Tips on Packing for Spain – the Final Cut

Tomorrow we leave for our month-long holiday in Spain. I have finished packing all but the last-minute stuff and thought you might like to see what made the final cut and my tips on how to travel lean.

You may recall last week I shared how I start setting things aside in the guest bedroom ahead of time (here). Adding to the pile as I think of other items I might like to take and eventually I begin culling the pile until I get down to a sensible and versatile selection. As I have mentioned when packing even for a short business trip(here), I try to work around a palette that is mix and matchable so I can pack less and have more options.

As we are going to be away for 28 days and travelling both the north and south of Spain, keeping the clothes to a manageable number would be nearly impossible without a plan. I know those of you who have back-packed all over Europe with just a few belongings  wouldn’t have a problem but for me, it has taken years of practice to get to the stage of traveling light.

Packing for a Holiday

Packing for a Holiday

The Colour Palettes: There is no way I could go on holiday and not have a healthy dose of orange. So that is where I started. Orange wedges, bag, a couple of orange scarves, orange palazzo pants and a number of shirts in shades of pink, coral and orange. Plus a watermelon coloured cardigan for layering. Then there are the neutrals. White, black and taupe, all colours that mix well together and with other items. In this palette there are two striped jersey maxi-skirts (one I will wear on the plane), short-sleeved t-shirts in taupe and white and long-sleeved shirts in taupe and white. One pair of cropped taupe pants. I’ve included a pair of white jeans and a white blazer and a black cardigan for layering. There are a pair of black and white palazzo pants and a couple of black and white printed shirts and a black and white scarf. A taupe pair of ballet flats, brown sandals and a neutral coloured pair of walking shoes. Finally there is the Nautical palette. A mix of all the previously mentioned white items, two blue and white striped shirts (one a tank style the other 3/4 sleeves), a blue and white striped cardigan, a light-weight cobalt blue knit, cobalt bag and the red cropped pants.

Packing for 28 Days Away

Packing for 28 Days Away

Some of the extras: I have also included 2 summer dresses. One a bold geometric print with orange and a mix of other colours and the second with a white background and little bits of taupe and orange in the print. There are two belts, one taupe and one pink. I am not taking much jewelry as I find traveling with minimal jewelry a smart thing. You really don’t want to be wandering around loaded down with bling. It’s just an invitation for trouble. Besides the pieces seen here I will have some on but you will get a closer look at those tomorrow.

What didn't make the Final Cut

What didn’t make the Final Cut

What got Cut: Because I am getting better at the planning and more ruthless about what even makes into the pile, there really weren’t that many items cut. In the old days I would have to put back nearly half of again as much as I was packing! Not counting scarves, I only have to put away 8 items this time around. One of those being a pair of pyjamas. I think the two pair I have packed will be enough as I will be able to wash while there. Then there are a couple of dressy shirts that really aren’t necessary and don’t mix and match well with other items.  I think I can pull together a nice enough look with the other items if I need to. There is a maxi-skirt in shades of taupe (I already have two skirts and two dresses), a mix of stripped t-shirts (the solid coloured ones I am packing should be more versatile) and then there are 3 or four scarves – as I have about 4 or 5 that made the cut, these can stay home this trip.

So, that’s it! Tomorrow I will do a quick post to show you what I am wearing for the long LONG flight.
That’s it for my tips on packing for Spain and what made the final cut.

Cheers,

Laura

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

36 responses to “Tips on Packing for Spain – the Final Cut

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

