Is Oxblood Right for Spring?

If you are paying any attention at all to fashion trends, you know that oxblood is a huge HUGE fall trend for the Northern Hemisphere. It’s a great colour, but can it be worn for Spring time in the Southern Hemisphere? That’s the million dollar question really. How do you take the trends you see happening in the opposite season and make them work for you? Can it even be done?

After all, it seems to be a colour that naturally lends itself to Autumn. How could it be right for Spring?

2012 Fall runways - Oxblood

2012 Fall runways – Oxblood

Head to toe oxblood is perfect for Autumn in the North but for those of us in the Southern Hemisphere where the sun is warming up the day, more skin is on display and skirts are flowing and frilly, the way to embrace the oxblood trend is to use it as an accent. And what more perfect way to do so than with accessories. How about investing in an oxblood handbag that you can use lightly in the warmer months and continue to use right on through the colder months of 2013!

How to Wear Oxblood in Spring

How to Wear Oxblood in Spring

How to Wear Oxblood for Spring: This is clearly the most obvious way to incorporate oxblood into a Spring wardrobe, pair it with pink! What I like about this pairing is that the oxblood keeps the pink from becoming too girlie by grounding the look with a little sophistication. The pale pink top and pants look great with the oxblood belt and shoes but need a handbag to finish off the look. I think a great clutch like this Biba Ruby Clutch from House of Fraser is a fantastic option. It’s a bag you will get a lot of use from with the coming holiday season and even November’s Spring Racing Carnival.

Spring Racing Oaks Day

Spring Racing Oaks Day

Perfect for Spring Racing & Oaks Day: Everyone knows Oaks Day is also known as Ladies Day at the races. This is the day when all the fillies are out and I think this Alice & Olivia dress would be perfect with this Karen Millen handbag also from House of Fraser. How perfectly ladylike and race appropriate would you be in this girlie dress and fantastic handbag? If I weren’t going to be in Spain this year for the Carnival, this would be in my wardrobe awaiting race day.

Classic Chic - Oxblood for Spring

Classic Chic – Oxblood for Spring

Classic Chic: I love this look for Spring! It has layers for the changing temps seen throughout a Spring day. There is a classic crisp white button-down shirt, a well fitted pencil skirt in the en trend stripe, one of my favourite items – a cardigan and the addition of this East Flap Over Bag keeps the classic, casual and yet chic look happening. I want this look. All of it!

Spring Boho with Oxblood Accessories

Spring Boho with Oxblood Accessories

Spring Boho: Another fantastic Spring look that would be hard to not lust after. The standard boho chic look of a white t-shirt and worn cut-offs but with a touch of chic in the palest pink blazer. Add the boho oxblood hat and the Radley Barnsbury Hobo bag and you are ready for A Day on the Green, a day at the vineyards, or a day in the city shopping and lunching.

You will have noticed that the spring colours I worked with, pink, white, tans are all over the shops now, so you have lots of choice for mixing and by adding a little touch of oxblood you can keep it chic and sophisticated. Another combination that is hot right now for spring and works well with oxblood is to build a look in pink and grey then accent with oxblood…simply lovely.

I opted to use bags all found from House of Fraser because they have a great selection in oxblood at the moment, at various prices. Plus they ship internationally, which means I can find a great bag at a good price and have it delivered to my door! I’m sure I will be finding little ways to get into the colour trend of oxblood because YES! It is right for Spring!

What do you think? Is this a colour you will be using? Do you think it works for Spring as well as Autumn?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

20 responses to “Is Oxblood Right for Spring?

  • fashionforlunch

    Im loving oxblood! From nail varnish, to the classic doc martens, to the velvet miu miu slippers, I think it’s great!

  • DressedinMYcloset

    I love this oxblood color!

  • Closet Strategy

    I think that an oxblood belt or simple heels would look great with a more traditional, lighter spring palette. And of course, the manicure is a perfect idea, too!

  • spashionistareport

    Love this color! I’m not seeing a lot of it here yet. I did manage to find a nice bag and I’m on the lookout for more 😉

    • astimegoesbuy

      I expect as the weather cools, you’ll see more and more of it. It makes for great accessories and splashes of it are good. I’m not sure that I am brave enough to wear it head-to-toe but it is a lovely colour.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ILpiccoloMONDODICRI

    Brilliant text! We know that the dictatorship of fashion comes from the northern hemisphere! And across the world, further down, we try to adapt things that are not as appropriate. In fact, this criticism applies to me. I bought a fur collar (synthetic) for use in the brazilian winter. It was virtually impossible to use such a collar in my winter of 30 degrees! I like your proposal for the spring, I like to see bloggers with personality like you. One day I’ll get there! But if you see me wearing overblood, please have mercy! I think I do not care more for what season we are (here in Brazil seems in constant-summer) hahahahah

    • astimegoesbuy

      We have had a couple of cold years and the thought of a constant summer right now is very appealing! I’m not fully convinced the northern hemisphere dictates fashion or it’s trends, they just have a larger population so therefore a large impact. You’d be surprised by some of the forward fashion going on in Australia as we are influenced a little by the US and largely by the UK and the Far East, which makes for a far more eclectic mix/style. In fact when I go to the US on holiday I am often a good season ahead in my style thanks to having taken a trend and modified it for life in the Southern Hemisphere.
      Thanks for reading! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Paula Parisotto

    Wonderful ideas on how to incorporate Oxblood into spring looks Laura.
    Paula
    stylist & Northern Hemisphere-er

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Paula!
      It’s a great colour and as I like to get as much out of my wardrobe as possible it is nice to be able to wear most things for more than one season.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • shinyinlove

    oxblood is a fairly awful name but the color is devine! love love love.

    • astimegoesbuy

      It is a horrid name isn’t!?
      I remember the first time in my life the colour was poplular it was called maroon, the second time it was burgundy and now it’s oxblood.
      I’m sure there is some kind of social commentary in that!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • bohemian spirit

    I love the pale pink with oxblood! I like saying oxblood instead of cordovan, which remimds me of my Dad’s business shoes he wore with his suit. 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      Pink and Oxblood are one my favourite combination right now.
      Especially as there is so much pink to be found here for Spring and with Oxblood being popular in the Northern Hemisphere I can order plenty online.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Rejoice For The Day

    For spring, yes, oxblood would be a great accessory color! I just love it, and after reading up on the trends of fall, it is on my shopping list.

    • astimegoesbuy

      It’s definitely HUGE for Autumn and I am glad that I have sorted out a way to use it in my Spring wardrobe so I can get more use out of the items I opt to purchase!
      Looking forward to seeing what oxblood coloured items you add to your wardrobe. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Rita BA

    This is a very good question! I really like this colour but always associate it with Autumn. Now that I’m faced with a change of seasons, I really have to find a way to play around with it. I have tried and approved wearing it on my nails but I think accessorizing with it will also be possible. Plus, there’s also the type of outfit you can wear in the evening. Here it doesn’t get too hot so, to be honest, I haven’t gotten the craving to wear “Spring” colours as I do when I’m in Portugal, for instance.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Ahhh, definitely understand.
      The weather can play a big part in what I wear even in the colours I chose to wear.
      Right now I am well over the cold and want Spring weather.
      Perhaps if I keep talking and blogging about Spring it will hurry up and come! 🙂
      I think the colour is perfect for accessories in the warmer months and will look fantastic for evening wear.
      Cheers,
      Laura

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

