Oxblood Trend – Spring 2012

As I mentioned the other day, oxblood is such a hot, trendy colour for Autumn 2012 in the Northern Hemisphere but some of us in the Southern Hemisphere are already finding ways to incorporate it into our Spring 2012 wardrobes.

The best way seems to be to use it as an accent, pair it with pink, white, tan or light prints as long as it’s not head-to-toe for Spring you can still embrace the oxblood trend.

Oxblood for Spring 2012

Oxblood for Spring 2012

The shine of this silk top keeps me from being able to get a picture that really captures the true colour. It’s really far more a deep wine colour than the red it appears in the photos. Which means in real life it actually goes nicely with this graphic floral print skirt as it picks up the colour that highlights some of the yellow flowers.

 

Spring 2012 - Oxblood Trend

Spring 2012 – Oxblood Trend

Oxblood Trend for Spring 2012

Oxblood Trend for Spring 2012

Oxblood Silk Blouse: You may recall from my Frugal Fun post the other day, this is one of the shirts I purcahsed when doing an op/thrift shop run on my lunch break with a couple of girlfriends. It’s pure silk, was half of the op shop price and cost a whopping $5! It has two buttons at the waist that cinch it in a bit and give it a tailored look. I love the draping at the collar and even though there is a modesty button about half-way down the front, I have worn it with only the two buttons at the waist done up. Even with my rather endowed bustline the shirt hangs so beautifully that I never felt exposed. Of course a lovely lace bra underneath would solve any problems…or I could just do up the modesty button! The skirt was purchased earlier in the year from ASOS.com and because of all the great colours it can be worn with almost anything.

Oxblood Blouse for Spring 2012

Oxblood Blouse for Spring 2012

Spring 2012 - The Oxblood Colour Trend

Spring 2012 – The Oxblood Colour Trend

Accessories: I wanted to make sure the accessories were in keeping with the over all look but didn’t compete with the beautiful colour of the blouse or the graphic print of the skirt. So I went with my hammered gold neck cuff, no bracelets, a big gold topaz coloured ring, nude and black patent pumps and my nude coloured vintage mesh bag. The over all look is a little dressy without being too fancy.

And for the record – No, I am not wearing pale stockings! Those are just the winter white colour of my as-yet-to-see-sun this year legs!!

Tomorrow I have one more look from my wardrobe using the oxblood trend for Spring 2012.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

31 responses to “Oxblood Trend – Spring 2012

  • 13coco

    I love Oxblood! This is another fantastic article Laura– I always love to read your blog.

    I recently did a post on Oxblood as well and all the various ways it is being used this season. It is one of the loveliest colors this season and I cannot wait to wear some of it.

    As well, you may be interested in a post I put up today about a shopping adventure I had this past weekend– lets just say that I only spent $20 for a genuine Louis Vuitton bag purse.:)

    • astimegoesbuy

      I’m on my way to check it out! Sounds like you got an even better buy than I did on my Louis Vuitton!
      As for oxblood, I think it is a great colour too. Very classic and easy tomix with a lot of the usual Autumnal colours. I’m having fun finding ways to mix it in with the Spring wardrobe. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • reversecommuter

    VaVaVaVOOM! That color is phenom on you! I hope that is going in the vacation suitcase! FAB outfit!
    XO reversecommuter

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      How very sweet. πŸ™‚
      It might be a little too fancy for the holiday as I think most of the time we will be in the relaxed mode but I’ll have a think and see if I can justify it mixing and matching with enough things to take it. πŸ˜‰
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Anne @ The Frump Factor

    I’m kind of psyched about this oxblood trend, as it’s a color that I think will mix well with other things I have while also providing a change! Now, if I can just find time to drag my butt out to the stores….. The outfit looks lovely on you (that IS you, right?) I’ve been a little out of touch lately — hope I didn’t miss your photo “debut.” πŸ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Anne this is me!
      As much as I hate being in front of the camera everyone was tired of seeing the floor fashion and wanted to see things on…so here I am!
      You know if you don’t have time to get out and shop you can shop online.
      Other than thrift shops and the trip to Melbourne last month all of my shopping over the past few months has been online!
      I’m putting together a list of online shops that I’ll put up here and on FaceBook with the hope that people will add to it.
      I hope you share pics of what you do find and how oxblood integrates into your wardrobe. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Pillows A-La-Mode

    You’ll definitely turn heads in this lovely outfit, Laura!!! LOVE the colors! πŸ™‚

  • Closet Strategy

    I’m so intrigued by oxblood right now, it looks amazing on – especially paired with that lovely skirt!

    • astimegoesbuy

      It’s a fantastic colour oxblood, it goes with so many other colours.
      I typically like the darker shades but when I saw this shirt at the op shop I couldn’t pass it up!
      I’ve picked up another skirt from ASOS that is a white background with shades of pink and oxblood roses and a black kind of lace pattern.
      This shirt will look fantastic with it!
      I’d love to find a 40s vintage style shoe in oxblood for next winter…that would be gorgeous. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura
      Laura

  • impresswhenyoudress1

    That skirt is gorgeous I love it! πŸ˜€

  • biscuitsandnavy

    I LOVE your skirt! So gorgeous! xoxo

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      May the fashion goddess bless ASOS.com for coming into my life! πŸ™‚
      If I remember correctly you have one similar? With the mirror image graphic floral thing going on?
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • biscuitsandnavy

        You are so welcome, friend! ASOS is a great site! And yes, I do have a similar skirt with mirror images:)

      • astimegoesbuy

        I thought I remembered seeing yours around the time I had ordered mine.
        You may have even inspired me to give it a try as normally I wouldn’t have gone quite that crazy in a skirt. πŸ™‚
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • DressedinMYcloset

    Love love love the skirt!

    http://dressedinmycloset.wordpress.com

  • m3lly78

    I saw this skirt on ASOS and it looks fabulous on you!!! Love the colour of the shirt too πŸ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      It is a great skirt!
      I worried that it may be too much but I do like it.
      The shirt looks far better in real life than film.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • ethelthedean

    You look amazing! I love, LOVE oxblood, and am looking forward to getting a few pieces for the fall. I love the dark lip, and the rich colour of the blouse matched against the pattern of the skirt. Beautiful!
    xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you misses!
      You are always such a sweetheart. πŸ™‚
      I don’t usually do a dark lip but this shirt seemed to call for it.
      Can’t wait to see what you add to your wardrobe in this colour!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • bpreethi

    You look fab!!! and before I forget… Happy happy vacation πŸ™‚

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Preethi!
      I am SOOOOOOOO looking forward to this vacation. I will miss spending so much time in the blogosphere but I won’t miss spending so much time at work . πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • designchickee

    Love this whole look, Laura!!! Fabulous! Just like you! πŸ™‚
    Olga

  • Shopping Online – ASOS.com « As Time Goes…Buy

    […] may remember my graphic floral skirt purchased earlier in the year from ASOS. I wasn’t sure about it in the beginning and worried […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniΓ©

Christin ReniΓ©

