun in the same sentence it equals Thrift Shopping! And just to make sure I got the most enjoyment out of thrifty day, I went with two equally frugal friends. You have met the Fashion Sister From Another Mother, who loves thrift shopping maybe even more than I do. We also invited along Catherine. She is an absolutely adorable 20-something Social Worker from work that is thrifty, crafty (in a good way) and just an absolute joy to be around! We three decided that one day during lunch we would walk down to the local Red Cross Op Shop for a little frugal fun.
The day was lovely and as it turned out it was National Op Shop Day so everything was 50% off! Needless to say, we all found a few things that will provide us pleasure wearing in the future.
Here’s what I found:
More Wrap Dresses - Frugal Fun Day - Thrift Shopping

More Wrap Dresses – Frugal Fun Day – Thrift Shopping

More Wrap Dresses: I’m sure I told you when I shared the last op shop wrap dress with you that I have a thing for wrap dresses. Considering this is numbers 3 and 4 bought during the past 3 months, I would think that is no longer in doubt! I just find it so hard to pass up a wrap dress when they are costing $6 or $7! Especially the one with the smaller print as it is from Witchery who sell such lovely clothes. This one is a slightly heavier knit jersey and hangs really well. I like the larger print dress because it is brown and turquoise with a kind of oriental chrysanthemum print to it. I’m thinking all my turquoise jewelry will look great with these two dresses.

Oxblood silk top - Frugal Fun - Thrift Shopping

Oxblood silk top – Frugal Fun – Thrift Shopping

It Really is Oxblood: I couldn’t get a pic that showed the fantastic oxblood colour of this silk top. It looks far too red in the photo. I’m hoping that as I talk a little more about using the oxblood trend in Spring that I can get some good pics with this shirt. I bought this shirt for two reasons…well maybe a few more…but the main reasons were, 1) the colour, oxblood is such a hot trend in the Northern Hemisphere for Autumn and I am sure it will be big here in the Southern Hemisphere in 6 months, and 2) it’s 100% silk! Bonus reason was that with the price being half off, it was $5! Now that is some frugal fun.

Navy Stripes - Frugal Fun and Thrift Shopping

Navy Stripes – Frugal Fun and Thrift Shopping

Nautical Navy Stripes: After the success of my recent nautical look I really wanted to add something else a little nautical to my clothing repertoire. It needed to be something that was good for travel as I want to take it with me on holiday, which means pretty wrinkle resistant as well as comfortable. This 3/4 length sleeve t-shirt with thin navy and white stripes and ruffle will be cute with white jeans or bed Capri pants while traveling. As the price was only $4, I don’t have to be too precious about it either. So if I buy too much while on holiday and it gets left behind, it’s not likely to break my heart…although I do think it is terribly cute!

These are my reasons for sharing op/thrift shopping with you on International Frugal Fun Day. I truly can’t think of anything more frugal, or more fun!

Cheers,

Laura

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

20 responses to “International Frugal Fun Day – Thrift Shopping

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

